Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black President, 24 Feb. 2009
By 
Xepha (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Of Fela Kuti (Audio CD)
This is the perfect introduction to Fela Kuti, with about two and a half hours of great music. If you're not familiar with Fela, his afrobeat sound consists of hypnotic heavy funk grooves of drums, bass and horns with jazz solos over the top. Most of his tracks are very long, therefore this compilation is made mostly of edits and 'part 2's, but don't be put off because that's the only way to put together a representative sample of Fela's long career and many, many albums.

It's also worth pointing out that a compilation called Music Is The Weapon has the same track listing on 2 CDs and also includes a documentary DVD, so you might find that is the better purchase. The DVD is also available on its own, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Music, 17 Jan. 2010
By 
V. Viswanathan "Vishvesh" (Salmiya, Kuwait) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best Of Fela Kuti (Audio CD)
Great way to Discover Fela if one is not familiar about his music. Every track pulsates with great music. Lady, Coffin for the head of State, Gentleman, Zombie, to name few defines Fela as not only as a great musician but also as a social commentator
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 10 May 2003
By 
This review is from: The Best of Fela Kuti (Audio CD)
If you like world music, jazz or funk - this is the album for you. Relentless high energy with some tracks going on for near-20 minutes each! Combined in Fela's life story (outlined on the sleeve), you'll be hooked.
Fela's gone now, but his son Femi is keeping the sound alive and contemporary with other great releases and rare live UK performances. But it was his daddy set the standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music, 17 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Fela Kuti (Audio CD)
I purchased this album after seeing Fela the play at the National. This ablum has the prefect mix of jazz, funk and african music combined. Since I have purchased the album I have not stopped playing it and it is wonderful to dance to. Highly recommended if you like this type of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful! I bought it by chance... and was really lucky, 27 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Fela Kuti (Audio CD)
When you are stuck somewhere waiting for a train or a plane browsing in a record store is always good. When you stumble across something like this it becomes more than that. I picked this up, read the sleeve notes, and wondered why I had never heard of the guy. The sleeve sparked my interest, and when I got home and played it I loved it. The track that stands out for me is Lady, but all are great. Its an album that you put on load when you come home from work. Songs build up slow, with strong rhythms developing, fat instrumentation, and ultimately deep lead vocals and contrasting backing... A real pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A music gem, 21 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Fela Kuti (Audio CD)
I bought the CD knowing fully well the absolute worth of fela kuti. The compilation encompassed the very best of fela's music genuis and foresight.I really enjoyed all the tracks and the messages conveyed in the music still
makes sense and nothing but rocket sense. It remains a calamity that Africans everywhere continue to allow worst atrocities to be heaped upon them by their pseudo-political elites who are all destined to meet their fate on day.

Long live abami eda omo anikulapo!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars African Rhythms, 6 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Fela Kuti (Audio CD)
I bought this for the track Roforofo fight,its taken me nearly 30 years to find it as the orginal vinyl was rare and hard to come by.The CD is packed with brilliant tunes,Fela Kuti returns the rhythms of jazz back to its African roots. A band leader, composer and master of the Saxaphone with that distinctive rasping tone. An absolute must have CD. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 8 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Best Of Fela Kuti (Audio CD)
Wow! How come I've not met afrobeat before? I 'discovered' it when I went to see Fela the musical (2x !) and just had to search out the music afterwards. I was guided by other reviews that this would be the ideal album for newcomers to this type of music and agree. It's a 2 cd set with 13 good length tracks. I'd defy anyone to keep still when it's playing. Even my 4 year old grandson couldn't help dancing! (I had to be selective with the tracks when he was around because of some adult lyrics tho'.). Will be looking out for more.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 20 Mar. 2010
This was nostalgic for those of us who knew the musician personally in his prime. The recording is clean and sharp. Thank you for a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anti-authority Afro Funk at its best!, 6 Feb. 2002
By 
Darryl Still "daxvondrac" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Fela Kuti (Audio CD)
The death of any major artists always causes a major re-evaluation of their work. Whether Fela Anikulapo Kuti would consider his music of more importance than his political harrassment of the forces that he felt were holding his country (and continent) back, we will never know. But his music is the only legacy we have, which makes it extra fortunate that there is so much of it and that it is so damned fine. Almost every track on this excellent value for money double CD runs well into double figures in minutes racked up. Early period masterpieces like Lady and Zombie still sound as funky today as they did when first released and some of the mid period political tunes get a highlight too, such as Coffin for Head of State and Army Arrangement. Put the CD's on and sit back for the evening. This is music for all the senses. Jazz, Funk, Afrobeat and pure dance bliss.
Fela Kuti is second only to Miles Davis is his importance to the world he inhabited. May he funk in his heaven! He rool cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Fela Kuti
The Best of Fela Kuti by Fela Kuti (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews