Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Citizen Rushmore
Max Fischer is a geeky 15 year old at the exclusive Rushmore academy, whose academic slackness sits uncomfortably beside his ludicrously over-stuffed bag of extra-curricular activities. Max is also very precocious, and he becomes friends with wealthy school benefactor and parent of twin wrestling meatheads, Herman Blume, whilst also falling in love with recently widowed...
Published on 19 July 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like Wes Anderson films this is for you
"Marmite film" and typical of Wes Anderson about a misfit 15 year old schoolboy - you either love it or hate it , I thought it was a bit tiresome and unrealistic but typical of this director so you know the sort of film before you start watching it. On the plus side it was quite amusing but too far fetched to be credible. OK if you've got nothing better to do. If...
Published 4 months ago by David H J Ashdown


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Citizen Rushmore, 19 July 2009
This review is from: Rushmore [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Max Fischer is a geeky 15 year old at the exclusive Rushmore academy, whose academic slackness sits uncomfortably beside his ludicrously over-stuffed bag of extra-curricular activities. Max is also very precocious, and he becomes friends with wealthy school benefactor and parent of twin wrestling meatheads, Herman Blume, whilst also falling in love with recently widowed art teacher Rosemary Cross. When Cross, freaked out by Max's infatuation with her, pushes him away, Blume himself, played by a world-weary Bill Murray falls in love with her and they begin dating, much to Max's disgust and chagrin.

Wes Anderson's off-kilter style, also seen in films such as `The Royal Tenenbaums' and `The Darjeeling Limited', was obviously honed on this movie. Schwartzman excels as the cocky but grating Max, and his friendship with Murray's disillusioned millionaire Blume is both affecting and slyly humourous. The film is at heart a darkly skewed comedy, but sometimes appears somewhat uncomfortable in its own skin, and occasionally tries to be too clever for its own good.

Ultimately Rushmore mostly succeeds as a quirky comedy-drama, and with appearances by the likes of Luke Wilson and Brian Cox in supporting roles, it is packed with contemporary and old-school talent, resulting in a mature yet fresh cinematic experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rushmore - Endearing and quirky coming of age comedy, 21 Oct 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rushmore [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Where to start with reviewing this great film? It centres around 15 yr old school boy Max, who attends prestigious private school Rushmore. Academically bottom of the class, he is a livewire who is an active participant in almost every extra curricular activity, and president of most of the societies. The film tells the story of Max growing up, as he falls in love and learns to deal with things in an adult way. He forms an unlikely friendship with wealthy industrialist Herman Blume (played by an in-form Bill Murray) who becomes a rival for his intended love's affections, which sends Max into a spin with a maelstrom of emotions that he just does not know how to cope with.

Directed in an engaging and quirky style by Wes Anderson, who manages to get some excellent performances from a range of talented actors. The film is a character study that makes one laugh and cry along the way, while showing the consequences of actions and the importance of thinking things through. Bill Murray is on top form as Blume, and Jason Schwartzmann shines in the central role of Max. Olivia Williams is memorable as the teacher Max and Blume both fall for. It's thoughtful, intelligent, witty, funny stuff with a unique quirky style that really makes you sit up and take notice. Excellent film, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Such Great Writing, 1 Sep 2006
This review is from: Rushmore [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I've been watching the films of Wes Anderson/Owen Wilson and Jason Schwartzman in a backwards manner. I really loved "The Life Aquatic" & "The Royal Tenenbaums", as well as Schwartzman in "I heart huckabees" so I decided that I wanted to watch everything else of theirs beforehand. If you liked any of these films, you will love this film too. It is interesting to see that there are certain themes which Anderson/Wilson have been developing for a while(for example, the whole aquatic/Jacques Costeau thing)and I love their unique, stylistic way of portraying things. These guys write scripts in a refreshing way and I hope you'll agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you like Wes Anderson films this is for you, 23 Mar 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rushmore [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
"Marmite film" and typical of Wes Anderson about a misfit 15 year old schoolboy - you either love it or hate it , I thought it was a bit tiresome and unrealistic but typical of this director so you know the sort of film before you start watching it. On the plus side it was quite amusing but too far fetched to be credible. OK if you've got nothing better to do. If you like this sort of film "Napoleon Dynamite" is much better in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars “Rushmore” on BLU RAY – Compatibility Issues For UK and EUROPEAN Buyers…, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
It’s bizarre after all these years to think that Wes Anderson’s anarchic “Rushmore” is only available on BLU RAY in the States – and on a much-praised release too (no UK or European issue). But therein lies a problem for UK and European buyers…

The US issue is REGION-A LOCKED - so it WILL NOT PLAY on most UK Blu Ray players unless they're chipped to play 'all' regions (which the vast majority aren't). Don’t confuse BLU RAY players that have multi-region capability on the 'DVD' front – that won’t help.

Until such time as someone on this side of the pond decides to give “Rushmore” a long-overdue REGION B and C release – check your BLU RAY player has the capacity to play REGION A – before you buy the pricey Criterion issue…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect, 7 Oct 2007
By 
J. Buckley (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rushmore [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I found this film on VHS in my local bargain bin for 2, being a sort of on the spot compulsive buyer, I went for it.

As soon as 'Making Time' by Creation came on during the opening montage i knew i was going to love this film. The characters and interplay between them is superb (my particular favourite is the awkwardness between Ms.Cross and Max Fischer) and in my opinion, this is Bill Murray at his best (even better than lost in translation which I thought was brilliant).

The soundtrack is great, even the smallest cameos are well performed, and the director's idiosyncratic style shines through; if anything with more swagger and fun than any of his other films I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but just something lacking, 27 Dec 2006
By 
D. Thompson "tommo" (leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rushmore [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I saw tenenbaums first - then life aquatic - then rushmore - maybe i saw them in the worng order.

Rushmore is without doubt a great film - but after having seen the other 2 they just all seem a little 'samey'.

His characters are unique, quirky and full of idiosynchracies, but before I even saw this film I was ready for that - so when the joyous character of max fischer was put upon me i felt like i was already prepared for his keen attitude and eager intelligence - which is a shame coz he is a great and probably the best one out of the 3 movies.

(max must be autobiographical for wes anderson- for such an 'nerd' at school to be portrayed soooooo confidently it had to be a case of the 'nerd at school comes good for anderson' personally. -i know exactly what he feels and would be something i would do too should i be writing a screen play.)

I just cant help but feel that from here on - (life aquatic onwards) he must need to diversify a little (which he did do to an extent with L Aquatic with some animation and a little more action gun fights to iggy pop in the background is always a good thing!) as the whole scenario of children and adults with very unusual behaviours and personalities from very well to do backgrounds - who are all gifted and successful - but never actually seem to do anything exciting in the film - is getting a little tired.

There is a lot of father-son relationships in his films, and always a love interest that is shared between 2 people. The central figure is always a male. And the lady in question is always a mild mannered, soft featured, waif like but strangely attractive woman.

I'm sure wes anderson could continue for years making films with a father/son plotline - a 2 men fighting over a pretty, and well mannered woman, intelligent children and wildy eccentric people, but i just feel it may be time for him to use his excellent dialogue and script writing skills to a different scenario.

maybe he should write a film about eskimos or something? or maybe life in the city slums of Rio? This would take him out of the comfortable realm of well to do suburban america, where he could apply his skills to another culture of people.

just a few thoughts - out of the main 3 films he did - i actually think i prefer Life Aquatic, then Tenenbaums then rushmore - but all 3 are fantastic.

It would definately depend on how much action you want in a film and which one you see first that will define your opinions on each.

Anyway just a few thoughts for you - but enjoy if you havent already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, sombre comedy, 17 April 2006
By 
David Welsh (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rushmore [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is a tender and very funny portrayal of love and friendship from the point of view of Max Fischer, a talented teenager who is both wise beyond his years and quite immature at the same time. Max attends Rushmore Academy, a prestigious private school, which he is on the verge of being kicked out of, as the amount of energy he puts into the various clubs and societies he belongs to far outstrips his academic engagement. The emotional core of the film centres on Max, his friendship with Herman Blume (played by Bill Murray), the father of two of his fellow pupils, and Miss Cross, the Primary School teacher they both fall for. The performances are excellent, and the film is suffused with the wit and absurd charm that are its director's trademark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original classic in its genre, 4 Jun 2000
By 
hopkin@btinternet.com (Chelmsford, Essex, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rushmore [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Wes Anderson's movie is a near masterpiece in the romantic comedy genre. It is moving yet witty, thoughtful and thoroughly enjoyable. The acting is superb, with Murray giving perhaps his best role to date. As far as the directing and production goes, it is quite simply one of the most original movies in recent times. It also manages to skirt the line between emotional and cheesy almost perfecly. It has been compared to 'Election', a movie with a similar setting and certain plot similarities. But unlike Election it remains a brilliant movie right until the curtains close (literally). Although the DVD is a let down in terms of extras, the film itself makes it impossible to give anything but 5 stars. A modern near-classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comedy like no other, 18 Jan 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rushmore [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Wes Anderson showed no sign of a sophomore slump with his second film. That film was cult classic "Rushmore," a coming-of-age romantic-comedy-drama that actually seems halfway plausible. Wittily-written, well-acted, and solidly-directed with plenty of amusing quirks.
Max Fischer (Jason Schwartzman) attends the elite Rushmore Academy, and is perhaps the most unusual student there -- he's part of every club and team in Rushmore, but failing all his classes. He encounters an odd friend of sorts in the unhappy magnate Herman Blume (Bill Murray), who is impressed by Max. At the same time, he befriends the smart, pleasant teacher Miss Cross (Olivia Williams).
But Max's world is turned upside-down. When he tries to build a magnificent aquarium in honor of Miss Cross, he's expelled from Rushmore. Worse yet, he learns that she's having an affair with Blume, who's every bit as attracted to her as Max is. Will Max, having lost what defined his life (namely, Rushmore), be able to bounce back?
"Rushmore" is one of those movies that Wes Anderson does really well -- it doesn't fit neatly into any one category, it's smart, it's funny, and the characters are endearing in a weird, quirky sort of way (especially when engaging in a sort of revenge one-upping, for the love of the teacher). It somehow manages to be sweet and pleasant without being schmaltzy or boring.
The writing is humorous, but not the sort of snort-hee-hee comedy that most movies have. (The limpest humor in here is the "O.R. scrubs" joke, and then it's clearly meant to be lame). Max's particular brand of dynamic brilliance is outlined best in the Vietnam-based school play, a mediocre idea raised to amazing levels. And unlike most movies of any kind, it leaves you thinking. Are the places we WANT to be the best places for us to be? Or would we really be happier elsewhere? Are the people we adore the people we should be with?
Max is an unusual character -- smart and mature, but somehow not quite as mature as he thinks he is. He always aspires to climb higher and higher, and clearly sees no end to how far he can go, and Schwartzman does an excellent job without being obvious about it. Bill Murray does a fantastic job as the depressed magnate who doesn't like his life as it is. Williams does a less amazing job, but is good as the center that the other two revolve frantically around.
"Rushmore" is a different but fully worthy follow-up to "Bottle Rocket," and it definitely won't disappoint Wes Anderson fans. A wonderful movie by a fantastic director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews