Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars very best of what
bomb the bass has made a big impact in house music in the mid to late 80s and after. the only thing I have noticed about this album is there where great 12 inch singles. They should be on this that would make a great best of album. The original beat dis was done correctley the hit megablast should have been the straight megamix version without merlin or anyone else...
Published on 29 Feb 2012 by EJL77

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity!
Beat Dis is certainly not the 'greatest hits' of Bomb The Bass and doesn't quite tell the full story about DJ/producer Tim Simenon. The compilation has been put out by Sony/BMG who acquired the back catalogue of BTB's first record label - indie dance outfit Rhythm King in 1991. BTB moved to Island Records in 1994 who put out the excellent Clear album and singles - Bug...
Published on 12 Dec 2006 by Mr. A. P. Kitching


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity!, 12 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Beat Dis: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Beat Dis is certainly not the 'greatest hits' of Bomb The Bass and doesn't quite tell the full story about DJ/producer Tim Simenon. The compilation has been put out by Sony/BMG who acquired the back catalogue of BTB's first record label - indie dance outfit Rhythm King in 1991. BTB moved to Island Records in 1994 who put out the excellent Clear album and singles - Bug Powder Dust, Darkhart, 1-2-1 Religion, Sandcastles etc. In my opinion it's probably Sony/BMG having free access to Rhythm King's back catalogue - they've done a similar compilations for S'Express and The Beatmasters and not wanting to pay Island to licence the tracks from Clear which creates flaws in this compilation. These are compounded by a rather odd choice of tracks from BTB's Rhythm King period. The good points are the inclusion of the original 12" mix of Beat Dis, Megablast - rap version, Don't Make Me Wait, Shake It, On The Cut (2000 AD) and Don't Make Me Wait which capture the excitement of old skool UK dance music culture in 1988's 'summer of love' and electro trip hop of Liquid Metal and Dune Buggy Attack from 1991's Unknown Territory. The bad points are the criminal omission of Love So True/Keep Giving Me Love and the single mixes of Megablast - Hip Hop On Precinct 13, Say A Little Prayer and Winter In July which in my opinion were better than the versions included here. Furthermore makeweight filler tracks like Dynamite Beats and the Megamix could have easily been omitted! To be honest I only picked this CD up as I have the cassette versions of Into The Dragon/Unknown Territory which have been deleted and it was on sale for £[...]. BTB were at the beginning of the UK dance music revolution in 1988 and if you like them from the Clear album, want to know how Tim Simenon started off and don't want to buy the earlier albums second hand it may be a reasonably worthwhile addition. However I would have sooner seen a compilations which better reflected the complete range of Tim Simenon's BTB project - perhaps a double album which also included his production work for other artists as well - most notably Seal and rescuing Depeche Mode from their mid '90's oblivion with his production work on their excellent Ultra album. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for the fans., 1 Dec 2006
By 
V. K. Manglaveras (thessaloniki, greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat Dis: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I Agree with the first reviewer of this cd. Unfortunately this is not a complete best of not only because the entire third album "clear" is absent but also because almost the entire second album "unknown territory" is absent too except the singles "winter in july" and "the Air u breathe" but the other two singles from this album "Keep giving me love" and "love so true" are not here.

So this compilation is incomplete. It contains almost all the first album "In to the dragon" and just two singles from the second album.

Personally i love the following songs "Beat dis", "Winter in July", "Say a little prayer" and "Don't make me wait" and all the third album clear.

Let's hope we will have a more complete compilation in the future.

Until then stick to the three bomb the bass albums and avoid this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars winter in july, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat Dis: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
only bought the CD for winter in july, however the re-mix version on this is nothing like the original, if its a very best of album it should have the tracks as they were
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very best of what, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat Dis: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
bomb the bass has made a big impact in house music in the mid to late 80s and after. the only thing I have noticed about this album is there where great 12 inch singles. They should be on this that would make a great best of album. The original beat dis was done correctley the hit megablast should have been the straight megamix version without merlin or anyone else rapping over the top of it. Don't make me wait should have been the full remix version and winter in july should have been the version that appeared in the charts extended not the version that was on this album. Very dissapointed with this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss eighties dance record, 17 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Beat Dis: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Like so many other people I got into Bomb the Bass through the song Bug Powder Dust from the album Clear which is quite frankly one of the best songs ever. Unfortunately this best of album doesn't contain any of the songs from Clear which is a pitty because it's probably the best album from Tim Simenon's dance group. Even so, this album contains some great songs with reggae, hip-hop and techno influences stemming from the acid-house era of the late 80's.
The album starts well with Beat Dis - a top quality dance song with some fantastic samples, the rap song Megablast and Say A Little Prayer (by Burt Bacharach). Unfortunately the album goes a bit downhill at this point dragging on too long in my opinion. There are still a few great songs though, most notably Winter In July which sounds very much like Massive Attack in thier early years.
Overall it's a good buy with some fantastic songs and some superbly inovative material, but sometimes it can just get a bit tedious. If only Bug Powder Dust was included on it, then it could have been one of the best albums of the 90's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat Dis: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Not that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beat Dis: The Very Best Of
Beat Dis: The Very Best Of by Bomb The Bass (Audio CD - 1999)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews