Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity - for a different reason
Several people have commented on the odd track selection for this compilation and have offered different explanations for the choices made. There is actually a very clear explanation. This compilation consists of all A-sides of commercially released UK singles from 1970 (The Knife) up to the first Ray Wilson single (Congo) plus No Reply at All, which I don't think came...
Published on 26 July 2007 by Christopher Straub

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Squashed As Flat As A Roadside Hedgehog
I have to echo many of the previous comments about these recordings being incredibly compressed and over EQ'd in the higher frequencies.
I am all in favour of remixing old vintage tracks to give them a fresh and modern sparkle, and to correct flaws in the original mixes. But sadly, with these recordings, that has not been achieved.

Where there is...
Published on 18 Aug 2007 by Baz


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity - for a different reason, 26 July 2007
By 
Christopher Straub (Croton on Hudson, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Several people have commented on the odd track selection for this compilation and have offered different explanations for the choices made. There is actually a very clear explanation. This compilation consists of all A-sides of commercially released UK singles from 1970 (The Knife) up to the first Ray Wilson single (Congo) plus No Reply at All, which I don't think came out as a single in the UK, but was released as a single nearly everywhere else. I have no explanation for the running order which seems to be roughly reverse chronological.
The reason I say that this was a missed opportunity is that there is space remaining on these discs for the two other Ray Wilson-era singles: Shipwrecked, and Not About Us. I suppose these tracks have been ignored deliberately and will certainly not appear on the current Genesis tour, but why do 95% of the work involved in making a complete collection of Genesis singles and then not finish the job?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genesis - A land of confusion indeed!, 4 Aug 2005
Genesis have gone from symphonic progressive rock through to the rock/pop genre over many years. The sudden change shocked the public, but generated more publicity and consequently the band gained success. It is this success that this compilation mainly focuses on. The chosen songs are mostly the hits the band had in the 80s where Phil Collins was lead singer and drum player - Land of Confusion, Mama, Invisible Touch, Turn It on Again... et cetera. If you preferred the band when Peter Gabriel was lead singer in the early 70s, this album is not for you: only 2 songs on this CD contain him (the reason being due to the lower popularity of the band when he was in it). The sudden change in genre was a positive thing, as the band sold records in millions, topped the charts with their singles and were a great live band to see. While Tony Banks, Steve Hackett and Mike Rutherford are not able to show their full potential playing their instruments, they are consistent. This album does live up to its title - the songs are hits. They are well-written songs, sung powerfully by Phil Collins as he does so well. I would reccomend this album to anyone who wants the hits of Gensis and to anyone who is not familiar with their pop/rock phase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really looking forward to the tour dates, 18 Jun 2007
This fathers day gift was a great reminder of what a truly innovative band

Genesis were. This is a great value set of CDs with loads of those tracks I had forgotten about from the 70's. And nice to have after that interesting appearance on 7 ages of rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's called "The Tour Edition" for a reason...., 19 Jun 2007
By 
Michael Henry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
....I can't really comment on the sound quality on the remastered tracks, but as for the complaints that this isn't a representative "Hits" compilation, I would argue that perhaps that isn't the intention for this release.

I've got tickets for the upcoming Old Trafford gig and I'm hoping it will confirm what I suspect....that this is simply a compilation of the songs performed on the reunion tour in their not-live, album-recorded form.

I've also not got many of the earlier albums (my collection only starts with Trick of The Tail, but I'm only 28, so give me a break on that!), but for anyone wanting a good collection from across the 40 years Genesis have been recording and producing music, I'd think this would be a good choice.....especially if you don't want to shell out nearly £100 for the remastered box set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Phil Collins' music, this is a must-have., 1 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Turn It On Again - The Hits (Audio CD)
I must admit that, while I was familiar with many of the songs from Phil Collins' solo career, I could not say I knew much about Genesis, the band that launched his career. Of course on listening to this CD I realised that in fact I had heard most of these absurdly catchy songs in the past, as they are the kind that get frequent airplay. Genesis, of course, changed dramatically when singer Peter Gabriel left and was replaced by drummer Phil Collins. They went from being one of the most prominent progressive rock acts to being experts at recording short, commercial songs. Only two Peter Gabriel-era songs appear on here, I Know What I Like and The Carpet Crawlers. Classics you must be familiar with like I Can't Dance and Follow You Follow Me are on here, of course. This compilation basically traces the history of Phil Collins' period Genesis with songs like Hold on my Heart and In Too Deep being typical of the kind of music Phil Collins has been associated with during his solo career. If you want to check out what early, progressive rock era, Peter Gabriel fronted Genesis sounded like then I suggest you get Selling England by the Pound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Squashed As Flat As A Roadside Hedgehog, 18 Aug 2007
I have to echo many of the previous comments about these recordings being incredibly compressed and over EQ'd in the higher frequencies.
I am all in favour of remixing old vintage tracks to give them a fresh and modern sparkle, and to correct flaws in the original mixes. But sadly, with these recordings, that has not been achieved.

Where there is undeniably a gain in clarity, there is also a truely massive loss in dynamics, warmth and realism. At times (for example on 'That's All') Collins's drums sound really nasty and harsh - a complete contrast from the sound on the original album's mix. This is hardly 'progress'.

Many of us have spent our hard earned money on a decent sound system so we can enjoy our beloved music in as pristine quality as possible. Sadly, with these productions, even nice systems just sound like cheap midi 'hi-fi's!

If you think that 'newer' automatically means 'better', then you will think these recordings now sound better. Ditto if you think 'louder' means 'better'. Otherwise, stick to your flawed-but-ultimately-nicer 1994 masters (which really were an improvement over the originals).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection, 6 Oct 2014
By 
Laura (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn It On Again - The Hits (Audio CD)
I watched the BBC 2 Documentary about Genesis and it reminded me of how good their music was so I chose this CD for a selection of their hits as I only have their music on LP's. I like the selection on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the single disc, 16 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At first glance this is a rip off. however if you have not ever bought the first hits collection this is better. A few gems are here from the past, Happy the man a single from 1973, a few tracks off the spot the pigeon ep and also paperlate. Now just to correct the previous review(sorry not being smart) the Carpet Crawlers was re-recorded with all the band for the inclusion of the archive box set but it was decided that it would be better suited for the hits, it was originally from the lamb Lies down on broadway. There is also the Platinum collection however that is soon to be deleted. So if you want the very rare ep tracks and don't want to buy the box sets then this would be a cheaper way to do it. Apart from Conga this is a good collection and not just picking songs from the 80's, although that was there most commercial period.This does focus on the Phill Collins period more than the Peter Gabriel period, this is really because it is a singles collection, more than a best of, so the very long suppers ready and Musical box, are not here but then if they were they are very very long pieces, and would take up half the space on the CD.This is why its called "Hits" The set is chronological apart from Conga which is left to the end, and Turn it on again which kicks off the set. Genesis were always renowned for there quality as many have pointed out the re-mastering is at times to loud and compressed. Nick Davis seems to be un-aware of this so here's wondering if Mr Davis was not responsible and the record company just turned it up in the mastering process who knows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a great album, but a good one, 21 Nov 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This CD is a collection of good solid Genesis hits. Turn It On Again, Invisible Touch, No Son of Mine; if you are a Genesis fan, then this CD will cover a lot of good songs. Though it looks thick enough to be promising, the cover notes do not contain anything but a song list. Too bad, I love "extras."
So, this is a good album. Not a great one, but it has some good Genesis songs, and it is well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turning It On Again...Just., 9 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. S. J. Griffin "the Griffin" (Addingham, West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The whole point about Genesis in the early years was that it wasn't about the singles, it was about the albums as a whole. Many of which followed a theme or carried a story. Genesis didn't really release a whole lot of singles that were meant to become chart-topping smash hits, but the albums were. That's why this album holds songs which were not released as singles. For the real Genesis experience, they were always best live, especially in the 80s and 90s. Hopefully we will see a live dvd/cd released following their final tour, from the new Wembley if we're lucky, would be fitting to go beside the already released 1986 wembley dvd (highly recommended). This compilation is better than the original turn it on again release as it does include more of the early work and also has a lot more tracks on it in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turn It On Again - The Hits
Turn It On Again - The Hits by Genesis (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews