Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent mix - typical of Queen, plus other star guests.
The album features some pieces that have appeared in previous Greatest Hits albums, but they are not the same. You are greeted by the vocal strength of Elton John as he performs "Show Must Go On" with Queen. George Michael sings along to "Somebody to Love" and Wyclef Jean the rap-artist uses his talents to makes a variation of "Another One Bites...
Published on 10 Oct 2001

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity to complete the story
Why an unreleased version of "Show Must Go On" by Elton John appeared on this album with a remix of "Under Pressure" when the original had already appeared on Hits II is a mystery, as is the inclusion of the non-single version of Freddie's "Living On My Own". Oh and don't mention Wyclef John!!!
All but one of the later Queen singles...
Published on 27 Mar 2002 by M. D. Rathbone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity to complete the story, 27 Mar 2002
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits III (Audio CD)
Why an unreleased version of "Show Must Go On" by Elton John appeared on this album with a remix of "Under Pressure" when the original had already appeared on Hits II is a mystery, as is the inclusion of the non-single version of Freddie's "Living On My Own". Oh and don't mention Wyclef John!!!
All but one of the later Queen singles (picking up where Hits II left off) are here but they only make up 6 out of the 17 tracks, although the album does redeem itself slightly by retrospectively including "Thank God its Christmas" and the superb "Las Palabras de Amor" which had for some reason been left off Hits II.
But despite the success of the solo tracks and the collaborations this should have been the opportunity to mop up the hits/tracks omitted from the previous two albums and as a result of failing to do so, songs including "Spread Your Wings", "Tie Your Mother Down", "Scandal" and "A Winter's Tale" may never get the wider audience they deserve. Shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent mix - typical of Queen, plus other star guests., 10 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits III (Audio CD)
The album features some pieces that have appeared in previous Greatest Hits albums, but they are not the same. You are greeted by the vocal strength of Elton John as he performs "Show Must Go On" with Queen. George Michael sings along to "Somebody to Love" and Wyclef Jean the rap-artist uses his talents to makes a variation of "Another One Bites the Dust". It also features solo efforts by individual members of the group: Freddie Mercury joins forces with Monserrat Caballe with his creation "Barcelona" - the 1992 Olympics Anthem of Spain. It also includes his solo performances of "The Great Pretender" and "Living On My Own". Brian May also has his own composition within the playlist: his upbeat ballad "Driven By You" is a masterpiece, and has won awards for it. It also includes late Queen songs, like "Princes of the Universe" and the Chart-topper "Days of Our Lives". It also includes the heart-wrenching performance of "No-one But You" - the only song written by the remaining members of Queen since the tragic death of Freddie Mercury.
The album has a great mixture of moods and styles that Queen are renowned for. Being a Queen fan, it is easy for me to say how good the album is, but you have to listen to it yourself to agree with me. This is always at the top of my pile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor selection, 28 July 2000
This review is from: Greatest Hits III (Audio CD)
One one hand - you have some good tracks. Good solos from Brian and Freddie, plus some decent post-Freddie tracks to boot.
Unfortunately, it seems that the remaining members of Queen are resorting to rather undignified means to keep the legacy alive - this CD, plus latching onto hit-hungry people like 5ive and Wyclef Jean (who are about as far from the Queen sound as you can get) in order to get the songs heard.
Queen are this era's Beethoven - they'll be remembered and respected for centuries. But, if they continue to release retrospectives as poor as this, it may jeopardise the legacy instead of preserving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 23 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits III (Audio CD)
What a disappointing end to the Greatest Hits trilogy. I'll give it to them that they didn't have many greatest hits left to put on a greatest hits album but they could have spared us the disappointment by not making an album at all or at least not calling it a greatest hits album. I bought Greatest Hits III a couple of days ago, listened to it once and thought that it was terrible. I decided to listen to it several more times and it's grown on me a bit. Songs like "These are the Days Of Our Lives" and "No-One But You" are worth listening to and almost make the CD worth it but overall it is a bad way to finish an otherwise excellent trilogy. The copies of "Under Pressure" and "Another One Bites The Dust" are awful and I couldn't believe that the producers had lowered themselves to include a rap version of a classic song like "Another One Bites The Dust". If they wanted to make another greatest hits album they could at least have filled it with originals and songs that weren't on the other two albums. In My eyes, the Greatest Hits ended when One Vision finished playing on Greatest Hits II and this album is a huge disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EMI say "Thank Queen it's Christmas", 27 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits III (Audio CD)
This blatent attempt to cash in on Queen's unswervingly loyal fan base is just too much. The remaining hits ommitted from Hits 1 & 2 are not ALL included, SOME solo hits unfortunately are and some cover versions/collaborations too. The band and their management have been plagued by long serving fans to release good archive material, live recordings, and previously unreleased audio/video. This, they have yet to do!...Instead they remain intent to fire together "More Product" such as this. While most of the songs on this collection are excellent in themselves the manner in which songs were included/excluded from the collection will cause this CD to rest uneasily along side Hits 1 & 2. With the first two magnificent Greatest Hits albums EMI and Queen's management boasted - "How many bands could release 2 full length CD's and still end up leaving out hits along the way due to lack of space?"....Sadly the same cannot be said for this disaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected, 28 May 2005
This review is from: Greatest Hits III (Audio CD)
The first two "Greatest Hits" albums by Queen are great. They managed to include most of their major records. You should buy them if you are a rock or Queen fan.
Now lets have a look at this CD. First of all, there are some slightly minor hits that could of included, as well as major ones like "Princes of the Universe", "These Where the Days of Our Lives", "Las Palabras de Amor" and "Thank God It's Christmas" (thankfully on the CD). I think they could of included "Keep Yourself Alive" (Queen's debut), "Brighton Rock", "In the Lap of the Gods", "'39", "Tie Your Mother Down", "Sheer Heart Attack", "I'm in Love With My Car" and others. Some truly great songs missed.
I don't mind the solo projects of Mercury and May, but I really don't see why 5 songs from "Made in Heaven" were included. The songs already on previous "Greatest Hits" sung by different people ("The Show Must Go On" by Elton John, etc.) aren't paticually good either.
And then there's some awful songs that deserve no place on any Greatest Hits CD. Wyclef Jean's version of "Another One Bites" is a bastardization of a great song. Completely missing the purpose and theme of the original. The remix of "Under Pressure" is pretty rubbish as well.
So overall I would only recomend this CD if you don't have "Made in Heaven" or if you're a massive Queen fan. If you are a casual fan, buy Greatest Hits 1 and 2, and you will enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Offensively bad., 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, this truly stinks. I don't know what I was thinking when I bought it. I must have been in the midst of some kind of completist frenzy. But whatever about what I was thinking, what were May and Taylor thinking when they committed this atrocity against their own legacy?

Queen+ was a pretty bad idea to begin with, but if they'd at least stuck with that premise this album could be more conveniently brushed under the carpet. As it is this hideous collection falls between several stools. It's not purely Queen+ because it includes songs that feature no guests. It's not Queen's Greatest Hits 3 because it contains solo material (and that's not the only reason). And it's not a solo effort because it contains full Queen songs - and taints them by association.

It's a monster in the truest sense, a hideous hodge-podge cobbled together through madness. There is so much to say about how wrong it is, but words can never say enough. Don't make the same mistake I did, don't buy this wretched excuse for a Queen album, your collection is complete without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic, 2 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits III (Audio CD)
I expected a lot from this album,after the brilliance of GH1.I bought GH2 long after this one.Except for the mediocre Queen+Elton John 'The Show Must Go On',the rest were wonderful,.This album consists of records made just before Freddie Mercury's untimely death.Songs such as These Are The Days Of Our Lives,Too Much Love Will Kill You,Las Palabras Del Amor,Heaven For Eveyone and Let Me Live were outstanding,as were the quartets solo efforts-Freddie's cover of The Great Pretender,Living On My Own and the unforgettable operatic duet with Montserrat Caballe 'Barcelona'and Brian's Driven By You.The Rah remix of Under Pressure was just as good as the original.Songs such Princes Of The Universe,and Somebody To Love feat George Michael are also memorable.The band's foray into club music,You Don't Fool Me is wonderful.And last,but not least,the three remaining band members heart wrenching tribute to their frontman,No One But You.All in all,a great listen for all Queen lovers.Just as great as GH1,GH2.A must have.Would have given it a 4& 1/2 if the site allowed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very misunderstood compilation, 10 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits III (Audio CD)
O.k O.k! Calm down Queen fans! Ican understand you being dissapointed, but it's not THAT bad! While some of the tracks are admittedly dodgy and questionable for this CD, there are still some fine moments on this compilation. What about Freddie's 'Too much Love Will kill you' or 'Living on my own', or Brian May's 'Driven by you'? These are magnificent songs!
When you listen to normal compilations, you can often get bored of listening to the same sounds and voices, but with this, there are a whole mix of singers and artists to keep you interested, while still being Queen songs.
This lets us fans get to know another side of Queen, I think the way this CD has been put together is a brilliant idea, and like people have said, this is more of a tribute to Freddy than a real CD. If so; what's wrong with that?
I think many Queen fans are just missing the point of this album, and were expecting too much from this compilation.
Fair enough, re mixes of 'Under pressure' and 'Another one bites the dust' are pretty awful. But while they're awful for us typical Queen fans, it's bringing Queen's music to a new, completely different audience. and this can only be good, can't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shelf Filler, 2 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits III (Audio CD)
Surely a fair tribute to Freddie Mercury would have been to know when to stop. This is one cd too many - virtually all padding and no queen essence. Only buy this if you must have a set. Otherwise this is just a dust gatherer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaec2da50)

This product

Greatest Hits III
Greatest Hits III by Queen (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews