Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - I'm going ape!
What can I say. If you own an N64 and haven't got this, get it. It has superb graphics for the N64, the controls are suprisingly good, and the gameplay is solid platforming action, only to be matched by the platforming marvel that was Mario 64. It is a massive game, with lots to collect and do. Probably the fourth best game on the N64. Hopefully Nintendo will make some...
Published on 1 Jan. 2007 by Beechy

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so hot
This is not a great game! Sorry but it's not, comparing it to Mario 64 is beyond silly.

It admittedly starts alright but it quickly becomes a repetitive process of running from one area through a corridor to another area, shooting some switches and collecting some items to unlock the next corridor to the next area.

The best platform game by rare for...
Published on 13 Mar. 2011 by fredthe3rd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - I'm going ape!, 1 Jan. 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong 64 (N64) (Video Game)
What can I say. If you own an N64 and haven't got this, get it. It has superb graphics for the N64, the controls are suprisingly good, and the gameplay is solid platforming action, only to be matched by the platforming marvel that was Mario 64. It is a massive game, with lots to collect and do. Probably the fourth best game on the N64. Hopefully Nintendo will make some sort of sequel for the cube or Wii. I can only hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Along with Mario 64, the best of the N64!, 23 July 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong 64 (N64) (Video Game)
Quite simply, a stunning game from start to.. well.. (I was so close to the end, but never got 100%)

Just like mario 64, the colouful graphics and beautiful scenery is like fresh air in gaming terms, and its all round the perfect game. Its by no means short either, despite being a 'meaty' game in terms of information. It took me months to get near the end, and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Absoultely superb - a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game, 31 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Donkey Kong 64 (N64) (Video Game)
When I first got this game I was absolutly stunned by the graphics. The detail and time that has gone into this game was well worth the 4 year wait. The game starts by showing you a small opening sequence in which a mechanical island with king K-rool and his lizard henchmen advances towards DK island. Just as it gets close the island has a fault and stops. When the game starts there is a good tutorial world when you meet cranky and find out that all the other kongs have been monkeynapped by K-Rool. The best thing that I liked about this game was that it wasn't just a Banjo-kazooie clone it had its own moves its own theme so it was very interesting to play, and with other 100 mini games you will never get bored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kong-Sized Fun, 28 Nov. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong 64 (N64) (Video Game)
This is one of the biggest games on the N64 and also one of the best. Rare bring their distinctive visuals, gameplay and humour. It marries the visual heritage of the SNES's Donkey Kong Country with the gameplay of Banjo Kazooie and unsurprisingly, it's a winning combination.

There are five controllable characters, all with their own unique abilities, bolstered by guns and musical instruments which give further special moves and are upgradable. These characters and their abilities are unlocked as you progress through the game, leading you back to replay levels, opening up new areas for exploration.

What defines DK64 most is it's focus on collecting: the main focus of collection are golden bananas which are used to unlock new levels and ultimately the final boss fight. There are 200-odd of these to get in total and although you don't need them all to finish the game, to complete the game properly and get the proper ending you will need all 200. Some of these can be unlocked in the central hub but most are gained from challenges in the levels themselves. As well as these challenges, there are 100 coloured bananas (akin to Mario's coins) for each character to collect on every level. These bananas are used to open up the boss fights that open up new areas in the hub. Each level also has a blue-print for each character which can be exchanged for a golden banana. Beyond this, there are 20 fairies to photograph and "rareware" coins connected to retro games like the original Donkey Kong & Jet Pack.

It's an awful lot for one game and Rare occasionally resort to repetition to complete the challenges: for many challenges you must get to a certain point where you enter a barrel. Said barrel contains a timed challenge (e.g. herding crocodiles down a hole) to win that banana. This is fine a few times but each game is repeated at some point for each character. As well as meaning you're forced to play frustrating minigames over and over it also feels uninspired and lazy.

Also frustrating are the retro games. While the nostalgia is initially appealing, actually playing the game makes you realise how frustrating those old games were. This wouldn't matter, except you have to play them.

Finally, the multiplayer add-on is, frankly, contemptible, there purely to advertise the game as 1-4 players. If you have Goldeneye or Mario Kart there's no reason to consider playing it. The various timed challenges are better, light-weight affairs that are ok to pick up but nothing essential. All in, these are throw-away extras that really aren't needed in a game that's arguably too big to start with.

Ultimately the wealth of challenges on offer is also the games Achilles heal. A good amount of originality and occasional genius is diluted by repetition. Make no mistake, however; DK64 remains one of the best 3D platform games around, bested only by Mario and Banjo Kazooie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this World!, 25 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Donkey Kong 64 (N64) (Video Game)
Out all the nintendo 64 games I have ever played none comes close to DK64. This gigantic adventure features fantastic graphics, a great soundtrack and excellent gameplay. It's also great value, due to the shear size of the game it will last a long time! An absolute must for any platform-game lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong 64 (N64) (Video Game)
Oh happy day! I loved this game when it first came out and it's gameplay is still great. I had not realised how much I had missed those monkeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but equally monotinous, 6 May 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Donkey Kong 64 (N64) (Video Game)
i love DK64, it is brilliant and so much fun (even if the final boss fight drives me to the brink of insanity) but it is let down by the fact that there are TOO MANY COLLECTABLES. it is definitley a fun game which is incredibly clever, but the collectables make the game too monotinous to be a truly enjoyable game. Definitley get this game, but be prepared to commit a lot of time if you want to complete the game. p.s - if you hate the original donkey kong like myself, good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 2 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Donkey Kong 64 (N64) (Video Game)
great game! loved it as a kid and still love it now.
really quick delivery and very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donkey Kong 64 for Nintendo., 5 Jan. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donkey Kong 64 (N64) (Video Game)
Been wanting a nintendo since I was younger and have been dying to play this game for so many years. I can now enjoy my own game, came in brilliant condition and came fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What you've come to expect from a Rare game, 9 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Donkey Kong 64 (N64) (Video Game)
Donkey Kong Country on the SNES is my all time favourite computer game, so I bought this as soon as it came out. While it's not as good as said SNES game it comes quite close.
As you've come to expect from Rare, the graphics are excellent and the playablity is top notch. The only complaint that I have with this games is that some of the camera angles are a bit awkward, but that is only some of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Donkey Kong 64 (N64)
Donkey Kong 64 (N64) by Nintendo (Nintendo 64)
Used & New from: £20.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews