Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the greatest MC of our time...
Biggie is one of my great influences in my everyday life. His lyrics are depicted from his personal view of the world he was living in and they make you think "why and how is the world you are living in". Purchase this amazing album and you'll enjoy re-makings of his greatest lyrics and rap music of our time. With various artists in this album such as Method Man, Lil'...
Published on 23 Nov 2002

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the same level.
With two undeniably classic albums under his belt before he passed away, Christopher Wallace's legacy was already cemented - but, whilst not leaving 200 or so tracks like his great rival Tupac, some material remained in the can and unused. No-one can really blame Puff Daddy for wanting to release some of it - but as the first album of Biggie's to not feature his creative...
Published on 11 Feb 2009 by dynamitekid156


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the greatest MC of our time..., 23 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
Biggie is one of my great influences in my everyday life. His lyrics are depicted from his personal view of the world he was living in and they make you think "why and how is the world you are living in". Purchase this amazing album and you'll enjoy re-makings of his greatest lyrics and rap music of our time. With various artists in this album such as Method Man, Lil' Cease, Ice T and Eminem, you'll thoroughly enjoy the musical experience of the greatest MC of our time. Purchase and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 23 Sep 2001
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
This album is wicked! not 1 bad song on it! quality beats, great lyrics, and plenty of guest appearances from some of best rappers around like Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg, Method Man, Redman & Busta Ryhmes to name a few! i definitley recommend this album! if you like Biggie, BUY THIS! simple as that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the same level., 11 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
With two undeniably classic albums under his belt before he passed away, Christopher Wallace's legacy was already cemented - but, whilst not leaving 200 or so tracks like his great rival Tupac, some material remained in the can and unused. No-one can really blame Puff Daddy for wanting to release some of it - but as the first album of Biggie's to not feature his creative input, this album is a comparatively paltry addition to his legacy.

When Biggie was alive, he wasn't a freestyler - he was a writer, and a brilliant one. He was great at cinematic imagery, wit and wordplay, and had a way with words like no other. Born Again, unfortunately, is mostly made up of half-finished songs by Biggie completed by others. And the fact is, there aren't many MCs who can step up to the plate and go toe-to-toe with Biggie on his own turf. There's a reason why Ready To Die only had one guest spot on it.

And so it is, we're left with a pile of great Biggie verses over inconsistent productions and with a weight of guest spots not measuring up. Only Eminem can match Biggie on MCing skill - a rare glimpse of two of the industry's all-time greats together is a thrill, though the production leaves a little to be desired.

In truth, the production is the real problem. Always handy with a pop touch, Puff Daddy has overshined a great deal of the album. The majority of what we get, instead of the punishing beats like 'Gimme The Loot' are clacking, catchy singles like 'Juicy'. Although nothing here matches Juicy for quality.

Some songs are worth hearing - opener 'Notorious' has a great vocal sample for its chorus and Li'l Kim and Puffy almost keep up with Biggie. As previously mentioned, Eminem ricochets off his style pretty well too.

But at the end of the day, this is an album that feels half-finished because that's just what it is. Biggie was already one of the greatest in history before this album came out, and you really don't need to hear it to know why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Phattest Hip Hop Album Ever? Doubt It, 17 Feb 2001
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
Admittedly, this has some bad tunes with catchy lyrics on it, but it aint no classic. To follow Ready 2 Die and Life After Death is tuff and it dont help when you're dead. Some of the tunes have the same beat as b4 and sound 2 old skool. Puffy did a decent job, but 2 say it is 1 of the best is over the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world!, 8 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
the best album since the birth of hip-hop and a great way to end a legends music life. 10/10 for the lyrics, music and the chourus. If you ain't got this album go get it! It's the best thing I bought for the last 5 years and I'm sure you will feel the same way when you hear these tracks! (But it will never be better than DMX (then there was X) KEEP IT REAL! Mohammed Ali
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem., 22 Dec 2003
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
This is probably the least famous of the Biggie albums, but that doesn't mean its the worst.
This is a great album which is solid throughout and hardly slips up, with only a few weak songs. There are lots of famous faces making appearances, like Lil Kim, Puff Daddy, Eminem, Snoop Dogg, Busta Rhymes, Too Short, Method Man, Redman, Junior MAFIA, Mobb Deep and Nas.
The best 5 songs on this album are:
Notorious
Dangerous MCs
Rap Phenomenon
Can I Get Witcha
I Really Want To Show You
Also the intro and outro are very deep and moving if listened to at the right time.
This is a great album that will appeal to all tastes. There are gangsta songs, comedy songs, songs about hos, just basic rap songs, story songs and hardcore songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must have for any hip hop fan, 4 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
This album is the phattest Hip Hop Album I have heard in years. It combines powerful hip hop beats with Biggys extraordinary rhyming abilities and the who's who of hip hop supporting him. With the best tracks being; Dead Wrong, If I Should Die Before I Wake, and I Really want To Show You. This is an Album in which you don't have to hit the skip button on your CD player once whilst it is playing. It belongs along side the likes of NWA STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON, and Ice Cube's PREADATOR. DRE's 2001 doesen't even have a look in. Essential Listening for any HIP HOP fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars yet another great, 5 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
Carrying on from where Life After Death and Ready to Die left off, this is yet another rap classic. The only bad track on the album is Notorious which uses the hideous Duran Duran sample. Its such a shame that Biggie got his 'wig pushed back'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real deal, 22 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
This is tha best thing to come out on bad boy records I can not say how good it is so I`ll say it`s hard for a black guy to get in the rap ind but what about the indo givening out skill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born Again
Born Again by Notorious B.I.G. (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews