Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Issues: Different, but all the better for it!
"Issues" is not the self-titled, nor is it "Life Is Peachy" or "Follow The Leader". Issues is an amalgamation of that triplet, with many new and amazing sounds thrown in for good measure. "Issues", overall, is fairly different to the other three albums, but it can easily be said that Korn have developed and expanded their sound...
Published on 24 Sep 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but far from top form...
I guess it depends on what you want from Korn, but this album left me wanting. It's good, I still listen to it from time to time, but it's not Korn at their best by far! It's more melodic and lot "nicer".

I like the rawness and grit of Korn and Life is Peachy... Even Follow the Leader has an edge that this lacks.

But there ARE some good tracks and...
Published on 20 May 2007 by Ms. E. L. Bullimore


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Issues: Different, but all the better for it!, 24 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
"Issues" is not the self-titled, nor is it "Life Is Peachy" or "Follow The Leader". Issues is an amalgamation of that triplet, with many new and amazing sounds thrown in for good measure. "Issues", overall, is fairly different to the other three albums, but it can easily be said that Korn have developed and expanded their sound noticeably with every new offering. This album should not be put down for being different to the other three, as it has elements that are easily linkable with them, but has many new, exciting and brilliant-sounding ideas in there. The album opens showcasing Jonathan's bagpipe playing abilities in "Dead", and stays consistantly different from everything else available throughout the entire album.
There are, it could be said, "typical" Korn songs in here, but none of them are without a sort of shine that is not present in any of the other albums. 4U, on the other hand, is a very different beast. This track sounds like nothing else produced by Korn, and might seem too tame or "strange" to some, but I believe it is one of the highlights of the album. "Hey Daddy" is another prime example; it sounds very different to any of their other works, but is the best track of the entire album in my opinion. Munky and Head put the trademark seven stringed guitars to good use throughout the track, and create some truly amazing-sounding sequences. Jonathan's vocal talents are also employed brilliantly, ranging from soft to heavy throughout the track, and a very effective distortion is placed upon his voice at one point. In fact, the whole group is put through their paces in this song, and come out sounding their best yet.
Jonathan is also on top form in the lyrics department, presenting us with the familiar emotions of hate, anguish, pain and sadness, which sounds through in many of the tracks. "Make Me Bad", a fairly "typical" Korn song, it could be said, is an excellent example of this, with a typically dark, sinister overtone.
"Issues" is standard Korn stuff; only more advanced! Korn are not ones to be known for their steadfastness - they're forever moving, forever developing. People who put this album down for not being like the self-titled need to take note of a comment by Head - they've moved on. These "fans" are not really fans of Korn, they are fans of hard metal. True Korn fans will see the brilliance, the genius of "Issues". It is a truly unique album, and has pride of place in my collection. Highly recommended, worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 27 Jun 2006
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
this album has a lot more soul and melody than its three predecessors and yet it still manages to carry over the emotion and in some parts, the anger of the first two albums. you can listen to this one however you like? sit back and relax or jump around and tear your hair out to lose some frustration. highlights on this album include falling away from me, trash, make me bad, no way and Dirty amongst many others. theres also the good old bag pipes thrown in for good measure. this is a brilliant album and korn fan or not, you cant go far wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't follow the leader - THIS is the best Korn album!, 4 July 2011
By 
theone&only (March, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
It would have been easy for Korn to mess this up. Their massive selling 'Follow the Leader' album came out just one year before this and made them household names in America. So quite why they brought this out so soon after is a mystery. How they pulled off another mega selling album with such a change of sound is remarkable. Personally, I get the feeling that after 'FTL' with its manufactured 'homeboy' image, Korn realised they would only have limited appeal so they changed direction and brought out THIS. And thank the Lord they did! It would have been easy for Korn to continue down the sports-metal route but they went darker and even more introspective (which coming from them is saying a lot!) Interlude songs like 'Dead' and '4 U' are some of the most compelling things here and show the way to the new Korn sound. The best songs are stuff like 'Hey Daddy' and 'Counting' which occur near the end of the album and show Korn are no longer afraid of mixing up their albums as they now posess the quality songwriting to let them do what they want. It was quite a brave feat for Korn to bring this out, they could have made a nice album but instead they got more sinister and twisted and heavy. Metal would never be the same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but far from top form..., 20 May 2007
By 
Ms. E. L. Bullimore "elle" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
I guess it depends on what you want from Korn, but this album left me wanting. It's good, I still listen to it from time to time, but it's not Korn at their best by far! It's more melodic and lot "nicer".

I like the rawness and grit of Korn and Life is Peachy... Even Follow the Leader has an edge that this lacks.

But there ARE some good tracks and it's worth listening to. Just if you happen to be a fan of the first two albums, this will leave you wanting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JippinJim, 11 Nov 2003
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
KoRns gratest album 2date and far better than untouchables so if u like untouchables get this (not that untouchables is bad). it has the heavy sound of the 1st record but its much darker and it does make you think. the way all the instruments go 2gether with feildys trademark bass slapping. and jon davis's voice has so many dimensions. its a must have 4 any KoRn fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Dec 2000
By A Customer
I only began to listen to Korn when i was told that their style of music was very similar to Limp Bizkit's earlier stuff, so i purchased this album, and i am glad i did. It is an absolutely amazing album and the second song "falling away from me" is one of the best songs by the band. One thing that really pleases me about the band is that they have two guitarists which increases the quality of the songs. Other stand out tracks include, "beg for me" and "wake up". I can't wait to buy my next album, and advise any lover of hardcore rock to buy this album, Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing!, 14 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This album is incredible!I never thought there would be a better album than follow the leader but i was wrong. Everything on this is brilliant:the guitars , john davies's lyrics(which do get especially wierd on issues)Make me bad is easily the best track
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Masterpiece, 23 Aug 2000
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
After the success of Follow The Leader the question was could KoRn top it, the answer oh yes they could, Issues is a sleaker monster then issues with even more grooves and phat riffs, but also loads of excellent experimental pieces, such as the chilled out tones of "4 U" sounding more like Massive Attack then KoRn, they show that they are growing more and more musically all the time, that doesnt mean to say KoRn have gone soft, the likes of "Falling Away From Me," "Beg For Me," "Wake Up," and "Somebody Someone," should quash any thoughts of that cannot wait for the fifth album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy and depressing... perfect, then!, 19 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
Korn's newest album to date, and one of their best, along with their self titled debut. The best songs are Make Me Bad, Falling Away From Me, Somebody Someone and Let's Get This Party Started. Beginning with Dead, which shows Jonathan Davis' bagpipe skills, and ending with a few minutes of white noise (seems boring, but an effective way to end), the style of songs are different to their older work, but still as good. I would definitely recommend it to people who like semi-heavy music, although if you're into heavier stuff try Fear Factory or Sepultura. Issues is an AMAZING CD - GET IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this Korn lovers!, 6 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Issues (Audio CD)
Korn lovers Rejoyce! This album makes up for the failure that was Follow the leader. The previous album led me to lose faith with Korn but then they return with this beauty! It contains typical Korn heavy chorus` and soft verses. There are a few warped out mental songs but it all adds to the atmosphere of the album. If you are a Korn lover, if you liked Follow the leader you will LOVE this! A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Issues
Issues by Korn (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews