Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the most sentimental Disney films
A man, who has spent his whole life being raised by gorillas, must discover who he is and where he belongs when humans visit the jungle where he lives.

In perhaps one of the most underappreciated Disney films of the 90's, viewers are given an insight into the life of a man who must question who and what he is in the face of danger and humanity. The plot is a...
Published on 29 July 2008 by Stampy

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing Effort From Disney
When I saw Disney were releasing Tarzan on Blu-Ray I immediately ordered it, I always enjoyed the movie and based on Disney's previous efforts on the format I didn't hesitate, perhaps I should have!

Now let's get one thing straight, the picture is definitely an improvement over the previous home releases, colours are vibrant and there is a massive improvement...
Published on 31 May 2012 by Joey Law


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the most sentimental Disney films, 29 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Tarzan [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A man, who has spent his whole life being raised by gorillas, must discover who he is and where he belongs when humans visit the jungle where he lives.

In perhaps one of the most underappreciated Disney films of the 90's, viewers are given an insight into the life of a man who must question who and what he is in the face of danger and humanity. The plot is a very romantic tale about the human spirit and has a very intriguing point of view upon humans, who are again in the darkness as villains in this Disney picture.

Tarzan embodies the good nature about the human spirit with a heroic and loyal ideology towards the lives of others, but the humans who come to investigate the gorillas such as Clayton are the epitome of evil, and through the use of good vs evil and loyalty does the plot excel as a sharp and sentimental story about finding who you truly are.

Humour is thrown in as good measure with the very enjoyable Jane, Terk and Tantor who all have their moments in this lovable tale.

Though the humour is frequently used throughout, this is one of the most serious Disney films of recent years, and that is shown through the use of man against animal, and the inhuman nature of the humans, a very serious issue and one particular shot towards the end when the gorillas are all looking down, all sitting peacefully in their trees, all quiet and minding their own business, shows them as they are, extremely beautiful animals who are being disturbed by a group of violent money thirsty selfish humans.

Its sad that there aren't many 2D animations being made now, as classics such as these look so brilliant and are basic, but with technology being so advanced, it is hard to see a way back into this brilliant format.

The soundtrack by Phil Collins is exceptional and one of the best ever created for a Disney picture.

Though the plot can be inconsistent and the direction not on top form, it is a sentimental and humours tale which examines the differences between animal and man.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tarzan Blu Ray Will You Collect??, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a first review for me, and was prompted to do so for two reasons. 1 Most of the reviews attached to this product listing are for the DVD set and NOT the blu ray! (Why do amazon do that??)and 2, the negative reviews of the transfer for those blu ray reviews that are out there.

So as someone who is an animation fan I thought I'd collect the "Disney Animation Canon" on Blu Ray especially as they are releasing them to build up a nice numbered collection. Having read a couple of reviews about flickering on the transfer of Tarzan, I was somewhat put off but decided to chance it anyway - all I can say is that if you look really hard for a small amount of flickering on the darker coloured gorillas you will find it - the thing is though, the quality of transfer is very good, well saturated colours, good sound, great sharpness, so I have a feeling that the "flicker" might well be in the technology used to "paint" in the first place rather than the transfer. That said you will have to look real hard for it and examine the film rather than watch it to even spot it! So if you are a fan of this film, Disney or animation in general, I'd reccomend it, and would not be put off by some other reviews! That said we all have our own opinions and standards!! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what DVD was made for., 3 Sep 2000
Every once in a while Disney release something special. Tarzan is indeed up there with the likes of The Lion King. This is Disney animation at its best with never before seen techniques that just blow you away. Driver and Blessed contribute some great voice work while Phil Colins' music is spot-on. The score music is also quite beautiful which adds to the great world that the animators have created. Disney have out-done themselves and Tarzan would be difficult to top. As for the DVD itself, this edition is the only one to buy with so much content. Like Men in Black and Fight Club this is how DVD's should be and it's what your player needs to be fed regularly !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film. Extras leave a lot to be desired, 13 May 2004
By 
Mr. T. Solley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being an avid Disney DVD fan I've added this Collector's addition to my collection.
The film is very good and in the typical Disney mould. There's animal's that talk and Tarzan overcomes his enemy to get the girl.
The extra's leave a lot to be desired. There's how the film was made etc, but not much for the kids, like with say Beauty & The Beast Collector's Edition.
My tip is to buy the single edition, unless your mind is set on getting every Disney DVD like me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney still knows how to entertain!, 30 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Being a Disney fan I am slightly prejudice, however sincerely this is a great film! The animation is superb bringing to life Tarzan, Jane and all the other 'secondary' Disney characters that usually steal the show. I found the film both laugh-out-loud funny as well as touching, hitting on genuinely important issues in an entertaining way. This film is a must for both the little and big kids of the family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking animation and a worthy version of the novels, 5 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Disney animation has been making progress with leaps and bounds since The Little Mermaid, but the stories have been stuck in a rut for some time now. Disney made a wise move in taking the Tarzan novels as the base for this feature - we all grew up with the character, the stories are simple but compelling and animation allowed Disney to construct a picture far beyond the limits of human actors.
Disney put their best animators on to the job and they certainly worked miracles with the source. Their Tarzan is far closer to the character in the book - moving and acting like an animal, yet somehow human underneath. Disney have probably set themselves an impossible target in beating Tarzan's animation. Drawing a person is HARD, drawing one at 25 frames a second is nearly impossible, drawing a near naked man fighting a spotted leopard in and out of shadows is just breathtaking.
Much has been made of the vaunted use of computer graphics to build the Deep Canvas backgrounds - allowing the characters to move through the jungle in 3D. It deserves every accolade - the effect is flawless, never once looking like CGI but allowing the animators to have fun with the potential in their story.
The vocal talent is equally well sourced with Minnie Driver's Jane coming across as a far more interesting female character than any recent Disney woman. The 'Tarzan, Jane' sequence is a delight and works just as well as the classic scene between Johnny Weissmuller and Maureen O'Sullivan all those years ago. And why has no one ever cast Brian Blessed in an animation before - he plays the villain like he was doing panto with great relish, although why none of the characters catch on he's a villain until much later is a mystery. Short of tying Jane to a railroad he does everything expected of a cad and a bounder...
Fortunately the cast are given an excellent script to work with that works just as well with adults as children.
I couldn't recommend Tarzan to parents of very young children, there are some very intense sequences that are possibly too scary for them - although credit to Disney for not making it a saccharine story.
The Collectors Edition includes vast and comprehensive documentation of many aspects of the development. Animation buffs will get a kick out of these materials and they are easily worth the extra cost.
Technically, the DVD is perfect, a beautiful transfer with top-notch sound and vision.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 19 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Being somebody who buys all the Disney releases as and when they come out, it was a foregone conclusion that I would get this one too. It has to be one of the greatest ever made. The extra disc, although informative, did not give much away and could perhaps have done more. One of the best things about this movie has to be the music. Phil Collins really exceeded himself on this one with superb lyrics and excellent jungle-like rythmns, the best example of which has to be "Trashin the camp".
All in all a good buy, well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back to the jungle for Disney, 25 Aug 2000
Tarzan swings into our homes with this, the latest video release from the ever-reliable Disney. You know the plot (shipwreck, kid, apes, strangers etc) and the usual Disney extras are here (villain, comedy-reliefs, songs et al) but is it any good? Yes, yes it is. Tarzan is a convincingly troubled youth struggling to fit into an environment that isn't his and Jane is a wonderfully flustered Victorian gel with a backbone strong enough to crack a coconut on. The now mandatory breath taking scene crops up a few times as Tarzan literally surfs his way through a jungle that is a perfect blend of computer and artist and the chase with the baboons...well, gave me the willies. The songs aren't as catchy as usual but then they aren't sung by the characters so fall into the "incidental music" category for the most part (in which they excel). There are one or two gruesome scenes in the movie but that's part of the fun of Disney when you're a kid, getting to see nasty stuff with your parent's permission! By Disney's standards (which are always high) this is a good movie, not great, but stands up against most of its predecessors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing Effort From Disney, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I saw Disney were releasing Tarzan on Blu-Ray I immediately ordered it, I always enjoyed the movie and based on Disney's previous efforts on the format I didn't hesitate, perhaps I should have!

Now let's get one thing straight, the picture is definitely an improvement over the previous home releases, colours are vibrant and there is a massive improvement in detail, sadly that's as positive as one can be. Image consistency is a big issue, not just from one sequence to the next but within the same scene, at it's best it's subtle, at it's worst it's like a flashing strobing effect! Whatever the case it's always there. The next problem is quite baffling given that it's a problem commonly found on DVD. Compression artifacts are prevalent in the form of macro-blocking, just watch any scene featuring Kerchak (Tarzan's adoptive Father)and it's there rearing it's ugly head, in fact anything that's darkly coloured has some macro-blocking.
It's such a shame given how promising the the image could have been had Disney put in a little effort!

Oh by the way, did I mention the sound? It's standard definition Dolby Digital, fantastic bang for your buck eh? Speaking of which don't expect much in the way of extras, Disney have scoured through their vaults to bring you: a deleted scene, Music Video & Disneypedia: Living In The Jungle.

Just one last note, if you've been dutifully collecting the Disney classics on Blu-ray, They're not doing digital copies, or those lovely slip cases anymore, just to let you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tears of joy., 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarzan (1999) Disney [DVD] (DVD)
I've cried over this countless times. The music is beautiful, one of my favourite disney films.

Jane is my girl crush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tarzan [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 2.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews