Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quickly grew into one of my all time favourite albums
This was my first Chris Rea album. I got it for £2 in a sale, so I wasn't expecting much. Instead I was surprised to find an interesting, almost experimental album. It sounds like a blues purist working with a disco drummer and being produced by a Pink Floyd fan. It even has found sounds and voices on it like '70s Floyd.

Others seem to hate this album, but...
Published on 31 July 2006 by BS on parade

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You have to buy this album.....
If you want to own all of chris reas work, which is a little unfortunate. I don't like this much- its not chris reas usual style, and maybe i just haven't got into it yet but something about it puts me off. I love all his music, and this certainly as the gruff voice and excellent guitar solos, but its not for me. 'E' is ok, and Evil no. 2 was surprisingly light. Keep on...
Published on 13 Jan. 2003 by Mitch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quickly grew into one of my all time favourite albums, 31 July 2006
This review is from: Road To Hell 2 (Audio CD)
This was my first Chris Rea album. I got it for £2 in a sale, so I wasn't expecting much. Instead I was surprised to find an interesting, almost experimental album. It sounds like a blues purist working with a disco drummer and being produced by a Pink Floyd fan. It even has found sounds and voices on it like '70s Floyd.

Others seem to hate this album, but it's grown into one of my all time favourites. I like the extensive use of loud female backing vocals, and I like the ethereal floating synth sound that accompanies most of the tracks.

"Can't Get Through" (after its silly opening set of voices and sound effects) and "New Times Square" are excellent rockers.

"Evil No. 2" has some great lyrics and an energetic, slightly wacky beat to it.

"E" and "Firefly" are nice laid-back, woozy, breezy songs (if you like Van Morrison's "Wavelength" and "Inarticulate Speech of the Heart" albums, then you should like these tracks).

"Coming Off the Ropes" is pretty weak, and the voice samples are embarrassingly bad, but it's not without its jazz club charms on its umpteenth listen.

I'm not joking, I do really like this album. I assume Rea himself hates it, and it's telling that none of the tracks have turned up on the three best of collections that have been released since 1999. Listen to it with an open mind, accept that it's not a traditional blues/rock album and you might be surprised by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You have to buy this album....., 13 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Road To Hell 2 (Audio CD)
If you want to own all of chris reas work, which is a little unfortunate. I don't like this much- its not chris reas usual style, and maybe i just haven't got into it yet but something about it puts me off. I love all his music, and this certainly as the gruff voice and excellent guitar solos, but its not for me. 'E' is ok, and Evil no. 2 was surprisingly light. Keep on dancing is possibly the best song- most like his other stuff.
Nope- Not his best achievement, though what hes trying to do with this, he does well. He complains about the modern age, and artists like eminem . I'm only 17- i should like that stuff, but sorry chris, you've done better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Worthy of It's Title, 12 Jan. 2006
By 
P. Thomson "PT" (EK, Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road To Hell 2 (Audio CD)
What a poor, poor, poor album this is. Chris must have known this was a bad album - that is probably down to the record company though. I believe that this finished is not how Chris intended it to be - which is highlighted by the fantastic new version of Keep On Dancing on the Blue Guitars Collection which shows this track as a blues song not some weird synth pop song!!
How they can attach the label of Road To Hell (probably Chris' finest mainstream album) Part 2 to this album is ludicrous. Every song on Part 1 exemplified Rea's underated talents from Road To Hell itself to Daytona and the breathtaking Tell Me There's A Heaven. Part 2 is a waste of an album and I was so disappointed when I bought around Christmas in 1999 - i took it straight back to the shop! Best stay clear of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first..., 5 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Road To Hell 2 (Audio CD)
This cd is not THAT bad but there have been better albums by chris rea "king of the beach" being one of them i feel he's tried to do a dance album here and it hasn't worked..and what's with the background vocals? i find they drown out chris' voice on most of the tracks
only two tracks stop me from rating this lower and they are "new times square" and "last open road" sorry chris but i've heard better from you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rea`s on the Road to Hell!, 4 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Road To Hell 2 (Audio CD)
I like Chris Rea he has put out a number of very good albums especially in the 80`s and early 90`s,his most sucessful one being Road To Hell Volume1 it sold a huge amount and finally put Rea into the mainstream.

