Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars209
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 25 October 2007
Lots of people say that only `spotty kids' listen to Slipknots music (and that it isn't really music at all).

Well, I'm a well educated, self-employed 28 yr old, who has recently bought this album (along with `Iowa' and `The Subliminal Verses'). And all I can say is, that it's absolutely brilliant.

This will go down in heavy metal history as one of THE greatest albums ever made.

Slipknot are one of those bands (along with others [in my opinion]: Nirvana, Metallica, Rage Against The Machine, and Green Day) that defied convention. They created music in a style that they wanted to hear, and to stuff anyone else. They merge heavy metal with nu-metal with death metal, with heavy punk - in short - groundbreaking.

A lot has/is written about what Slipknots' songs are all about. But if you research what they say their intention was, and study the lyrics for yourself - you'll begin to see how poetic and intelligent, the songs actually are, through the beautifully crafted angry lyrics.

It's not mindless noise, you couldn't get any random person off the street to produce an album like this (unlike Pop music with `X-Factor' et al).

Definitely worth a listen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 2 May 2004
This album is brilliant!! In 10 years time it will be to nu-metal music as Nirvanas Nevermind is to grunge! This band is a breath of fresh air to the sudden influx of nu-metal bands that appeared on the scene after Korns debut album. Slipknot have managed to create a form of melodic death metal which many thought could not be done. This album has been fantasticly produced by Ross Robinson (korn, Limp Bizkit) and signalled the rebirth of a dying nu-metal genre. Nu-metal is back and while this album is not for everybody, if you like the hard stuff then this is it! This particular version of the album is a must for any true slipknot fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 15 July 2002
From the looped intro of '742617000027' through to final track 'Scissors', the eighteen-legged hate machine known as Slipknot take you on a musical journey, the likes of which you may never have heard. This album has it all. From eardrum battering tracks such as '(sic)' and 'Surfacing' to slightly "mellower" tracks such as 'Wait & Bleed', there is something on this realease for every metal fan. Granted, the image may put people off as being a gimmick to sell more, but I personally heard them before I saw what they looked like, and if you listen to the CD and let the music take over, then you will forget that masks and boiler suits dominate the image. A large number of people will have this CD by now, but if you don't, it really is a must have album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 8 March 2007
this is really the best.

admititly the digipack is better cause of purity


1- 742617000027 : good, smart build up to a great album 8/10

2- (sic): one of most brutal songs ever. superb 10/10

3- eyeless: another classic with an amazing climax 10/10

4- wait and bleed: not as brutal as the first 2 but still great 9/10

5- surfacing: your new national anthem. music dosen't get better 10/10

6- spit it out: a fast mash of techno and death metal 10/10

7- tattered and torn: an eerie, slow, epic masterpiece 9/10

8- me inside: not as good as the others. but still rips your face off 8/10

9- liberate: great opening riff. another stand-out track 9/10

10- prosthetics: one of my favorites. an haunting track indeed 9/10

11- no life: a bit like me inside. good chorus though 8/10

12- diluted: also one of my favs. some good use of samples 10/10

13- only one: bit forgetable. still. not to bad 7/10

14- scissors: well. truly one of the most hauntingly epic songs ever. an absolute gem. brill. 10/10

sercret track- eyore: keep the cd going after scissors for ten mins and you'll hear people talking. this goes on for a while then eyore kicks in. a nice treat at the end of the best album ever 10/10

buy this
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 14 November 2008
Best album of the past ten years - I'm serious.

'Slipknot' crystalises all that is good about hardcore metal. I've loved this kind of stuff from the mid 80s, all the way from Celtic Frost through Naplam Death in the Lee Dorian days to 90s death metal. Great stuff that's always scratched an itch for me.

But nothing brings it all together like this album. It just gets everything so... RIGHT. The combination of emotion - raw aggresion, rage and a bit of humour - with melodies, awesome percussion, theatricality is spot on and quickly gets under your skin. Nothing quite else really comes close to making it all work so well. Vocals, riffs, samples - everything is just in the right place.

This is a truely stunning set of tracks that brings a smile to my face every time I listen to it. It is a special album and you should buy it immediately.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 10 October 2009
OK, first of all I wanted to say, I expected some nice positive review about this nice product,
rather than 2 negative ones from some guys that don't have anything to do but complain about SlipKnoT.
They hate SlipKnoT by default, so they just come here to complain some more because they can't appreciate what SlipKnoT is.

Also note that myself I'm not some type of hardcore SlipKnoT-fan, so I'm not biased or anything.
Now, on to the review I planned to do:

This is just a very nice package.
It comes with SlipKnoT's debut-album, with added mixes and demos, which before probably only have been available unofficially I guess.
Those are interesting to hear, one or two in my opinion even better versions than what ended up on the album.
It's funny, in my case I didn't have the original and I really like 'Get This' which is also included and 'Purity' was put back on.
So you definitely get the complete package as it comes to the album and extra tracks.

On top of this you also get a DVD, which contains some video-clips that go with some tracks on the album.
But more importantly it contains a nice recording of a show in The Netherlands in 2000.
The video is fine, it's probably from a Dutch TV-channel and shot in 4:3,
but the audio has some more issues, I think it's recorded in mono or something and sounds quite muffled, messy and inconsistent.
Keep in mind, however, it's recorded at an open-air-show too, and with SlipKnoT being fairly new, it's not a like an official DVD-recording.
Nevertheless, it's a great recording to have, previously I could only get even worse downloads, so I'm glad they added it.

Then there is also a video which is just a compilation of all kinds of backstage-recordings.
There's just a lot of SIC stuff going on, take that word however you like, it's just SlipKnoT as they are.
You might not understand what it's about, it might not make sense at all, but it's just a look behind the scenes of SlipKnoT.
Besides that, it also starts off with a message from Shawn "Clown" Crahan.

There's also a booklet included, which contains the lyrics and a message from Corey Taylor.
All this in a nice cardboard box as it's the trend lately.

Overall, this is obviously a nice improved version of the original album for existing fans.
But if you don't know SlipKnoT well, this is a great introduction to their music and what they're like.
Besides that, it's just a very complete package of the time of their official debut.
You can't go wrong, especially not for the price.
So the 5 stars definitely don't represent the content, as it's definitely not perfect, but it's a great and SIC package.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 4 May 2011
The darlings of the nu-metal explosion, Slipknot ruled all that was metal at the turn of the century. They were fresh, vigorous and had anger and youthful exuberance coming out the wazoo. And they had eminent marketability. Their music was a sort of mixture between death metal, rap metal and hardcore with a bit of drum and bass for atmosphere. And their look, whatever your opinion of it, forced them into the public consciousness and garnered them fans from across the globe. From underground Iowan alternatives they soon became mainstream metal icons and surprisingly also became extremely good musicians and songwriters. Makes me think that maybe the hype was slightly engineered and these guys were always marked for greatness. However, at the present (2011), they are 4 albums into their career and riding the wave of success and reverence. In years to come teenagers from a decade ago will be mentioning them in nostalgic ephemera in the same breath as Iron Maiden and Black Sabbath et al. On the evidence of their last 2 albums this will be justified. Their debut, however, was less than classic, musically.

After the great looped opening recording '(sic)' kicks in with the power of a demolition ball. It seems to crush all who went before and was the best track to come first. It showed their intent as well as their mastery of turning powerchords into something quite classical. The track itself is not a world-beater but it wins primarily because of its overall effect. 'Eyeless' is more akin to punk than metal (nu or otherwise) or possibly hardcore. It is another excellent, raw, catchy without being mainstream tune. Then 'Wait & Bleed' appears and stuns the socks of you. It needs no critique as it rightly seen as one of their altime best tracks. It's an anti-single single. 'Surfacing' adds some drum and brass into the mix and is a welcome, if not wholly effective, effort. 'Spit it Out' is the angry classic and it is a great, effervescent track.

Unfortunately, after the opening greatness the rest of the album submits to sameyness and mediocrity, which is odd for a band marketed as game-changers. 'Tattered & Torn' is dull and dirgey. 'Me Inside' is forgettable and average. 'Liberate' and 'Prosthetics' are ok I suppose but when compared to 'Wait & Bleed' or the storming opener they pall. The only other track of any merit is the closer 'Scissors' although that's not really A* either.

Not a complete failure but far worse than many made it out to be. It is no classic in musical terms although it does mark the beginning of sorts of a particularly interesting revival in the metal scene, one that still exists today. And it introduced us to a bunch of complete metal heads that turned into a very serious band indeed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 23 June 2014
I unfortunately lost both pairs of keys to this (my bad) and no matter what I've done I cannot for the life of me get into it. I've tried pliers, hammers, screwdrivers, rocks, throwing it at walls and picking the lock. It really does its job, just don't lose the keys.
The stuff inside the box is also really good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 6 September 2007
This album is split into two halves. The first half sounds like a band who are adept at copying Korn and doing it well, with thier own additions to Korn's sound. The other half is vile, vomit-inducing and yet addictive insanity. I use the word carefully. This isn't the half-assed 'insanity' of The Used or Gallows - instantly replicated and fun to listen to. This is the insanity of Marilyn Manson and Eminem, which leads to many persons (mostly parents) baying for the artists blood.
Long Live The Knot!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 February 2000
Slipknot are possibly the best band to come out of the nu-metal scene since Korn released their first album. Whilst bands like Korn and Limp Bizkit have gone softer and absorbed hip hop into their sound, Slipknot do no such thing - their music is brutal and unrelenting. Showing hatred for absolutely EVERYTHING, especially in the lyrics for songs like "Surfacing", their compassion for their music is fantastic. Brutality is the order of the day, most evident on the songs "Sic" and "Surfacing", but also throughout the entire album. Standout tracks are the first five excluding the intro ("Sic", "Eyeless", "Wait And Bleed", "Surfacing" and "Spit It Out"), plus "Purity", "Liberate", "Prosthetic", and "Scissors", as well as the bonus tracks "Me Inside" and "Get This" and the hidden track "Eeyore". Easily the best album of last year, and with a sold out UK tour and writing for the second album underway already, the best is quite possibly yet to come.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Antennas To Hell
Antennas To Hell by Slipknot (Audio CD - 2012)

All Hope Is Gone
All Hope Is Gone by Slipknot (Audio CD - 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.