Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars definitely in my top 5 films about breakup
I have heard of this film for many years, it's one of those films that keep on popping up in "all time greatest movie" lists. But although I was always completely aware of it, I never really knew what it was about.

At face value, High Fidelity looks like a movie about the girl troubles of a 30-something record collector obsessing over his most recent breakup,...
Published on 16 Oct 2011 by bizmandan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Although John Cusack never disappoint this film seems too artsy
You know how you sometimes see a film and you think: "oh definitely, I'm going to see this film again". That's what I thought until I watched this film for the second time. It seems to hove lost his appeal. Although John Cusack never disappoint this film seems too artsy. Almost like trying too hard. If you like a slow film-house film with no suspense en a happy...
Published 4 months ago by M. Kalcik


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars definitely in my top 5 films about breakup, 16 Oct 2011
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Fidelity [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have heard of this film for many years, it's one of those films that keep on popping up in "all time greatest movie" lists. But although I was always completely aware of it, I never really knew what it was about.

At face value, High Fidelity looks like a movie about the girl troubles of a 30-something record collector obsessing over his most recent breakup, but just below the surface is a witty but knowing story about a man slowly waking up to the fact that he's been emotionally stuck in adolescence and realizes it's time to start acting like an adult (which means accepting the knowledge that there's more to know about his partner than what records she likes).

When I found out that the book this film is based on is by Nick Hornby I realised what I found so likable, as one of my all time top favourite films is "About a Boy", another Hornby adaptation.

While one doesn't have to be a music buff to enjoy the movie, they've packed the film with enough knowing musical references to satisfy even the most cynical hipster; anyone who has spent much time in a used record store will feel right at home at Championship Vinyl. And though Cusack's performance, funny and charming but with enough bile to give him a few sharp edges, dominates the film, the supporting cast, especially Jack Black, really does hold it's own.

Although they are all arrogant hipster nerds, High Fidelity's characters have just enough depth so that they seem genuine and believable, and there's a lot to be learned from the lessons about struggles with romance and maturity, even if you don't know (or care) how much a French pressing of Captain Beefheart's Safe As Milk fetches these days.

A great film that is reminiscent of films like "About a Boy" and "Alfie" just a little less sentimental and a little more man friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't quite make my top 5 films, but it's still good., 2 May 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: High Fidelity [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
A bloke flick - exploring the emotional wreckage of a man coming to terms with rejection. We've seen it many a time with a female lead, but now we get to see it from a mans point of view.

Cussack brings energy to a role which is pretty, well... unenergetic. This is a slow burning film, and you often don't realise that you're enjoying it until it's finished. It's a cultural gem with top five lists galore and some fantastic music - but being set in a music shop, I suppose you expect that.

Rob (Cussack) provides narration throughout the film, so we always get an insight as to what he is thinking, and perhaps more importantly; what he is feeling. His story is an interesting one, although not particularly eventful, it is insightful. The comedy isn't thick and fast, but when it's there, it's good. All men can identify with Rob, even if they haven't had the same sort experiences, they will no doubt have had the same insecurities at some point.

People often say that any film with Jack Black in is bound to be a good one - I'm a Jack Black sceptic though and I can't say I enjoy all of his roles. But here he shines. His over-the-top socially inept 'Barry' with with holier than thou philosophy on music provides many of the films lighter moments, and along with Dick (Todd Louiso), Rob has a comedy duo to counter his dark lamenting.

So, in a nutshell: an emotional journey exposing the mindset of a thirty-something male who is dumped. Slow but steady, this is a film that deals with love, loss, and relationships - but feels blokey with it. The film never delves into the mushy depths of cheesiness, it keeps it's dignity and the slick writing oils the tracks to ensure you never lose interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Americanisation of a classic book for indie music generation, 18 Mar 2001
By A Customer
After reading the book, by Nick Hornby, I was wary at first when I knew a film had been made. The book is british and I didn't know how it would translate onto film let alone being americanised as well! However I was pleasently suprised with the story as it kept faithful to the book, with a genuine british feel. Even bands like the beta band and belle and sebastian were mentioned, even though they are relatively small in the UK. The characters were brilliantly portrayed, with the shop assistants, Dick and Barry(Todd Louiso and Jack Black ), exactly how I had imagined them! A must watch for anybody who loves indie and pop music and arranges their music collections constantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Walking on Sunshine..., 29 Aug 2004
By 
LD5 "laooo" (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Fidelity [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The first time i watched this i watched it at the cinema, a lover of john and joan i figured it'd be another one to love...
but something dreadful happened.
i watched it with two friends who would have preferred to have been watching bambi or the like... they hated every minute they were in there. There was a couple behind me who yawned, huffed and puffed and eventually fell asleep. There was another couple in front who snogged each other incessently throughout and eventually walked out near the end, and all i could do was be concerned that i'd dragged my friends to see a film they hated, get annoyed with the couple behind, and considering the films content, wonder why the couple in front had chosen this of all films... and i ended up disliking the film.
skip a few light years and another friend is waxing lyrical about high fidelity and i am telling her above story, and she says, "oh you really should watch it again" but out of loyalty to john and joan, i went one better, and i bought the thing.
and two weeks ago, i finally watched it, dreading that i was going to actually properly watch it this time and hate it just as much with no excuse for my bad taste.. but then...
"I'M WALKING ON SUNSHINE...HEY, HEY..."
and boy, it's time to feel good. I smiled ear to ear for an hour and a half, or however long it is, it went so much quicker than the last time, and it was fabulous! Jack Black is storming and Joan, as always, is fabulous and funny and seething with bitterness... brilliant!
why did i tell you that rather long and uninteresting story? well my point is this; this film needs your full attention, it's no good watching it with a mate who you know has a tendency to talk through films, or indeed one who would prefer to be watching bambi... you need to watch it and watch it well because the script is one that carries you completely, and if you slip at one point, you may find it hard to get back on. it's not a drawback in the slightest - just give it the time it deserves and you should love it as much as i do now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It makes my "Top Five Movies of All Time" list..., 5 April 2001
By 
H. Sendall "belle_" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Fidelity [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Not many books translate well onto the screen, and even fewer from one culture to another, but High Fidelity has been beautifully adapted to fit into the American culture. The casting is brilliant; each actor delivers a rich and memorable performance and you will find yourself quoting the script for weeks after. John Cussack plays the obsessive and over-analytical owner of a retro record store. When his girlfriend moves out because he can't commit, he becomes moody and self-critical and tracks down all his ex girlfriends. So begins his familiar trip into the past to find out why everyone seems to dump him... All performances are inspiring, and there are some noteworthy cameos. The scenes that take place in the record store are a stroke of genius. The only danger is that after watching this film, you will spend a ridiculous amount of time making and remaking 'Top Five' lists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my two pennies worth, 15 Mar 2007
This review is from: High Fidelity [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
high fidelity, originally a book by nick hornby, follows the break up of a relationship between rob and laura mainly through the eyes of rob. rob runs and owns a record shop, a real record shop not a virgin mega store or anything. the film opens with rob asking if people are miserable because they listen to pop music or do they listen to pop music because they are miserable, the major thing in robs life and the film is songs. the two major comic sources within the film are dick and barry, barry is an over the top manic, loud and outrageous assistant at the shop and dick is the polar opposite to barry and yet manages to be just as funny. the two assistants, dick and barry seem to spend their time working in the shop and trying to find songs for every moment in life. one of the main things the staff do is compile top five lists of things and songs about things. beyond the shop rob is searching for the answers to why laura has left him and to weather he is the reason that his relationships seem to fail. this is a serious subject matter and one that is rarely explored in film, being from a male point of view.

there is an amazing cast including joan cusack and jack black (as barry) now i know that for some the mere mention of jack black is a good reason to avoid the film but he is on fine form, not over bearing or too annoying.

the deleated scenes on the disk are really good, i personally cant see why the one with the shop lifting skater kids was scrapped but i would imagine it was a time issue and that scene was 4 minutes that could be skipped without affecting the plot in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 8 Feb 2010
This review is from: High Fidelity [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I think this a very good film, i really like John Cusack and this is one of the few films that actually uses him well, maybe i'm wrong but i give credit for that to Stephen Frears, the director, who has rather a good track record with actors. But then maybe John Cusack is just always good, he's reliable like that, he's just in a lot of bad films..

Anyway, ...actually, thinking about the actors, this is one of the few films where i like Jack Black, there are a lot of other good characters and actors in it too.

Well, anyway.. I just think it's a really good entertaining film, it has a couple of truths, which are washed down with a nice ending, awesome music, and lots of humour. But i don't think it's meant to be thought of as bringing truth to the world, it's a feel good movie, for guys. And it's cool attitude, it's little asides to the camera, the flashbacks and cross-cuttings, the endless top fives, and the girls! All just fit together really well, and make it a film that you can watch again and again. Maybe it won't do you any good to watch it constantly, but you could..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An "All time top 5 film", 5 April 2001
This review is from: High Fidelity [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film from the opening credits, right through to the last. The film rollercoasters through the many past relationships of the main character Rob (Cusack) and is kept on track by some fine performances. The scenes in Championship Vinyl (Cusack's record store) are genius in themselves and the pace of the film keeps the viewer hooked. I had never read the book so wasn't too concerned over the location change to Chicago. A real gem for fans of film and music alike with a great soundtrack also thrown in for good measure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Razor rates High Fidelity, 4 Nov 2009
By 
Steven Rae "Razor's Harp" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Fidelity [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
One of the greatest films since the turn of the Millenium. Hornby's book comes to life fantastically with John Cusack taking the lead roll with great humour and timing as main character Rob. Rob is a character with whom the audience are meant to relate to and Hornby's writing about life, music and realtionships accomplishes this.
This was the Jack Black's breakthrough performance in terms of being really known in the comedy world, and he fully took that opportunity, as sarcastic but likeable Barry. Cusack's one-on-one conversations with the audience, breaking the '4th Wall' element of film, gave the film a chance to stay close to the ideas and details within the book. Superb ending with Barry singing Marvin Gaye's 'Let's Get It On' was just one of the great musical moments you'd expect from the soundtrack of a film involving three men working in a music store discussing music all day. 5 out of 5, and in my opinion the sort of film you can watch time and time again but never tire of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best movie for many a while, 17 April 2002
By A Customer
I watched this movie last night for the first time. I may watch it tonight for the second. I loved John Cusack in The Sure Thing, and his style has developed over the years so that maybe he alone could deliver the monologues in this movie with such detatched emotion. The characters and situations are spot-on, and the way the movie takes a potentially depressing premise and presents such an upbeat attitude is a credit to all. A must-see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Fidelity [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£2.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews