Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 91 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars far from pornography
this is a very interesting film. for once a woman's sexuality is explored, where we would usually expect the male perspective. whatever her motives may be for her relationship or her infidelity, they are not clearly articulated, and we are left to reflect on them - we are introduced to her and her unfulfilling relationship, then to a succession of lovers, each of whom...
Published on 24 Mar. 2003

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking ..and very explicit !
Probably the most sexually explicit film released in British cinemas at the time, this though is very much an "art film .

Described by Jonathan Ross as " in just one word...Magnifique", it's certainly very daring, and Caroline Ducey gives a tremendous (and tremendously brave) performance as a young Frenchwoman who although living with (and still in love with...
Published on 3 Dec. 2006 by robertsmike


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars not great porn, not great drama, just so-so entertainment..., 17 April 2012
By 
C. A. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romance [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I freely admit i bought it for the sex, and yes, there is sex. I doubt it will change the way sex is laced into other general release films, but as a film in itself, you need to like the pace of french drama (slow) to like this one. If for some reason this is your only access to sex acts on dvd, then buy it, but benny hill is far more erotic. Ken Park Ken Park (Uncut) [DVD]is better for cheap thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars romance x, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romance [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
what a complete waste of money and it wasn't cheap. meant to be very graphic, I don't think so!!. I've seen a lot better on other films.If you are hoping for lots of graphic sex then don't waste your hard earned cash on this one,you will be bitterly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars romance, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romance [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
It was ok. The plot idea was good, but the film was let down by not showing the same sexual content in the best part of the film as other parts, if you're going to show sex do it through out, if not then don't be explicit in the more drab parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pornography disquised as art., 30 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Romance [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The acting and dialogue in this film are quite good and the film holds your attention, but it is so implausible, particularly in the early scenes, that it make you wonder about the director's state of mind and why the actors agreed to appear in a film with so many loose ends and unanswered questions.
The central character, Marie, played by Caroline Ducey, is living with her boy-friend, who's behaviour is abnormal to say the least; he refuses to touch her and refuses to allow her to touch him. When she begins to perform fellatio on his erect penis, he brushes her away, apparently quite unmoved - though his erect penis testifies to the contrary. We are offered no explanation of this ridiculous behaviour and I can think of only two; he is either a homosexual ( but if so why is he living with her?) or he has such magnificent and unbelievable control over his own emotions that he is able to forgo his own pleasure in order to make her suffer - though why he should want to do so we are again not told.
But if he is so cruel why does she want to stay with him anyway? Because she is in love with him apparently, though how you can love someone who is not only cruel but gives nothing back and is utterly indifferent is beyond me. Nor is it feasible that because of her disappointment and frustration, this quiet and lovely-to-look-at primary school teacher should be willing to submit herself at the hands of strangers to ever greater humiliation and degradation.
In one scene she submits, quite willingly, to being tied up with rope, by her head teacher, fully clothed (well almost). Another improbability. What S&M practitioner would want to tie a woman up fully clothed?
And some of the sex scenes seem gratuitous; in one long, distasteful scene we are shown her lying on a table with her legs wide open whilst a succession of medical students take it in turns to prod and probe her. What on earth was the point of that scene? In what conceivable way did that further the plot? And why was Caroline Ducey willing to do it? For the money I suppose; a lesser form of prostitution.
This film is ugly in a way soft-porn films are not; they at least are honest about their intentions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete and total drivel, 5 July 2011
This review is from: Romance [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A slice of Gallic art-house pretentiousness goes a long way in my household but even I could not find a redeeming feature in this dross.

Dull, lifeless people have dull, lifeless sex whilst occasionally spouting unintentionally hilarious dialogue. "Because it's like a little bird in my hand," whines Caroline Ducey's character when her other half asks her why she likes his Johnson. If I saw a bird shaped like that fly past my window then I'd never open the curtains again.

I'm well aware of the point that Catherine Breillat (who, to her credit, has now got down trotting out coma-inducing explicit cinematic dung down to a fine art) is trying to make here about the conflicts between love and sexuality. The problem is the that the film encapsulating this message is awful. Much like almost all of her films, in fact.

Still, at least she doesn't make the mistake of giving Rocco Sifredi too many lines. Dialogue's not his strong point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Its a joke, 25 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Romance [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Terrible.Bad.Terrible.Bad.Terrible film.Look somewhere else. 0/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romance [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
this dvd was the wrong format so was totally useless to me .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 6 Sept. 2000
This review is from: Romance [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
On the basis of my friends recommandation, i purchased this movie on DVD. Was i in for a suprise, i had heard about it and was interested in seeing it and to my delight in did not diappoint! It has a kind of a art feel to it, but its not really a adult movie or porno. Its main purpose i think is to explore the sexual desires and struggles of this particular woman{Ducey}. In my opinion they should make more movies like this that give you different perpectives of human sexuality. Cause lets face that what life is really all about. Lets enjoy it! Everyone should go see this movie, if you like Eyes Wide Shut by Stanley Kubrick then you will love this movie. Ciao
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romance [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Romance as long as your not in UK, 14 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romance [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Received this DVD and unfortunately its not playing due to wrong region.
Will need to see if I can get a multi region DVD player
again not what I was hoping for.!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romance [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Romance [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] by Catherine Breillat (DVD - 2000)
£4.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews