Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visually Mesmerizing and Graphic film!
The Cell is a director's film. It is extravagant and imaginative, bold in its use of color and textures captured by the lens. The subject explores the deep recesses of the mind of a serial killer and in doing so, takes liberties with the real and unreal. The end result is a fantastic cinema tapestry that would delight any artist. The movie is an interesting hybrid of...
Published on 14 Jan. 2001 by stussy71

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars visually incredible
I had no idea what to expect when I watched this, so just let the film carry me. It was predictable, but not in a way that got on my nerves or ruined the film. What struck me was the sheer imagination that had gone into it. It's a very graphic film, but astounding in it's projection to the audience. Jennifer Lopez annoys the pants off me, but she suited this part down to...
Published on 1 May 2001


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars visually incredible, 1 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cell [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I had no idea what to expect when I watched this, so just let the film carry me. It was predictable, but not in a way that got on my nerves or ruined the film. What struck me was the sheer imagination that had gone into it. It's a very graphic film, but astounding in it's projection to the audience. Jennifer Lopez annoys the pants off me, but she suited this part down to the ground, as the social worker with a difference. Her acting wasn't the brightest of the movie though. Hat off to Vincent D'Onfrio for an incredible portrayl of a seriously warped serial killer. The beauty of going into his mind, is that you understand his beginnings, and it creates great empathy. It was a great shame that the script and storyline weren't better - the amount of creative effort deserved more balance. Worth watching for the special effects, but don't expect it to change your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visually Mesmerizing and Graphic film!, 14 Jan. 2001
This review is from: The Cell [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The Cell is a director's film. It is extravagant and imaginative, bold in its use of color and textures captured by the lens. The subject explores the deep recesses of the mind of a serial killer and in doing so, takes liberties with the real and unreal. The end result is a fantastic cinema tapestry that would delight any artist. The movie is an interesting hybrid of genres. It's part science fiction, part crime story and part psychological thriller. Jennifer Lopez is Catherine Deane, a child psychologist working for an experimental research facility whose techniques involve mental teleportation, allowing doctor and patient to interface in the subconscious realm. Quirky indeed, but great food for sci-fi thought in our current cyber age. The premise allows for free artistic reign put to good use by Tarsem. Vincent D'Onofrio plays Carl Stargher, the psychotic killer who drowns his female victims in a cell chamber before transforming them into dolls to fulfill his sadistic fantasies... Stargher is captured early in the film but a coma prevents him from disclosing the whereabouts of his latest victim to the FBI team, led by Vince Vaughn. The imagery in costume, makeup and set design is both ornate and horrific in the mind sequences, making footage of the real world drab in comparison. The colors are lush and surreal and at times, I suspected David Lynch to be somewhere behind the scenes. Many visual comparisons could be made to Twin Peaks or the X-Files or other contemporary works that explore the dark forces of the unknown. The acting is secondary to production in this picture (with the exception of D'Onofrio). Stand here. Do this. Say this. The actors are just along for the ride on this one, although I will say that this is one vehicle that seems to fit Lopez to perfection as it magnifies the actress's dual persona of sultry woman and haut-couture diva. Since most of the compelling drama occurs in the mental realm, it is difficult to find much fault in the plot. After all, how can you critique imagination? The Cell is a visually mesmerizing and graphic film, intended for mature audiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Startling glimpse of a psychotic subsconscious, 10 April 2006
By 
T. D. Welsh (Basingstoke, Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Cell [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Although "The Cell" is far from perfect, I think the previous reviews are far too negative. This movie is certainly not for everyone, as it departs quite a long way from the standard templates in which most violent thrillers are cast. An extremely violent, uninhibited killer (Vincent D'Onofrio as Carl Stargher) is caught by police - but where is his latest victim, who is probably still alive? Searching and forensic examination yield no useful pointers, and Stargher himself thwarts detectives by withdrawing into a near-coma.
This is where Lopez' character, psychologist Catherine Deane, volunteers to enter the killer's warped mind using a machine she has invented. (You have to suspend disbelief to accept this improbably advanced technology). As might be expected, once she gets in there the balance of power is radically altered. Stargher's mind calls the shots, and the familiar limitations of physical law cease to apply. Literally anything that can be imagined may occur - including some things you might prefer not to imagine. Deane struggles to communicate with Stargher's more vulnerable and accessible manifestations, while realising that the violent, uncompromising fragment of his personality may obliterate her at any moment. Eventually she loses control, and FBI agent Peter Novak is forced to penetrate Stargher's mind in a desperate rescue attempt (he is absolutely unqualified for the task).
There is a fascinating parallel between "The Cell" and Roger Zelazny's brilliant science fiction novella "The Dream Master", published in 1966. Anyone who is interested in the core idea of a psychologist experiencing patients' minds through virtual reality should check out readers' reviews of "The Dream Master" here on Amazon; it gets a 4.5 star average, which is rather better than "The Cell".
I would unhesitatingly give "The Cell" five stars, but it does occasionally seem to lose focus. Perhaps there is not a big enough market for this kind of work: not enough people who read books like "The Dream Master" also watch movies like "The Cell". To me, it is just as compelling and memorable as Thomas Harris' novel "Red Dragon" and "Manhunter", the excellent film that was based on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and grotesque, 28 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Cell [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This opera prima of Tarsem is one real crazy (in a good way and bad word)
Introduce someone in another mind during sleep, ring a bell?
Personally, I think that the premise is great and the way in which also begins the film.
Visually it is a delicacy in the beautiful scenes and the more gore, the costumes and makeup are spectacular and the soundtrack also.
Reminded me (aesthetically) to the work of Salvador Dalí, the horse scene seems taken from the famous and controversial exhibition of corpses "Body Worlds" and also looks like a music video.
That's when they start problems when you let yourself carried away by the visual sense and you forget to take care of the story, the script and the characters, because you believe that the visual will be enough to dazzle the Viewer.
Not Mr Tarsem, it is not.
A good movie, it is in every way.
Fortunately Tarsem, learned from his mistakes and on his 2nd film gift us a masterpiece.
In summary: Visually this cell is a work of art, but as a film it's not a great movie.
Recommended for those who are fans of Tarsem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visually stunning, mesmerizing experience, 28 Nov. 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cell [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The Cell is quite simply an incredible motion picture, straddling several genres while forging an identity uniquely its own. The concept of mind-linking is a little futuristic, but the plot remains strong and believable from start to finish. The acting is terrific, especially on the part of Jennifer Lopez and Vincent D’Onofrio. The visual effects are stunning, intricately detailed, and mesmerizing, to say the least. In terms of content, the movie can be disturbing and perhaps horrifying to some individuals, but there is nothing I would characterize as gratuitous gore. Besides the sheer beauty of this film, I was greatly impressed by the symmetry of the presentation; this applies to single scenes as well as the movie as a whole.
J. Lo plays psychologist Catherine Deane; in an attempt to reach a comatose boy, she employs an advanced technology to link with and actually enter the mind of her patient; this is an experimental treatment that produces results very slowly. She soon finds herself asked to do a rush job on a certain man named Carl Stargher. Stargher is a truly demented serial killer whose brain decides to shut down completely just before the police catch him. In a bold attempt to locate the killer’s most recent victim, who has only hours to live based on the killer’s m.o., the authorities ask Deane to try and communicate with the otherwise unreachable mind of the killer. Running the risk of becoming trapped inside the madman’s demented mind, Deane agrees to embark on a mental journey of surreal, mind-altering proportions.
Obviously, a serial killer’s mind is a dark, disturbing place. The visual effects of that journey are stunning, marked with incredible beauty as well as nightmarish horror. One is hard pressed to describe this facet of the movie; it is an experience that must be seen to be appreciated. What may strike viewers as most disturbing, though, are the crimes and acts of Stargher. Stargher abducts women, keeping them in an automated torture cell for a couple of days before killing them, bleaching their bodies to make them doll-like creatures. He doesn’t stop there, but I won’t get into the details of his ultimate purposes.
DVD technology really brings out the great subtlety of the visual effects and highlights the incredible attention to detail on the part of the filmmakers. The extra features are also excellent and diverse. The ability to gain insight into the director’s ideas and purposes is most welcome for such an unusual film, and the deleted scenes add depth and further insight into the minds of both Stargher and Deane. There are so many reasons to buy this movie. I think some people avoid The Cell for fear of its disturbing aspects, but I think such perceptions are unwarranted. There is certainly a lot of material here for horror fans to love, and some viewers probably will not fall in love with the movie the way I did, but lovers of well-made movies will find themselves mesmerized by this cinematic masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, one of my favourites, 16 Aug. 2007
By 
Simon Daultrey "g3fan" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cell [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Contrary to magazine, newspaper and TV reviews, and the quotes printed all over the DVD packaging, this is not all about Jenniffer Lopez dressing sexy and pouting.

Visionary director Tarsem Singh, who cut his teeth in TV commercials, has put together an absolute masterpiece, in my opinion. It's one of those few multi-genre movies that really hits the mark in all areas; Sci-fi, fantasy, and horriffic thriller are all woven beautifully together, to create a story that is gripping, captivating, and convincing.

J-Lo plays the role of Catherine, a psycho-therapist who's job is to literally enter the mind, and fantasy world, of children with serious mental illness, to try and help improve their quality of life.

When the FBI, on the hunt for an illusive serial killer, find their suspect in a coma, Catherine is asked to enter the dark, twisted fantasy world in his mind to try to determine where his next victim is being held in captivity.

Singh's unique visionary approach to setting, costume and general atmosphere make the story moving and frightening, but equally enticing - obscure and unnerving as some scenes are, they are also sometimes quite stunning, and it really makes it worth putting up with the chill-factor because you just want to see what happens next.

This is the only film I have seen that has honestly come close to feeling like a real-life dream/nightmare feels. It's got all the elements of twisted reality that you get from a strange dream, with out being too far-out and ridiculous.

"The Cell" is not a hugely gory or violent film, like "Saw" or "Hostel"....it's intelligent, and uses psychological trickery to keep you right on the edge of your seat. It would appeal both to people who like a good, suspenseful thriller, as well as anyone interested in dark, artistic fantasy as seen in films such as "Pan's Labrynth".

Careful use of CGI is combined with quality direction, a solid storyline and script, and is brilliantly executed by it's leading cast. Don't dismiss it just because it's J-Lo - you'd be really missing out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars weird but wonderful!, 17 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cell [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
a very good film with Vincent D'Onofrio - an actor that is underestimated in my opinion. A very psychological film, and Jennifer Lopez is good in this film. If you like weird, then try this film. The camera and technical aspects of the film are really good but weird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caution - blu ray is R rated US cut, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have scored the Canadian blu ray lower than I really rate this movie as the print provided by Alliance is the R rated US cut which has two minutes of footage removed by the American censor. All the cuts are made to the scenes in the first 15 minutes or so principally around the killer and his interaction with the corpse.

Otherwise the blu ray transfer is very good although I thought the audio could have been better. The disc is also free from the extras found on the dvd. Although this disc is significantly better in terms of picture quality the censorship means that I would not recommend this blu ray even at the very low price here. The disc is also locked to region A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much more...., 28 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cell [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
When the film started I was really optimistic. It seemed to have all the ingredients for a first-class chiller, a good storyline coupled with plenty of startling and weird imagery, kind of a cross between Silence of the Lambs and Twin Peaks. However, from about half-way through, it seemed to lose direction and never really found it again. From here the remainder of the film became predictable and less than imaginative, though the effects and styling never fail to impress. As I said, it could have been so much more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the cell is a mind-blowing film!, 28 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cell [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The mind-blowing special effects in this film and the heart-touching plot make this a fantastic way to spend an evening. This film caters for everybody, from the sci-fi lover to the day-dreamer, to those into more twisted and sinestre films, and also those who enjoy a good crime/mystery flick. I utterly enojed this film, it kept me at the edge of my seat! (and at times reaching for the tissues!) All I can say is that if you are a movie lover this is a film you should put at the top of your list of must sees!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews