Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Marley: Songs of Freedom - 78 tracks of genius
Firstly this is an absolutely essential album for everyone!

There are alot of tracks I'd not heard before from the early Marley years and it is honestly an absolute privilege to hear him at his genuine rawest. Also there are plenty of songs from his Legend album for those who maybe don't know all f Marley's work and many of them are different recordings or...
Published on 29 Nov 2009 by Mr. D. G. Hamilton

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor sound quality
Great music, but the sound quality is very low in volume & very disappointing when you can't hear it properly even on beats audio :(
Published on 16 Oct 2012 by mark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Marley: Songs of Freedom - 78 tracks of genius, 29 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
Firstly this is an absolutely essential album for everyone!

There are alot of tracks I'd not heard before from the early Marley years and it is honestly an absolute privilege to hear him at his genuine rawest. Also there are plenty of songs from his Legend album for those who maybe don't know all f Marley's work and many of them are different recordings or versions of the songs which adds a little extra flavour to the album. The strength from finish to end is unrivaled by anything i've ever heard before, you can really put this on and listen it through and be set for the day.

Also there is an acoustic version of Stir it up on this album that will change your life!

Enough said! you need this album for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best overview of Bob's work, if that's possible on 4 cd's, 16 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs Of Freedom (Audio CD)
Contrary to many of the reviewers here, I hold the unpopular opinion that Bob's work on the Island label was his best. By the way, for all the Island bashers, it also happens to be the only label that paid Bob real money for his work, and was instrumental in bringing his music to the world (despite playing a role in breaking up the original Wailers). That being said, I believe Legend (Island) is the best collection of 14 Bob Marley songs in existence. For my friends who enjoy Legend, I tend to then recommend Legend II (Natural Mystic). If the thirst has not been quenched at this point, the next natural step is to spend a few bucks and pick up Songs of Freedom.
Songs of Freedom goes beyond Bob's Island recordings (>'73) back to his Ska roots with the Wailing Wailers in the early sixties. It gives us some good samples of the transformation Bob's (and the Wailers') music underwent from Ska, to Rock Steady, to their early work with Lee 'Scratch' Perry, and then to the big leagues with Island. In my opinon, there is no better overview of Bob Marley and the Wailers' music in existence.
If Songs of Freedom doesn't satisfy you, and I'm not saying it should, because there is a lot of good material not on Songs of Freedom, my favorites of the Island stuff are in order: Exodus, Survival, Natty Dread, Kaya, Uprising, Rastaman Vibration, Burnin', Catch A Fire, Confrontation, and if you want the full set, you add in the lives and compilations: Live, Talkin' Blues, Rebel Music, and Babylon by Bus. Pre '73 and Island, it is much more difficult to guarnatee quality, but it's a pretty good bet anything produced by Scratch is worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We'll be forever loving The Wailers, 3 Aug 2007
By 
Rudy (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
I have been listening to The Wailers since i was about 11 or 12 years old. That's roughly 13 years now and this music just does not diminish in quality over time. I must have heard some of these songs a hundred times or more and i still love them. This collection runs from early songs recorded by Bob (Judge Not, early 60's) right up until the end of his life ('81). The shift in the music really shows how music progressed in Jamaica and how The Wailers adapted and changed to keep with the times. Ska to rocksteady to the reggae sound that The Wailers are renowned for. What is great about this collection is that it could be the first cd you ever buy by The Wailers or the twentieth. It honestly doesn't matter. With different live versions or mixes of some of the songs it's worth every penny. The live versions of No Woman No Cry and Redemption Song are particularly good as are the 12" mixes of Ride Natty Ride and Coming In From The Cold. The best of collection Legend has always annoyed me, as it misses major songs that are part of what made The Wailers so great. To leave out songs such as Concrete Jungle, Slave Driver, Burnin' and Lootin' and Babylon System is a travesty, but they are all included here.
Bob's lyrics are outstanding whether writing about love or strictly roots material, nobody before or since can express so much so simply. He may not be as poetic as some but his lyrics are to the point and incisive.

"To divide and rule could only tear us apart
In everymans chest there beats a heart." Zimbabwe

"We refuse to be what you wanted us to be
We are what we are that's the way it's going to be." Babylon System

"They made the world so hard everyday we got to keep on fighting
They made the world so hard everyday the people are dying." One Drop

Along with the brilliant music there is an excellent booklet containing essays about Bob, photos and information about the songs. It is hard to put into words the effect this music had on me growing up. They made me think about issues that were never mentioned in school or anywhere else. They made me think about racism, slavery and poverty in a way that i never would have otherwise. No other music has had such a profound impact on me. To go from one of the poorest areas of Jamaica and take these songs round the world and selling millions of records is an amazing achievement. All of The Wailers played a huge part in this, it was not just Bob. It is a sad fact that when Bob died most of The Wailers were left with almost nothing. To rub salt in the wounds people only ever seem to talk of Bob Marley as if he was a one man band. Aston and Carlton Barrett, Tyrone Downie, Alvin Patterson, Junior Marvin, Earl Lindo, Al Anderson and the I-Threes deserve respect and the money they are owed for being a part of these songs. Rest in peace to all those who have passed on since they were made - Bob Marley, Pete Tosh and Carlton Barrett. This music will last FOREVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it - or tell Jah Jah why, 4 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs Of Freedom (Audio CD)
I came from a background of vaguely knowing his big hits and having been blown away by his performance on the Old Grey Whistle Test DVD, so I thought I'd take a punt on this.
First impressions were that it was all a bit rough, but I went back for another listen a few days later and now it's barely out of the hi-fi, PC or car. Just this week, I can't stop listening to disc 2. The musical journey from the impassioned Trenchtown Rock through the edgy Acoustic Medley to the slick I'm Hurting Inside is going to be hard to match - and that's just a quarter of one CD, which itself is a quarter of the boxset.
I always thought I was a blues man, but this has got under my skin - only last weekend I splashed out 120 notes on the 30 CD Trojan boxset - now I'm struggling to sit through anything that isn't reggae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical heaven, 2 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
This is the perfect companion piece to the Legend best of compilation of 1984. In particular the first 2 cds are a treasure trove of classic Wailers recordings from their first number one single in Jamaica, Simmer Down, to the genre defining recordings with Lee "Scratch" Perry. There are some omissions of great songs (Corner Stone, African Herbsman etc.) but this is a wonderful collection of the first decade of Bob Marley's career together with Peter Tosh and Bunny Wailer. It was clearly influenced by the Bob Dylan bootleg series 1-3 which was released a year earlier and shows that Bob Marley enjoyed a recording career that almost equalled that of Bob Dylan until Marley's untimely passing in 1981. Legend scratches at the surface of his genius, this compilation delves deeper into what made this enigmatic musician and his compatriots legends in their lifetimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple MUST for all Bob Marley fans out there!!, 8 Jan 2000
This review is from: Songs Of Freedom (Audio CD)
I bought this brilliant box set about 5 years ago when it originally came out.Each CD accounts for the different stages of Bobs life and career.There is also an exellent book which gives indept detail about each song and what stage Bob was at when he recorded them.This box set is a must for all Bob Marley fans.What better way to light up and have a good listen??EASY SKANKING.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great marley songs, 27 Jan 2009
This review is from: Songs of Freedom (Audio CD)
just got this the other day its great,as u can see its got loads of marleys songs but the real bonus is the first cd its marleys really early songs half of them id never heard of but there brilliant as always plus you get a dvd and a mini book its a bargin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time great's vision, 4 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs Of Freedom (Audio CD)
Over the years I have been an avid Marley collector, so when I learned that Island were about to re-issue this brilliant box set, I ran to the store. From the sublime ska sides of his early career to the anthems of Marley's Pan-Africanism, this box set is simply withouit peer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential purchase for fans of ALL good times music!!, 8 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs Of Freedom (Audio CD)
I bought this set when it was released originally some 5 years ago. What a fanatastic release!!! At last there it all was in one place. From his humblest beginnings to the Rastaman's gRReatest vibrations. I sold it when I was desperate for cash - I plead with y'all not to fall into the same trap. This is desert island disc's stuff. This re-release is long overdue. Bliss !!! Sheer bliss !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Songs Of Freedom (Audio CD)
the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs Of Freedom
Songs Of Freedom by Bob Marley (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews