Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars41
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2010
1. Woke Up This Morning (Chosen One Mix) -- Alabama 3
2. It's Bad You Know -- R.L. Burnside
3. It Was A Very Good Year -- Frank Sinatra
4. Gotta Serve Somebody -- Bob Dylan
5. Inside Of Me -- Little Steven & The Disciples Of Soul
6. I Feel Free -- Cream
7. Mystic Eyes -- Them
8. State Trooper -- Bruce Springsteen
9. I'm A Man -- Bo Diddley
10. Complicated Shadow -- Elvis Costello & The Attractions
11. The Beast In Me -- Nick Lowe
12. Viking -- Los Lobos
13. Blood Is Thicker Than Water -- Wyclef Jean Feat. The Product G&B
14. I've Tried Everything -- Eurythmics
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2000
What the producers would have found most difficult when compiling this soundtrack must have not been the original choice of incidental music but the paring down of the wealth of material used on the TV show to a 55-minute CD.
What we have as the result of their work is a rag-tag band of different styles of music which segue into each other with no warning. Although the soundtrack keeps coming apart at the seams in terms of playing order, it is impossible not to sit back and ignore the fact that what you are listening to is perfect in tone to a slice of New Jersey Mafia life.
The first half of the CD is so pitch-perfect that you can forgive the inclusion of Los Lobos and Wyclef Jean which mar an otherwise equal second half.
To kick off with A3's "Woke Up This Morning" and journey through Mafia stalwart/favourite Frank Sinatra, an eclectic Bob Dylan and soulful Nick Lowe before finishing on a soft and poignant note with The Eurythmics is a very rewarding listen. Whether it will be to everyone's taste will be another matter. If not, I think we need Tony, Pussy and Spider to do a little persuading.....
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2003
OK corny title but what do you expect from a soundtrack inspired by one of the hippest and meanest programmes ever to have emerged from the stables of HBO (Barring OZ) The Sopranos has some of the coolest tunes on one CD. As well as getting the theme tune by Scottish band A3 other tunes of distinction include the classic Frank Sinatra track It Was A Very Good Year (brings a lump to my throat and tears to my eyes, Nick Lowe's The Beast In Me and the Eurythmic's I've Tried Everything.
No home should be without this.... Or should I send the boys round!!!!!!
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2008
Ah yes the great opening sequence on the Sopranos is the business (the New Jersey Turnpike) with A3's 'Woke up this Morning' and Tony with a fat cigar in his chubby fingers. In my opinion this is a great theme song for this brilliant HBO series. You can't always judge a series by it's theme, but the opening sequence is brilliant with quick edits to visuals of the Manhattan skyline and the "Drive Safely" powerplant along the New Jersey Turnpike.

Not all of the great music used in it's first season makes the cut but it's fun to locate where the songs on the soundtrack are used in the series. R.L. Burnside- 'It's bad you know' is used after a surprise revenge scene on a boat while Bruce Springsteen's 'State Trooper' is the closing theme of the first season finale.

Frank Sinatra 'It was a very good Year' is used as the Second Season Opener so if you've only seen the first season your not aware of how it's used. Overall the show makes you love much of this soundtrack and I'm a big beleiver in reliving the moment.

This soundtrack is not as good as Peppers and Eggs.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2005
A pretty cool compilation, some great lesser known tracks from well known artists.
I especially like the mo-town sounding little richard track and th sinatra track 'When I was 17'.
A great CD to put on as back ground music when doing your household chores!
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Terrific selection of music from the end of each episode. I would recommend this one although maybe a few more tracks would have been good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Some good stuff on here, including Sinatra and Dylan and of course the theme. Not just a collection of fillers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
Does everything it says on the tin lol . Anyone who is a true fan of the sopranos needs this CD in there collection .NUMBER 1 on this CD is obviously the title music which is awesome . Anyone buying this should be aware that its volume one and not the whole collection . By far the best song on this album is Frank Sinatra's it was a very good year its that good I bought his back catalogue of the back of it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
The Sopranos used original music throughout their TV show, music that is very atmospheric and apt to the programme. This CD does not let you down. It's the music you hear while your watching. The music that plays in the background and you think I like this, who's this. It's all on here. Fabulous. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
i have loved the tv series THE SOPRANOS so when i received CD i was eager to listen to it fantastic that all i can say i was very pleased with it well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)