This to me seems like an effort to cash in on that album,and to that effect it fails very badly,it is easily his worst album(and I would go as far as saying it`s one of the worst I`ve ever heard)to think that it`s trying to aspire to the first Road to Hell is well an insult to the purchaser.
I`m glad that I wasn`t the only reviewer who found the background noise annoying,there is a bloke mumbling along in the background for most part of the album,oh and Rea even tries at one point a reggae number,good grief Chris you are a fantastic blues/pop singer stick to what your good at!
The worst of the bunch though is Coming Off The Ropes it`s so bad that I want to hit the album with a hammer and to make matters worse the album even has the same cover as the first one,come on now thats taking the mickey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars On the ropes, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
Mister D (The Royal County) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Road To Hell 2 (Audio CD)
Generally regarded as the worst Chris Rea album ever, it sadly justifies its reputation.

The biggest problem with it is that Rea tried to update his sound and whether this was at record company insistence or not, this new style doesn't work.

There are lots of "electronic" type sounds, big backing vocals and rapping (or at least a poor attempt at it). The trademark slide guitar and bluesy rock is relegated to the background and a number of songs that could have been good are ruined by lousy overproduction.
"Last open road" in particular is wrecked by an awful backing vocal that is both out of place and intrusive. The rapping on "Can't Get Through" doesn't work but with a serviceable verse this song would have been OK

All in, there are 3 half decent tracks on this album (Firefly, New Times Square and Marvin) but "Good Morning" and "Coming off the ropes" are just horrible.

If you are building a complete Chris Rea collection I suggest you get this album last. This is his only album that is poor and all others range from very good to excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A zero stars album in reality!!!!!, 20 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Road To Hell 2 (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Chris Rea's since 1992 when God's Great Banana Skin came out and that wasn't a fantastic album but Road To Hell Part 2 is complete and utter piffle. I totally agree with the reviewer who mentions Coming Off The Ropes as being the worst Chris Rea song EVER ... it's absolutely dreadful. I sat through it bored and horrified. The album sounds like a contractual obligation whereby the artist has to produce something and fast. It's overproduced, bland and simply unlistenable in places. The final track with Sylvin on vocals is decent enough but it should be on a Jazz-lite album not something by this country's greatest living Slide guitarist. Put simply, this is an album to AVOID ... don't even buy it out of curiosity. Stick to everything else Chris has done and put this down to a lazy afternoon in the recording studio with Super Mario Brothers music having been used as 'inspiration.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars And his car broke down on the way......., 5 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Road To Hell 2 (Audio CD)
What was he thinking of? Chris Rea should be (and probably is) ashamed of this awful album. It bears no similarity to any of his other work, either in style or composition, even though he normally seems to improve album upon album.
It's a thrown together dirge of half planned songs, completely out of character for a man with as much talent as he has shown in the past.
Sorry folks, this is my new coffee mat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Love Chris Rea's stuff but was disappointed here, 14 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. A. J. Garland (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Road To Hell 2 (Audio CD)
Love Chris Rea's stuff but was disappointed here. No big deal, there are plenty of other albums he's done to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rea takes a detour, 11 July 2006
By 
Edward Teach (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Road To Hell 2 (Audio CD)
The latest visitation to Chris Rea's love/hate relationship with his car has all the musical direction of a fun fair ride. At every turn there's a sideshow attraction that defies any logical timeline or style; a bit of 70s disco, 80s kitsch and 90s dance. All this mixed in with Rea's bluesy guitar and gravely tones, making the word eclectic seem woefully inadequate.

With Rea's health fragile at best and a return to the blues under construction, this comes across as the last hoorah for his pop/rock career, and sadly, it's a forgettable swan song. Rea's appeal has always been in his ability to use his musical slight of hand. There is no better example of this than in 1989's The Road to Hell, where fragile rock and pop mixed so successfully with acerbic social commentary. The formula here however, is tardy and painful, with just the faintest suggestion of the ingenuity and style explored by its namesake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Road To Hell 2
Road To Hell 2 by Chris Rea (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews