Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Is Good Stuff
'Caught Out There' may be the song that launched Kelis as a star, but it is far from being the standout track of this very promising debut release. The sexy groove of 'Good Stuff' and the quirky delight that is 'Roller Rink' both outdo the monster hit of earlier this year. But, for sure, the greatest song on the album is 'Mars', which will inevitably become a future...
Published on 27 July 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
this is not the best album she done. good service and price. joe uk
Published 2 months ago by Mrs. J. Westcott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Is Good Stuff, 27 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
'Caught Out There' may be the song that launched Kelis as a star, but it is far from being the standout track of this very promising debut release. The sexy groove of 'Good Stuff' and the quirky delight that is 'Roller Rink' both outdo the monster hit of earlier this year. But, for sure, the greatest song on the album is 'Mars', which will inevitably become a future R&B classic. Elsewhere on the album, Kelis's talents are not quite so sensational. 'Get Along With You', 'In The Morning' and 'Mafia' are good songs, but not in the league of the aforementioned. Overall, this is an impressive album that is certainly worth buying. There is clearly much more to Kelis than the gimmicky rant of 'Caught Out There'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album, 12 Dec 2000
By 
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
this is perhaps the best album i have bought this year. Every track on here is good. There are a few dodgy moments but Game show is a track which can only be taken in good humour. Mafia is one of the standout tracks of the album, it profiles kelis' vocal talents very well. mars is another of those brilliant tracks and for some reason my cd has become scratched on that particular track so i am actually willing to go and buy another copy because it is missing one track. Ghetto children is one of the more upbeat tracks on the album and if carried very well by the male vocalist who sings with kelis. all of the tracks on this album are great I reccomend all music fans to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars God dammit, just buy it!, 10 Jun 2000
By 
Luke Owen (Celebration, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
I kinda bought this album on a whim. I liked Caught Out There a lot, but that wasn't enuff to swing my decision. I'd heard Good Stuff (her second single) on the radio and fell in love with it...so I bought it, and I'm so very glad I did...
This is a very mixed bag. On Good Stuff and Mafia, Kelis confirms that she is a babe with a voice (they're commonplace, you know...) but she also has brains.
There is the odd track that goes wide of the mark , the absurd Game Show springs to mind. At the very end, it sounds like there is an army of Smurfs getting strangled singing Game Show over and over...that, however, is the only remotely dodgy bit, but being a track right in the middle, it drives my decision down to 4 stars. But I do agree, anyone who cannot appreciate Mafia must be brain dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best soul album in years, 4 Mar 2001
By 
H. meiehofer "haroldm" (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
This is a truly fantastic CD. I see that other reviews have singled out the odd track as rubbish or said that the album as a whole has some dodgy bits. This is just not true! Kelis and her production team are major talents and I only hope that this 20 year old can live up to this initial promise and that Kaleidoscope does not turn out to be some kind of aural "Citizen Kane"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well, what can I say???, 4 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
When i first heard "caught out there" i wasn't sure but then "god stuff" came along which really gave me the boost to buy the album. and it wasn't a dissapointment. The neptunes are a over every track, adding so much veriety to the project. this album is a masterpiece. Her second album is now in the making, and she has a lot to live up to. I think you'll agree if you buy it. She really is a breath of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exellent, 22 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
very good album. one small snag, roller rink is rubbish. but the rest of the album is exellent. brilliant production by the neptunes. well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Funky, 4 July 2000
By 
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
"Caught Out There" was a totally fab song, and when I heard "Good Stuff" Ihad to have it. The whole ensemble is generally brilliant, and the woman has a very beautiful voice. The first songs are probably the best, but "In the Morning" and "Wouldn't you agree" are a very nice couple to wind down with at the end of the CD. I say buy it now, but not if you are averse to strong language (especially in "Roller rink").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kaleidoscope - aptly named, 31 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
This is quite simply an amazing album and goes to show there is much more to this young star, than the glorious ranting on the female anthem 'Caught Out There'! Simplistic but beautiful vocal presentation and retro production sounds, keeps this album on rotation in my portable CD player!Buy this album - without hesitation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kaleidoscope is the album of 2000, 13 Feb 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope (Audio CD)
The debut album by Kelis is fantastic ! Several songs are excellent and prove what a great singer Kelis actually is. my favourites include the manic 'Mars', the melancholy 'Get Along With You' and the brilliant 'RollerRink'.In short, Kaleidoscope is the album of 2000
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT DEBUT FROM AN SUPERB YOUNG TALENT!, 28 Mar 2001
KALEIDOSCOPE: AN EXCELLENT ALBUM PERFORMED BY ONE OF AMERICA'S NEWEST TALENTS.WITH STANDOUT TRACKS LIKE THE SINGLES "GOOD STUFF" AND THE FANTASTIC ANTHEM "CAUGHT OUT THERE" AND "MARS". IF YOU LIKE DESTINYS CHILD WITH MORE BITE THEN THIS IS THE ALBUM FOR YOU. NO TRACK IS WORTH SKIPPING AND WILL BE PLAYED CONSTANTLY ON YOUR STEREO.I BOUGHT THE ALBUM AFTER I SAW HER ELECTRIFYING PERFORMANCE SUPPORTING MELANIE C AT WEMBLEY ON NOVEMBER 5TH. THIS IS AN EXCEPTIONAL ALBUM WHICH WILL GIVE YOU LISTENING PLEASURE FOR HOURS!IT IS A REALLY VERSATILE ALBUM AS ALL TRACKS BRING SOMETHING TO THE ALBUM.BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kaleidoscope
Kaleidoscope by Kelis (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews