Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1957 Elvis Christmas album still holds up great today
"Elvis' Christmas Album" was originally released in 1957 as his fourth album and the first one that followed an obvious thematic concept. You need to keep in mind that this was originally a record album, because there were clearly two sides to Elvis this time around. On the "A" side of the album you Elvis doing rockers and blues numbers like "Santa Claus Is Back in...
Published on 11 Dec. 2003

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
This was by far the worst Elvis album. Just buy the early Sun stuff and don't waste your time on the drivel he put out.
Published 17 months ago by GeneralPig


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1957 Elvis Christmas album still holds up great today, 11 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis Christmas Album (Audio CD)
"Elvis' Christmas Album" was originally released in 1957 as his fourth album and the first one that followed an obvious thematic concept. You need to keep in mind that this was originally a record album, because there were clearly two sides to Elvis this time around. On the "A" side of the album you Elvis doing rockers and blues numbers like "Santa Claus Is Back in Town," "Here Comes Santa Claus," and the most famous Elvis Christmas track, "Blue Christmas" for the first-half dozen songs. On the "B" side Elvis does gospel songs including "Silent Night," "I Believe," "Peace in the Valley" and "Take My Hand, Precious Lord." Keep in mind that Elvis had only exploded on the music scene the year before and listening to him sing "church" music suddenly made it really difficult to dismiss all the hip shaking. Yes, it is strange that the original Elvis backup group, the Jordanaires, pops up on track only on the "second" side of the album, but there is no doubting Elvis' sincerity in singing these songs. This first Elvis Christmas album is still the best and even those fans who voted for the Vegas Elvis stamp instead of the Young Elvis stamp would have to agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1957 Elvis Christmas album still holds up great today, 11 Dec. 2003
By 
Lawrance Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Christmas Album (Audio CD)
"Elvis' Christmas Album" was originally released in 1957 as his fourth album and the first one that followed an obvious thematic concept. You need to keep in mind that this was originally a record album, because there were clearly two sides to Elvis this time around. On the "A" side of the album you Elvis doing rockers and blues numbers like "Santa Claus Is Back in Town," "Here Comes Santa Claus," and the most famous Elvis Christmas track, "Blue Christmas" for the first-half dozen songs. On the "B" side Elvis does gospel songs including "Silent Night," "I Believe," "Peace in the Valley" and "Take My Hand, Precious Lord." Keep in mind that Elvis had only exploded on the music scene the year before and listening to him sing "church" music suddenly made it really difficult to dismiss all the hip shaking. Yes, it is strange that the original Elvis backup group, the Jordanaires, pops up on track only on the "second" side of the album, but there is no doubting Elvis' sincerity in singing these songs. This first Elvis Christmas album is still the best and even those fans who voted for the Vegas Elvis stamp instead of the Young Elvis stamp would have to agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic (with reservations), 23 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Elvis Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Elvis' only album of the '50s with no fast tempo rock and roll, and for good reason: it was his first Christmas, so the decibel level had to be lower. He does wail on the incredible blues-rock opener, "Santa Claus Is Back In Town". It's Elvis doin' his thing, driving home the double-entendres. It's been written that this album was banned, and the banners didn't have to go too far into the album to find something...too strong.
"Blue Christmas" is medium-tempo blues-rock, a gem of a tune, featuring a typically great vocal and some genuine Presley low-down blues licks. If there was room back in the day, this could gone into the Top 20.
"Santa Bring My Baby Back To Me" is a nicely syncopated rocker, a soft vocal over a hard beat. It works. The vocal approach is reminiscent of Conway Twitty's later work on "It's Only Make Believe".
And for the remainder - the reason I decline from giving the album/CD *five* stars. Although the material is excellent and well-arranged, we have a near-copy of the Drifters' "White Christmas" and Gene Autry's "Here Comes Santa Claus". They're fun to hear, but you wonder if Elvis and the boys could have come up with a more *original* sound. "I Believe" finds Elvis givin' it his all, but strangely, he seems to be struggling to stay on top of this inspirational power ballad.
The gospel sides are done with conviction, beautifully phrased by Presley, but the listener is a bit uncomfortable with the "oil and water" mix: his vocal mannerisms are "pop" and the lyrics are pure gospel.
On later gospel releases, Elvis seems to take a step back stylistically and showcase the quartets and instrumental back-up; the song itself. On several tracks from "His Hand In Mine" (1960) and "How Great Thou Art" (1967) maybe he should used more *voice*; on "He Touched Me" (1972) he found the balance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis at his very best, 2 Jan. 2010
By 
Johan Fr Knudsen "JFBK" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis' Christmas Album (Audio CD)
There are three Christmas albums:
Elvis ' Christmas album
Mahalia Jackson's Christmas album
and
Bing Crosby

With those three in hand , your Xmas will be fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great songs great singer, 16 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Christmas Album (Audio CD)
What can be said that hasn't about the king of rock and roll, great songs great singer .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Christmas Album (Audio CD)
It's not Christmas without an Elvis Christmas Album, this has all the fave's on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great I'm really enjoying listening to it., 23 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I had this album on LP many years ago. I remember all of the tracks and they are exactly the same on CD. Just right for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Excellent delivery and quality. Thank you.Who needs a High Street?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Cheer from Yesteryear, 23 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Elvis Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I am not a huge Elvis fan but I do like a few of his songs while not his usual music it is fun especially in the Christmas Silly Season. This is a good one for fans of Elvis and Christmas fans, like me. I must admit I didn't buy this album rather I won it as a lossers prize in a radio compitition, I didn't mind losing as the prize was a Bottle of Whisky and I don't drink. And so I went out of my way to get the answers wrong but also funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent item as described well packaged and prompt arrival, 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Excellent item as described well packaged and prompt arrival
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis Christmas Album
Elvis Christmas Album by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews