Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic
Released in amongst the misty haze of the hard-step/tech-step bad company era of drum & bass, Molten beats is such a well crafted album it's surprising it never had more of an impact. With the premium production farm that is 'Ram Trilogy', expect here well crafted b-lines, catchy rifts and minimal vocals - if none at all (a fading trend in Ram material). I would...
Published on 7 April 2006 by phil cooper

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars computer says.....noooo
on the positive side, there is at least a hint of what people who really like music call a 'song.' theres a few warbly things flying around and a couple of tracks are pretty damn good, evolution is probably the standout. but then you get to the end and think can i remember any other standouts? not really, it all sounds too similiar unfortunately.

this is...
Published on 16 Jun 2007 by Nomessingabout


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic, 7 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Molten Beats [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Released in amongst the misty haze of the hard-step/tech-step bad company era of drum & bass, Molten beats is such a well crafted album it's surprising it never had more of an impact. With the premium production farm that is 'Ram Trilogy', expect here well crafted b-lines, catchy rifts and minimal vocals - if none at all (a fading trend in Ram material). I would seriously recommend this album, although vinyl purists take heed - some killers missing of the acetate release... reach for the cd with full listings and mix by 'The Executioner' himself. Class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The RAM Trilogy do it again. Blazing beats and brassic bass., 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Molten Beats [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is the second album to come out of the Hornchurch hood. It is less diverse than their first album offering, but nonetheless excellent.
Andy C, Ant Miles, Shimon, and the rest of the crew have still produced a monster of a second album. From the massive opener - "Evolution" a lighter rolling more funk fuelled tune to the dark rolling bass of "Human Future" this album should certainly not be overlooked.
The standout tracks are the aforementioned; along with "Terminal 2" - with it's monsterous vortex bassline, "Both Worlds" - a pulsating stormer of a tune, and "Flip the Traps" - slightly disjointed but exceedingly funky.
In my opinion, you can't really go wrong with RAM records. Even the tracks I haven't mentioned are blinding. "Iron Lung" certainly being my favourite best of the rest!
Overall this is a simply stunning second album, a little bit repetitive in places, but no one track lets it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Class, 10 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Molten Beats (Audio CD)
This has gotta be one of the finest drum 'n bass albums of all time, a must have for any fans of the genre. wicked b-lines and stonking beats a-plenty. mind-blowingly good tracks like snake bite, time chambers and system error (y2k) ooze class....beautiful. superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get loose, 9 Dec 2002
By 
S. Wood (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Molten Beats (Audio CD)
Its got dimension and originality, awsome b-lines, and as the title suggests, really flows. Brings out the best of the ram sound. 'Human Future' is a classic in my opinion. This album forces you to move, grin slapped accross face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars computer says.....noooo, 16 Jun 2007
This review is from: Molten Beats (Audio CD)
on the positive side, there is at least a hint of what people who really like music call a 'song.' theres a few warbly things flying around and a couple of tracks are pretty damn good, evolution is probably the standout. but then you get to the end and think can i remember any other standouts? not really, it all sounds too similiar unfortunately.

this is supposed to be moody and atmospheric i know, but really it ends up sounding miserable because it lacks punch and depth. i recommend buying ed rush and nico's torque for moody dark dnb along the same lines except it makes the hairs on your neck stand up. this is a bit of a wet and whimpy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard Drum and Bass, 31 Jan 2000
This review is from: Molten Beats (Audio CD)
I like this. I don't have much drum and bass, some Goldie mainly, so I'm no definitive word on the sound. However, this works for me, just sit back and get into that bass line. Good value considering there's around 130 minutes of music here, even if it does kinda sound the same most of the time. Maybe a bit of variation instead of that banging drum beat right through the album?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Drum and bass album going., 11 Feb 2004
By 
AC Hawes (Weymouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Molten Beats (Audio CD)
The best, heaviest, drum and bass album to you could buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Molten Beats
Molten Beats by Ram Trilogy (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews