Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luscious music
This is the music you would want to play on a bright and crisp SUnday morning, with a soft spring breeze moving the curtains and the patio doors are wide open. I am no expert on classical pianists, but Mr Perahia plays velvety, rich and cristal tones. The choice of pieces moves from soft, reminiscing (Bach) to a bit more lively (Liszt). But the whole CD meanders like a...
Published on 6 Jan 2003 by fields21

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Songs Without Words
Songs without Words

Not the complete Mendelsohn cycle, which is what I was expecting; a selection mixed in with Bach Cantata arrangements for piano, and
Schubert lieder arranged by Liszt..

The performance, by Murray Perahia, not very good: surprising and disappointing..
Published 4 months ago by John Alfred Morgan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luscious music, 6 Jan 2003
By 
fields21 "fields21" (Hoogerheide, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs Without Words (Audio CD)
This is the music you would want to play on a bright and crisp SUnday morning, with a soft spring breeze moving the curtains and the patio doors are wide open. I am no expert on classical pianists, but Mr Perahia plays velvety, rich and cristal tones. The choice of pieces moves from soft, reminiscing (Bach) to a bit more lively (Liszt). But the whole CD meanders like a little stream though your room, never annoying always enchanting.
The choice of music is interesting, circumventing the obiquitous Chopin and Beethoven.
This CD is an ideal gift to anyone who likes pianomusic, or anyone starting to digest classical music (like me). Simply beatiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Ronald Harbach (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Without Words (Audio CD)
Although this is an old recording the sound is quite good. Enjoyable performance. The sleeve notes though leave a lot to be desired being not very clear to read.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful playing, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Without Words (Audio CD)
Wonderfully controlled and considered playing, perhaps a little too controlled at times, but nonetheless, always intelligent and thoughtful.
Piano playing and musicianship of a very high order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful beyond words, 14 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs Without Words (Audio CD)
this CD is so beautiful that I used it at my own wedding; it has power, lyricism and variety
Murray at his very best (and most original in terms of pieces juxtaposed)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 26 Nov 2009
By 
W. Bustard (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs Without Words (Audio CD)
I've listened to this so often and it is always a joy. And if I'm stuck for a modest gift, it's always very well received - we must have given away 8 - 10 copies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous music!, 18 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Songs Without Words (Audio CD)
I wasn't familiar with some of these pieces, but I have heard Murray Perahia playing Mozart before and I had played some of the Schubert pieces on cornet so I was intrigued. I wasn't disappointed. Good variation of tempo and dynamics and lovely to listen to whilst working
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Songs Without Words, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs Without Words (Audio CD)
Songs without Words

Not the complete Mendelsohn cycle, which is what I was expecting; a selection mixed in with Bach Cantata arrangements for piano, and
Schubert lieder arranged by Liszt..

The performance, by Murray Perahia, not very good: surprising and disappointing..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical, 15 Dec 2011
This review is from: Songs Without Words (Audio CD)
Do you sometimes want melody not the all embracing flowery stuff which can be good bad or indifferent, but top of the range creativity - try this disc to sooth your soul and not feel that the quality of the works are suspect.

These direct creations and also transcritions are wonderful, try the Schubert arr. Liszt to know that you what you will get - or just buy this as i did and be beguiled by Murray Perahia's playing, and that is just one of a dozen or more good reasons to own this disc.

Ohter discs with the same beauty are

Liszt: Harmonies du Soir

Martha Argerich and Friends - Live from Lugano 2010
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs Without Words
Songs Without Words by Murray Perahia (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews