Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A damned fine album
Being an avid jazz fan and a lover of Bach's music I picked album up as a taster and am glad I did!
As all tracks are superb to single one out for praise is hard but Toccata and Fugue is breath-taking.
Published on 12 Dec. 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Air on a G string is not the version I know. Very dissppointed
Published 6 months ago by Tony Budd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A damned fine album, 12 Dec. 2003
This review is from: The Very Best Of Play Bach (Audio CD)
Being an avid jazz fan and a lover of Bach's music I picked album up as a taster and am glad I did!
As all tracks are superb to single one out for praise is hard but Toccata and Fugue is breath-taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Play Bach-Loussier, 1 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Play Bach (Audio CD)
This is a delightful cd and shows Loussier in his element. The inprovisation is effortless, and if you didn't know how the original went, you might think that Bach had written the music that way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jacques Loussier - the very best of play Bach, 3 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Play Bach (Audio CD)
This was a Christmas present to a friend but a s I love him too I downloaded on to my Ipod! Naughty! It is excellent and made me look on Google to see if he is in concert anywhere. Unfortunately not. He has aged well too. Saw him last at de Montfort Hall in 1970 thereabouts! Brilliant man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jacques Loussier on Camden BMG Label, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Play Bach (Audio CD)
The lady giving this CD only 2 Stars needs to invest in a new stereo system for her kitchen. I play this on a CD Player and use headphones, but have also played it without headphones - and the quality of this particular BMG/CMG Camden recording is fantastic. You will only know just how fantastic it is if you have quality equipment, but even on inexpensive equipment this CD will sound very, very good. I have most of Loussier's recordings - but this one is the best, as far as sound quality is concerned. Maybe Decca can compete with this one? Anyway, if you like Bach simplified to some degree by not using a full orchestra, then you will like this rendition. For those of you interested in musicianship I can honestly say that the bass player and percussionist do not come any better than this pairing. I will not say that there are no finer pianists than Jacques Loussier - there are - but it's Mr Loussier's arrangements that are important here. So, as a trio - these three musicians play extremely well together and if ever you get to see them playing on your TV via a DVD for example - you will actually see with your own eyes just how good these musicians are and how well they integrate with one another. I actually use this disc when auditioning expensive hi-fi equipment and can honestly say, that if the music does not sound awesome then you are listening to poor equipment - or, there's something wrong with your ears. The selection of music on this CD is quite varied - there's something for everyone, even Jazz afficionados. It might be listed under the classical heading but there's more to this rendition than simply classical. Enjoy. p.s. Denon make good hi-fi equipment if you're on a limited budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loussier is back, 27 Aug. 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Play Bach (Audio CD)
Having heard him in concert and owning other CDs, I was tempted by this and succumbed. I'm glad I did.

Bach's original music, rich in contrapuntal inventiveness, his inner personal drive to display his musical achievements and his successful striving to become the leading virtuoso and improviser of the day on the organ provided Loussier with a rich heritage.

I particulary enjoy the pieces which start with the measured control of Bach and develop through Loussier's "joie de vivre" into the fast-moving, stunning keyboard improvisational virtuosity of Loussier, e.g. "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring" and "Little Fugue in G minor".

Loussier made Bach his own. Recommeneded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For loverts of Bach and jazz, 15 Feb. 2010
By 
A. J. Killick "Tony Killick" (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Play Bach (Audio CD)
As a lover of classics who likes a bit of jazz this is one of the most enjoyable disks I have bought for a long time. Beautifully played renditions of a wide variety of Bach's music, some familiar favourites, some less so. I will be getting more by Loussier. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Of Play Bach, 11 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Play Bach (Audio CD)
This recording is much more evocative of Loussier at his best than more recent recordings. The use of percussion is more subtle and the playing generally more precise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach to Jazz, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Play Bach (Audio CD)
I liked jaques Loussier right from the very first time I heard the trio, which i think at that time had the excellent Christian Garro on drums, It just seemed so natural to play Bach's music in this way, i wondered why it had never been done before, at least not to my knowledge.
I know some prominent musicians were not happy about playing Bach this way, which I could not understand.for my feeling was that Bach would have loved it.
Jacques seems to pick just the right musicians to complete the trio who compliment each other so well, and even when changes in drummer or bass player have been made, the new players compliment each other in the same way.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 12 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Play Bach (Audio CD)
Heard a snippet from this album on radio recently and was reminded of how much I previously enjoyed his music. The album has not disappointed and has been played many times since we received it. We hear "something new" in it every time we listen. It gets played almost every other day at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works for Bach..., 16 Jan. 2010
By 
P. R. Marshall (Mkt Harborough, G.B.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Play Bach (Audio CD)
...if not for Mozart. Bach with a beat offers something worth hearing - I first heard Loussier as a teenager and have not changed my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Play Bach
The Very Best Of Play Bach by Jacques Loussier (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews