Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLAM ROCK AT IT'S BEST
If any group epitomised the garish silliness and wild abandon of the 70's it was Sweet. with the fusion of simple catchy melodies through to the crunching fuzzy guitars which helped make arguably the definitive sound of the glam rock period. Who else would think to use fan's chanting we want Sweet on there no1 single "Teenage Rampage" This cd has it all from there no1...
Published on 28 April 2005 by jeanetteferguson1959

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this, buy the albums
I came very late to the Sweet, I was always told to listen to the LPs not the singles. A couple of years ago I did and my socks were well and truly knocked off.

Forget the Chinichap stuff, these guys rock with knobs on and bells and whistles to boot. All my buttons are pushed with the combination of exquisite musicianship, melodies, hooks, even a drum solo that...
Published on 14 July 2008 by M. D. Hewitt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLAM ROCK AT IT'S BEST, 28 April 2005
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If any group epitomised the garish silliness and wild abandon of the 70's it was Sweet. with the fusion of simple catchy melodies through to the crunching fuzzy guitars which helped make arguably the definitive sound of the glam rock period. Who else would think to use fan's chanting we want Sweet on there no1 single "Teenage Rampage" This cd has it all from there no1 smash hit "Blockbuster" to "fox on the run" Also included are there classic uk single's "hell raiser" "Wig wam bam" through to "co co" and "Funny Funny" I f you only buy 1 Sweet cd this year make it this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC GLAM ROCK FROM THE BIGGEST GLAM ROCK BAND, 23 Mar 2003
By 
TONY MAC (Bridlington, East Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
THERE ALL HERE ,GLAM ROCK CLASSICS FROM THE 1971 HIT FUNNY FUNNY TO THE GIVE US A WINK TRACK LIES IN YOUR EYES (1976)
20 TRACKS OBVIOUSLY COMPILED BY A NON-SWEET FAN. NEW YORK CONNECTION,REFLECTIONS AND PEPPERMINT TWIST COULD HAVE EASILY BEEN REPLACED WITH SOLID GOLD BRASS,SWEET FA AND THE LEGENDRY SOMEONE ELSE WILL BUT ITS NOT A BAD ATTEMPT.ROCK AND ROLL DISGRACE AND DONE ME WRONG ALL RIGHT REPRESENT CLASSIC B-SIDES.
FIVE NUMBER TWOS,CO-CO,HELLRAISER,BALLROOM BLITZ,FOX ON THE RUN(BEST VERSION ON THE DESOLATION BOULEVARD ALBUM)AND THE BRILLIANT TEENAGE RAMPAGE APPEAR,AS DO TWO NUMBER FOURS LITTLE WILLY AND WIG-WAM BAM AND OF COURSE THE BOYS' ONLY UK NO.1 BLOCKBUSTER.
DESCRIBED IN THE GUINESS BOOK AS "GLAM ROCK GIANTS" STEVE PREIST,ANDY SCOTT,MICK TUCKER AND BRIAN CONNELLY BROUGHT FANTASTIC ESCAPEISM TO THE EARLY AND MID-SEVENTIES.
A MUST HAVE FIRST CD FOR ANYONE CHECKING OUT 'GLAM ROCK'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars F-Foxy, Fox on the Run and Hide Away, 5 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Sweet represented Glam Rock at its most extreme and silly but with a lot of great music.

The main highlights are Ballroom Blitz, Wigwam Bam and the outstanding, forgotten classic Fox on the Run. Blockbuster and Little Willy are other fine songs. In truth, the whole album is a fine collection of top glam rock. Great music for driving and going to work to get you up in the morning.

While not quite as great as many other top rock bands on the 1970s it is well worth buying, for the sheer fun of it alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SWEET (The Greatest Hiits), 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I always liked the Sweet so being able to listen to their original recordings again gave me much pleasure. They brought back some nice memories from the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want the big hits of the Sweet then this is the album for you!, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I love this band!Even though I was very young when they were about I can still remember vividly
watching them on top of the pops. Motley Crue must have loved them to? Teenage Rampage-Fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
a brilliant cd. my daughter is ten and she loves it.we listen to it in the car and it makes boring journeys fun just singing along to it. it takes you back to your youth and music was better then its good now but better then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweets greatest, 25 Nov 2011
By 
robbo "apr" (Nottingham,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Anyone who remembers the sweet will love this, all their big hits are here, Blockbuster,Teenage rampage,ballroom blitz and a lot of early stuff you dont get to here nowdays like Co Co. roll back the years with this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remembered all the words like it was yesterday!!, 16 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Bought this for my Mum, but found myself singing along to all the words. Where did those years go - how on earth do you remember songs like Wig Wam Bam from 1970's?

Great fun, thoroughly enjoyed the CD. Well worth a fiver!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recognise your age it's a teenage rampage, 27 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
if you had to pick any band that defined the glam rock era in the uk then you would have to pick SWEET.these guys were the best of their time and despite ot inspite of the top song writing team of the 70's chinn and chapman (nicky chinn and mike chapman)working with them these guys were destined for greatness...........AND YOU KNOW WHAT THEY ACHIEVED IT...this collection is good but really doesn't tell the whole sweet story (and what a story it was )if you want to re call the early 70's glam or want to introduce a youngster to the era then get this collection but then go get the weinerworld dvd and sweet fanny adams cd then your talking SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!without chinn and chapman would they have had the big early 70's hits maybe no................would they have gone on to be a stadium band with their own material OH YES!but why detract from this collection?buy it and enjoy because it's good and then go by the other stuff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet but incomplete, 11 July 2007
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Sweet was one of the most successful UK bands of the 1970s. Their first hit was 1971's Funny Funny, a singalong bubblegum ditty. That same year they had another huge success with the clever pop number Coco, a song about a gibbon with sweet hooks and gorgeous harmonies. As the 1970s progressed, their sound evolved into a type of bubblegum metal, power pop or glamrock.

They always had the best hooks, their harmonies were tops and the expert production assured them regular top 10 status for a good many years. Songs like Blockbuster, Hell Raiser, Ballroom Blitz, Fox On The Run and Teenage Rampage are rowdy and tuneful little teen anthems which still sound fresh today.

Not everything here is great, since Poppa Joe, Alexander Graham Bell, Little Willy and Wig Wam Bam are disposable and lightweight pop. The worst omissions (not sure if they were all released as singles) are Restless, Set Me Free, Sweet FA, Mother Earth and their huge 1978 hit Love Is Like Oxygen.

The superior Sweet collection from the glam era and late 1970s when their sound gained a harder edge, is titled The Best of Sweet whilst the album of choice for the early pop period plus some memorable album tracks is Very Best of Sweet. Although it isn't comprehensive, this Greatest Hits album does contain most of their most successful songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greatest Hits
The Greatest Hits by Sweet (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews