Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best N64 game.
This game was probably my most anticipated N64 game along with Zelda, and even with my high expectations I was pleasantly surprised. If you enjoyed GoldenEye, Rare's other FPS on N64, then you'll love this. To start with, the graphics are the best on N64 with rooms lighting up with gunshots and really nicely animated characters. The sounds are perfect- the music suits the...
Published on 14 Nov 2004

versus
3 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The biggest anti-climax of my life
I love Goldeneye. I have played it to bits since the day it ame into the shops. Talk of a sequel excited me. Everyone loved it. I DIDN'T!!!!!!!!! Don't bother with this game. Rare have fixed what weren't broke and now it IS broke. Reloading takes a ridiculous amount of time, you need to buy an expansion pak to play the single player missions, split-screen graphics are...
Published on 9 Jun 2001


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best N64 game., 14 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfect Dark (N64) (Video Game)
This game was probably my most anticipated N64 game along with Zelda, and even with my high expectations I was pleasantly surprised. If you enjoyed GoldenEye, Rare's other FPS on N64, then you'll love this. To start with, the graphics are the best on N64 with rooms lighting up with gunshots and really nicely animated characters. The sounds are perfect- the music suits the level or situation and the thing missing from GoldenEye- voices are now there and it all sounds natural.
The thing that makes it stand out from lots of other games is that it has features like real time lighting so you can shoot out the lights, and shoot weapons out of people's hands etc. that aren't there to make the mission progress, they're just there to enjoy and mess around with (unlike Splinter Cell etc. where its necessary and feels forced and just there as a feature to show off about).
The single player main game is really good and an improvement on GoldenEye in most ways except theres less stealth, and I'm not a big fan of the aliens on the later levels, but even these I enjoy alot, I just find it less satisfying. Aside from the main game, there are the multiplayer modes and challenges you can do alone too because now up to 8 "simulants" can play too- either for or against you. Having them on your team is better than games now even, because you can give orders to individual simulants, telling them specifically who to attack or defend or to complete an objective, and its all really easy to do. The challenges are get really hard towards the end and could be a game in themselves, so you will have alot to do even if no-one elso wants to play(!!!).
Multiplayer is where its really fun though, 2 players can do a co-operative or counter operative version of the single player missons (a single player can do co-op with a simulant too), and while this is very fun, the game gets a little jerky on some of the bigger levels. Up to 4 players can do the challenges too, but the main attraction is a deathmatch where you can all (+up to 8 simulants) can just compete like GoldenEye for the most kills. The objective can be changed to other things like pop a cap (killing a specific target), one hit kills, data uplink, and other things, also you can have teams split how you want, and weapons individually selected. Also the simulants can be changed to a variety of personalities- vengeful, going for the weakest player, coward etc. as well as meat-easy-normal-hard-perfect-dark difficulty settings. The multiplayer games are the most customisable I've seen- even more than TimeSplitters2 so you can play alot of variations.
With the masses of weapons, levels, challenges, cheats to unlock, etc. (even a target shooting game) this will last for ages and ages, I still play it now sometimes and its several years after its release!
Graphics 5/5
Sound 5/5 meaty weapons, great music, and good voice acting
Lifespan 5/5
Minuses- needs N64 expansion pak to work the main game, I don't like the aliens that much, but theyre a very minor complaint.
My verdict= get, get, GET!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT GAME, 29 Nov 2000
By 
W2K (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perfect Dark (N64) (Video Game)
Rare got it 100% right when called this game Perfect Dark. Stunning visuals,amazing gameplay and a one player mode that will keep you going for months(although in most cases years). If your lucky enough to have four friends and four controllers, your in for the biggest multiplayer treat of your lives, with four humans and up to eight computer simulants at one time, it's as fun as it's hectic. The game has a very good learning curve, the earlier levels will teach you all the skills you need to know and the later levels will force you to use them. Rare may have spent 3 years plus making this game, this may seem a long time, but the geniuses at rares headquaters in Twcross have literally stuffed the huge cartridge with things to do. From the target range to the hand to hand combat, the Carrington Institute is perfect for honing in your skills for the one player game. My only complaint is that it has an 18 certificate, sure there's plenty of blood and the guards let out realistic cries before they die, but all younger fans who enjoyed goldeneye (just about everyone), will have to hope their parents don't mind a bit of gore and by it for them. This is a must have for all N64 owners, and to all you playstation owners out there (theres quite a few, myself included), nothing on your console even comes close, so go get yourself an N64, there going quite cheap(I've seen them for just £35) and it would be worth it if even just for this game. ...may sound like alot, but your investing in another Rare master piece, and with plenty to do you'll soon realise what a good investment it is. Buy it now, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Dark- a must for FPS fans, 21 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfect Dark (N64) (Video Game)
i got PD the day it came out and haven't regretted buying it at all! Having played through and completing Goldeneye i needed a new challenge and PD was the answer. It is very easy to get into since the controls are almost identical to those of Goldeneye, it boasts many more features than GE and looks better to boot! I have completed the single player missions in PD (took a while) and have to say that, although they are very good and well designed, u may not go back to them! The killer app of PD is the 4 player multiplayer mode, which u will keep coming back to again and again! The multiplayer mode (combat simulator) in PD is massively improved over the one seen in GE. There are many more levels to play on, more weapons, more team based and everyman for himself games and u can add up to 8 simulants (computer controlled opponents) of all difficulty levels!
The 18+ reting of PD i think is a little exaggerated because the violence isn't exactly like Soldier of Fortune, i think a 15+ rating would have been better suited to this game!
So, if u have an N64 and haven't already got this game then i'd recommend getting it (if ur over 18) cos it is one of the best games on the N64! Thanx 4 your time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The baddest 3D shoot-em-up in the world ever 2, 29 Oct 2001
By 
Some guy (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perfect Dark (N64) (Video Game)
This game is fantastic. I'm saying this, and yet 65% of the game isn't available to me, as I'm still waiting on an expansion pack. Even so, both the challenges and 2 player mode are great. The challenges give you something... well, challenging; both for one player or two. Other than that, you can set up everything and play. By this i mean you can select which weapons, which arena, how many baddies, how many team mates, mission objectives.... Basically, set it up how you want, grab a friend and get playing. I can't wait until i finally get this ellusive expansion pack and get to check out the other 65% of the game i'm unable to play now. Expansion pack or no, you need to buy this game. If you thought Golden Eye was good, wait until you see just how much better Perfect Dark is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best FPS ever. No, really., 3 Aug 2005
This review is from: Perfect Dark (N64) (Video Game)
5 years after release, my videogame career sadly must end. However, before it did, I decided to play Perfect Dark once more, on the hardest difficulty - Perfect Agent. It's something I did for GoldenEye but never got round to on PD - perhaps because I was having too much fun with the multiplayer (this is THE best game to play with friends, bar none).
When I did, I found a whole new dimension to the single player, one which completely passes you by on the easier settings. Clearly the game was designed to be played on Perfect Agent - the missions are perfectly balanced; very challenging but never impossible, and it forces you to devise a strategy for completion rather than just running to the end. When two mistakes will cost you the entire mission, you have to plan ahead to conserve health. The single player absolutely blows GoldenEye out of the water in this respect - I completed that on 00 Agent and, although extremely tough, it was just the easy mode made harder. On PD, it's the other way round.
The multiplayer is what gives the game it's extreme longevity, and the reason I will never throw away my N64. The many hours spent playing it with three friends were unforgettable - we even sneaked the N64 into school to play it during breaks and free lessons. I shouldn't have to explain, since everyone already knows how great it is.
In conclusion, if you missed this game somehow, you should buy a vintage N64 off someone and play it. You could probably get both for £40 - and this puts modern games to shame. Best FPS Ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Even Better", 27 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfect Dark (N64) (Video Game)
When Rare's GoldenEye came out everyone thought it was probably the best shoot 'em up of all time. But now with Perfect Dark here everything has changed. With better music, graphics, gameplay and options, this is without a doubt the best of Rare's many games. It has everything you hoped for and more. If you had to get only one game for your Nintendo 64, this would have to be it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect!!, 25 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfect Dark (N64) (Video Game)
This game is the best ever in the history if Nintendo. The graphics brillient, better than most playstation games, and the story lines are so original! Perfect Dark feels like it should be a film, if you have a nintendo64 and you haven't got it then go and buy it now. Really you haven't lived until you see what nintendo can do!
Nearly every detail is perfect. The detail of the guns and settings are the best you can get. She even punches people! Remember Bonds rather pussy slapping in 'Goldeneye'? and the way he punched from his ears in 'The world is not enough'? Well Joanna in Perfect Dark is so much better!
So, just to recap: perfect graphics, perfect storylines and perfect characters. Flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How could it be?, 20 May 2001
By 
Andy Wills (gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perfect Dark (N64) (Video Game)
O.k ive had perfect dark since a few days after the UK lauch and still im not finished playing with it... over 200 hours on Solo mode and ive only just finished it when it only took me a couple of weeks light playing to finish Goldeneye... i couldn't believe how amazing this game is, it almost goes to far with the amazing gameplay, graphics, huge range of weapons and gadgets and voice overs...the realistic AI and vast, beautifully made levels.. diferent objectives for different levels... a truly exciting experience...
The multiplayer also just creates an amazing sense of being there, the heat of the battles, the realistic enviroments. the ability to choose your own multiplayer character and change the name. just having 4 players is good enough but its great having the chance to add up to 8 extra computer controled characters at a set difficulty of personality... having the multiplayer can just be viewed in one ways as an added bonus to an already amazing game and what a bonus it is!! this game really is PERFECT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Dark, 18 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfect Dark (N64) (Video Game)
The N64 has had a unhappy life, shunned by many wanted by only a few. Games have been few and far between, due to the fact of the difficulty and time it takes to develope using the hardware. Only a handful of games have been true classics and this is one of them. Following from the success of Goldeneye (which practically kept the N64 alive) rare knew they had a hit on their hands. The plot follows a secret agent on a mission to stop the world being invaded by the evil Skedar. With the expansion pak the graphics are brilliant although the frame rate is a bit dodgy. The sheer ammount of weapons and gadgets available is good in itself, but coupled with non-linear missions and fantastic enemy AI it is a cracker. The action is intense, fighting ailens, FBI, coppers and some blonde guys whilst completing objectives is more than enough to keep you occupied. The ammount of modes to play in is massive as well, multiplayer, bots, challenges and co op and counter op is more than enough to keep you occupied. All in all a sound game, worthy enough a place in the gamers hall of fame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 7 Aug 2000
By 
JonBoy (Birmingham(England)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perfect Dark (N64) (Video Game)
Well, we waited almost 3 years for it. And boy was it worth the wait. After Turok 2 and Quake 2 I was a bit sceptical when I heard of the 'aliens' and having to battle with them. However Rare pulled it off very well.
Dispite what other people may think, I think that the story line is brilliant (Probably because I am a big fan of the X-files).
I would also like to take this moment to praise Rare for creating such an excellent multiplayer mode. Having realised that Goldeneye's multiplayer drew the crowds in, Rare decided to make a multiplayer mode we would never forget, and so they have. It's brilliant, so many options and levels (Even some of the old classics!), and the simulants, brilliant idea and even better to play against (Or with!).
In conclusion, if you own an N64 then you should have already got the game and be sharing in it's glory. And if not, go buy an N64 and an expansion pack, and the game, it's well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Dark (N64)
Perfect Dark (N64) by Nintendo (Nintendo 64)
£49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews