Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, proof that the Corrs are great live
I've always been a fan of the MTV Unplugged series and was intrigued to hear how the Corrs would do on this. For those who don't know, the principle here is simple - all instruments are unplugged - no electronic keyboards and most importantly no electric guitars. Instead, you get a chance to hear some familiar songs sound that little bit different, and in this case it's...
Published on 12 Aug 2003 by Darren Simons

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another version of Talk on Corners ...
The Corrs are one of the best bands around at the moment. So why why why do they insist on releasing the same tracks again and again. First there was Talk on Corners, then there was Talk on Corners plus Dreams, then there was Talk on Corners with remixes and now Talk on Corners Unplugged. Ok there are some new tracks, but not enough to make it worthwhile. Yes the CD...
Published on 2 Dec 1999


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, proof that the Corrs are great live, 12 Aug 2003
By 
Darren Simons (Middlesex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Corrs - MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
I've always been a fan of the MTV Unplugged series and was intrigued to hear how the Corrs would do on this. For those who don't know, the principle here is simple - all instruments are unplugged - no electronic keyboards and most importantly no electric guitars. Instead, you get a chance to hear some familiar songs sound that little bit different, and in this case it's done wonderfully.
A number of tracks stand out to me on this album since they've had to played a bit differently due to the lack of electric guitar - notably What Can I Do, Toss The Feathers (especially with the tin whistle seemingly flying off every now and then), Forgiven Not Forgotten (with a fantastic piano bit thrown in) and So Young.
Also included for the first time is Radio, a fairly pop-esque song with great lyrics, and sung superbly. Added to this are a couple of great covers - Old Town and the REM classic Everybody Hurts, the latter of which I think is possibly my highlight of the album as it's just done that little bit differently to the original.
All in all, recommended - one of the best Unplugged albums I've heard, and proof if it's needed that the Corrs are great live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Corrs at their best - live!, 9 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Corrs - MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
Many may say this Irish quartet have taken advantage of their good-natured fans by releasing this album. It contains live versions of nine previously released songs, as well as live recordings of five unreleased tracks.
This album, however, shows the undoubted live performance ability that seems to come so naturally to this family. True, it could have contained more live material, but this CD is an excellent buy for any true Corrs fan.
'Toss The Feathers', a highly motivating instrumental, featuring Sharon's exquisite violin playing and showcasing a scarcely used traditional Irish bodhran drum played by Caroline, shows the quality and versitality of musicians on display here.
'At Your Side' one of the previously mentioned 'new songs' is an excellent example of the strength and dimensions of Andreas voice. Anyone in doubt of the singing voices of 'the other two sisters' is put in their place after hearing 'No Frontiers'. Sharon and Caroline share lead vocals on a track which shows off Jim's rarely heard piano playing skills. Often in the background and usually in the shaddow of his sisters, this man deserves more credit.
This album not only gives you a chance to hear The Corrs in action but also a sample of what's to come in the future. With a studio album, 'In Blue' on the way soon, we can be sure to expect some great live shows in the future.
This album comes highly recommended to any Corrs fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irish delight, 27 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: The Corrs - MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
Andrea Corr's lovely voice gives us this wonderful treat. Beginning with the flirtatious 'Only When I Sleep', including the catchy 'What Can I Do' and ending with the inspiring and soothing 'Everybody Hurts', as well as the classically Irish 'Toss the Feathers' (punctuated by Andrea Corr's adorable giggle) the melodious 'Queen of Hollywood', and the uplifting and catchy 'So Young: This is the best of the best.
Beautiful girls, beautiful music, beautiful lyrics, beautiful voices Blessed be the Corrs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't sure whether to buy this one ? ....Glad i did, 2 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corrs - MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
As my review is titled I wasn't sure whether I needed this live recording of the Corrs, considering I had most of the tracks already on other albums.

However after watching a DVD of the Corrs that my friend had, I really enjoyed their cover of "old town" so decided to buy this album.
Now it is easily my fave Corrs cd! The fact it is live adds so much to the music, if you listen hard on Toss the Feathers you can her Andrea taking sharp intakes of breath between penny whistling!

For all the people who think the Corrs are light weight pop stars, listen to this cd and realise they are talented musicians who can play live and have great flexibility.

Altogether it's a great mix of Corrs track and covers which sound good in there own right! Deff the Corrs - MTV Unplugged is worth having!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Rip-Off, you'll never unplug it!, 30 Jan 2000
By 
G. Meads (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Corrs - MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
Before you cry: "What a rip-off!" Give this album a listen. I thought that it was a sham that this was released in place of new material until I heard it. What makes this album so special is that this is what the Corrs excel themselves at: performing live! Sticking this CD in your stereo is the next best thing to this talented Irish quartet playing in your front room.
The cover of Everybody Hurts is my favourite but there are so many great tracks to choose from. "So Young" is lively and rousing and will make you clap along.
This album will more more than suffice until the new album is released. This is a not a cheap cash in, it's the business!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot like a studio album, 5 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Corrs - MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
The thing about The Corrs is that their music is already so acoustic-minded that the difference from their studio albums to this »MTV Unplugged« is really not that big.
This is simply brilliant Irish modern folk. Some of the band's best songs and an interesting (but not necessary) version of R.E.M.'s »Everybody Hurts«.
Very few bands make something really smashing out of their Unplugged sessions. The Corrs is an exception. Nearly. 'Cause I still think their studio versions of the songs featured on this album are a little bit better, having more power than the Unplugged versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly High Quality!!!, 13 Nov 1999
This review is from: The Corrs - MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
Normally I plough through live albums, not really enjoying it as the artist tries to match the studio versions. This is definitely NOT the case on this album. If anything, the songs and Andrea's voice sound even more assured than on the studio recorded albums! The orchestra really beefs-up the tracks and the new songs really make it a worthwhile purchase, especially as they're of the usual high standard. "Radio" is already a classic as far as I'm concerned. The real star of this album though, is Andrea's voice which is in stunning form throughout. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 12 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Corrs - MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
This album is the best Corrs one yet. I agree when people say that there have been lots of versions of TalK on Corners however they are all basically the same, you could say that the original one was an acoustic version and the special the chart version. Well all the tracks are good on this album but a a few tracks really grabbed me. Tracks such as "At your side", "What can i do" and "Old town". Now a days you know if a band are good by the way they perform live and this album shows us that The Corrs are the best band ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A studio quality live recording by a great band., 14 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Corrs - MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
OK, so we've heard a lot of the material before, but there is still enough quality in the new arrangements to make this a very worthwhile album. Backed by a string ensemble, The Corrs sound simply breath-taking, musically and especially vocally. Their harmonies are reminiscent of The Eagles and are of just as high a quality. Add in a couple of new songs, both of which are equally as good as anything before them, plus a sensational cover of the Phil Lynott song 'Old Town' and you have an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why bother with a studio release?, 4 Dec 1999
By 
Peter Cooper (Louth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Corrs - MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
Not owning 'Talk on Corners' I decided to buy this album after seeing some clips from it on MTV. Well, after listening to Talk on Corners and this, this album wins hands down. I'd be rather disappointed if I'd bought Talk on Corners.
My favourite tracks, Radio, Old Town and Forgiven Not Forgotten, don't even make an appearance on the studio album. Those songs that are both on this album and the studio release, they sound better on here! Giant thumbs up for this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Corrs - MTV Unplugged
The Corrs - MTV Unplugged by The Corrs (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews