Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb idea - the novel comes alive in sound, 18 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: An Equal Music / Verwandte Stimmen - Music From the Novel (Audio CD)
Vikram Seth has turned what could have been a crass idea - putting on CD the music alluded to in his novel - into a wonderful experience for the reader turned listener. Decca have chosen classic performances. The music of course stands on its own but the dual audio and textual experience brings alive both media. A triumph!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 26 July 2004
This review is from: An Equal Music / Verwandte Stimmen - Music From the Novel (Audio CD)
To accompany Vikram Seth's novel 'An Equal Music' - this two-CD set of nearly two and a half hours, is exquisite even if the book doesn't appear on your bookshelf!
Seth himself has chosen the performances and the playing is breath-taking!
Included is Schubert's, 'Trout', which whisks me back to High School and the end of year production - real nostalgia!
Vaughan Williams/The Lark Ascending, simply captivating!

[..]

Certainly a worthy investment and a lovely way to spend a summer's evening with a glass (or two) of chilled white wine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The music from the novel 'An Equal Music', 11 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. Nicholas J. Selley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Equal Music / Verwandte Stimmen - Music From the Novel (Audio CD)
This CD is very suitable for its declared task, of illustrating the music that is so important in the book. In particular, it contains the only available recording of the Beethoven Opus 104 (beautifully played). The two-CD set has space for a wide selection of the pieces mentioned. However, I would have welcomed a little attention, in the booklet, on the nature of the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Experience, 29 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: An Equal Music / Verwandte Stimmen - Music From the Novel (Audio CD)
I read the book as I listened to the music and it was a great experience.What a good idea,both stand well on their own, but together,fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An equal music, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my favourite books and I have read it three times, as enjoyable each time as the last. The music is well worth listening to and has introduced me to two pieces that I did not know. Romance and intricacies of the quartet's working relationships is interesting and endearing. I have recommended this book to many friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: An Equal Music / Verwandte Stimmen - Music From the Novel (Audio CD)
This could have been a terrible idea but turned out really well. The pieces and recordings are very good and the combination of the book and music is a whole new entertainment experience! I only wish I'd waited to read the book until the CD arrived in the post - but the book was so good I couldn't put it down! Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equal Music - the music cds, 6 Jan. 2010
By 
Frank J (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Equal Music / Verwandte Stimmen - Music From the Novel (Audio CD)
Having thoroughly enjoyed the novel, I was delighted to see that this support was available. Music of all kinds has always been important for me - but Seth's novel brought a new dimension to violin playing and the world of musicians. These cds offer plenty in their own right but their relationship to the novel makes them a unique experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd for Equal Music lovers, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Equal Music / Verwandte Stimmen - Music From the Novel (Audio CD)
My husband is obsessed with the book so I got this as a stocking filler for Christmas. He loves it and it's great background music for dinner time etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Equal Music / Verwandte Stimmen - Music From the Novel (Audio CD)
Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews