Customer Reviews


440 Reviews
5 star:
 (350)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


149 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece
Everyone seems to have reviewed the Steelbook Amazon Exclusive version of this. I actually prefer this version and it is the one I bought. For one thing I feel that cramming all the discs into one small case means that it gets lost on the shelf. A substatntial box means that it has more of a presence up there, and also it's not AS big as the original 2001 release due to...
Published on 22 Oct 2008 by Mr. D. M. Pugh

versus
81 of 95 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy it ONLY if you don't own it in DVD
First, I must say I believe this is the best trilogy in the history of cinema, with Godfather I and Godfather II among the 5 best movies ever.

So, if you are planning to purchase the trilogy for the first time, don't hesitate, go for it.

Take into account, nonetheless, that in terms of image quality there is no difference between the Blu-ray and DVD...
Published on 11 Mar 2010 by Sherlock the door


‹ Previous | 141 42 43 44 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing it only as a blu-ray..., 18 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film itself is a classic - no doubts about it. I will, thus, only review it as a blu-ray.

I was very excited for its arrival, as a much anticipated blu-ray release.

I was very very disappointed.

Put on the first 5 minutes of the first part and was immediately disappointed - haven't put it on since, it just sits pretty on the self admist the rest of the collection.

Picture quality is, frankly, atrocious for a blu-ray. Very disappointed.

Buy it on DVD if you want it - the blu-ray isnt worth a penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE GODFATHER DVDs, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I did receive this very quickly, your service as always was excellent, I did return it. A friend had already got the same set and although had viewed it, I did purchase it at a lower price from him. But I have since purchased further DVDs from you and retained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 out of 3 aint bad, 19 Feb 2003
By 
Steven Moses - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is much debate about whether G1 is better than G2 but arguably they are both 2 of the finest movies ever made. The acting is sublime with an unparelled ensemble cast, and the direction is magnificent with Coppola handling the tension of Michael's hit on a rival gang leader and police chief as well as the larger wedding scenes. Brando steals the show in G1 but Pacino is awesome particularly as you see the chamges in the man; innocent war hero to guilt-ridden Don with so much blood on his hands including his own brother's. G3 isn't as bad as everyone makes out, it's just that G1 and 2 were so good everything else pales in comparison. Nice twist at the end of 3 when Michael's bloody debt is paid through the accidental death of his daughter when the bullet was meant for him.
DVD extras are pretty good too and even if this set is a little pricey you do get vfm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stupid packaging!, 29 Nov 2013
By 
David Hampson "kuma" (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No idea what they were thinking about but putting 4 DVDs in something slightly bigger than a shoebox is idiocy at best. So you get a bunch of postcards and a book too, whoopy-fun-doo...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DID NOT GET WHAT I ORDERED, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The version of The God Father that was dispatched to me was not what i ordered and not the cover that was advertised above.What i expected was the hard black and brown non glossy dvd collection all in matte paper back not glossy,plastic finish...was very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Godfather, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been wanting the three The Godfather films for some time and this was sent to me promptly and enabled me to watch something I've been wanting to see for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Godfather, 5 Feb 2011
Having only seen No 1 before it was a revelation to me. Fantastic, acting superb and the overall quality outstanding. Wish I had seen them before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Godfather Trilogy (5 CD box Set), 26 Jun 2009
By 
Star "Star" (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
I was so looking forward to watching again the 2nd DVD (The Godfather II) after watching the first one. Unfortunately the II one jerked half way through the film on and off. These 3 are all classic films that can be wathed over and over - what a shame that the 2nd one spoilt it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Tragedy (in every sense) In Three Parts, 8 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Observation 1: The Coppola family should never be allowed on screen again. Sofia Coppola, playing Michael's daughter in Part III, was the director's daughter (presumably the only reason such poor acting was allowed into the public domain). Perhaps less well known is that the actress playing Michael's sister in Parts I, II and III, Talia Shire, is in fact none other than Francis Ford Coppola's sister. She is dreadful; the sensationalist melodrama, pouting looks and cringeworthy ''I hate you, I hate you' as she pounds her fists against various mens' chests' style acting would be much better suited to 'The Bold and the Brave' or 'The Strong and the Beautiful' or some similar daytime television mulch.
Observation 2: Whatever problems he may have in his personal life, however silly his real life childrens' names may be and however much he has slipped since, Brando's performance in Part I was genius.
Observation 3: We may all criticise George Lucas for leaving more tails in his films than there are on a pack of huskies, primarily with a view to making a sequel, but George isn't even at the races - Coppola was doing it long before him, and it wouldn't be a surprise at all if, in another decade, Godfather Part IV was to be unleashed on us.
Observation 4: The primary plot in Part III viz. widescale corruption in the Vatican (along with murders of Popes, corruption at the Vatican bank and P2 / Masonic lodge involvement in affairs of the Church) was clearly penned by arch conspiracy theorist John Cornwall. That Part III wasn't called 'The Godfather's Pope' is surprising.
Observation 5: (and the final one): For all the talk of how the Godfather films have worn well, Part I is still very much watchable, Part II is quite tiresome in the way it flips between different decades - to the point where you inwardly sigh every time we get brought back to the 'present' in Tahoe and Part III is dreadful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Jan 2011
Arrived through the snow, through a postal strike and before Christmas, 2 weeks ahead of it's planned arrival, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 141 42 43 44 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godfather Collection (5pc) (Ws Sub) [DVD] [2001]
Godfather Collection (5pc) (Ws Sub) [DVD] [2001] by Francis Ford Coppola (DVD - 2001)
3.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews