Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splitting maul's best friend
I already own a Roughneck 8lb splitting maul and this wood grenade is just the right companion to it. What the maul doesn't deal with easily the grenade will. I had several 1.5ft diameter oak rounds that were difficult to break into. This grenade made short shrift of the lot. Just tap it in midway to the circumference and two or three whacks with the blunt end of the...
Published on 24 May 2012 by Mazzer

versus
122 of 131 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A occasional extra for the loggers' toolkit, but not essential
Make these grenades one of the last items in your toolkit, not the first.

Some reviews for these grenades overhype them as a magic solution to all your log-splitting woes. The truth is that no single tool will split all logs, and that in most cases there are better tools than this. They do have some limited uses, but some reviewers seem to be making the mistake...
Published 23 months ago by ClaireM


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splitting maul's best friend, 24 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roughneck 65504 Wood Grenade Splitting Wedge (DIY & Tools)
I already own a Roughneck 8lb splitting maul and this wood grenade is just the right companion to it. What the maul doesn't deal with easily the grenade will. I had several 1.5ft diameter oak rounds that were difficult to break into. This grenade made short shrift of the lot. Just tap it in midway to the circumference and two or three whacks with the blunt end of the maul splits the log with ease. I've never managed a four way split but frankly I didn't need it to. It deals with knotted wood very well too. It's not an alternative to a splitting maul but an adjunct. For quick splits the maul wins but for an accurate split you can't beat the grenade. The combination means you'll deal with anything. Get one! You'll not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roughneck wood grenade, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: Roughneck 65504 Wood Grenade Splitting Wedge (DIY & Tools)
This is just brilliant. Accepted that I have been splitting logs with an old axe and a sledgehammer rather than proper splitting wedges - but this is amazing. Tap it into a huge recalcitrant and knotted log and whack hard with sledgehammer 3 or 4 times and log splits. Very much recommended. You do need to be able to swing a sledgehammer though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 131 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A occasional extra for the loggers' toolkit, but not essential, 21 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Roughneck 65504 Wood Grenade Splitting Wedge (DIY & Tools)
Make these grenades one of the last items in your toolkit, not the first.

Some reviews for these grenades overhype them as a magic solution to all your log-splitting woes. The truth is that no single tool will split all logs, and that in most cases there are better tools than this. They do have some limited uses, but some reviewers seem to be making the mistake of trying to use the grenades when other tools would be much better.

I made that mistake at the outset. Thought that the grenade might be an all-purpose tool, but I learnt the hard way that there is a reason most people use an axe.

The reason is simply that the quickest and easiest way to split most logs is with a splitting axe or maul. Modest-sized logs will split easily with one well-aimed blow, and success in using a splitting axe is due more to practice and choice of axe than to strength. On the other hand, the grenade involves bending down to insert it before each cut, and at least two strikes to do what the axe can do in one blow (one positioning strike with a 2lb hammer, followed by a whack with the sledgehammer).

I am neither very strong nor very experienced, but it took only a few hours of practice for me to make reasonable progress splitting logs once I got a decent maul. A 2Kg 80cm maul was slow, but a 3Kg 90cm maul (similar to this Spear & Jackson Maul) much better, and although I'm not very strong, it didn't take long to learn to lift it properly. The main thing is to learn correct posture and to aim effectively, and then the job becomes much easier.

Effective aim is not just about accuracy. It is also about where to aim, and that depends on the log. Logs split better when seasoned, although it's often most convenient to split them while green, both to speed drying and to complete the processing before putting them in the logshed. Hardwood splits more cleanly than softwood, and smaller logs more easily than big ones -- with length being more critical than diameter. Twisted or knotted logs of any size are hard work, no matter what their condition, and are best left aside until you have had some practice.

When using a splitting axe, a novice will often try to aim for the centre of the log. This will work fine with a well-seasoned, un-knotted small log; but the bigger, greener and less straight the log, the less likely that is to be effective. You will find your own limits once you start using an axe, but with practice your will aim improve enough to allow you to choose where to hit it.

If you don't succeed in splitting the log down the centre, try closer to the edge. The heartwood is usually the strongest, but striking near the edge of the log's surface in a radial line (i.e. pointing to the centre) will often allow you to split it. If that doesn't work, trying splitting parallel to the edge, so that the axe blade forms a tangent to one of the rings. That technique only fails on very hard or long logs.

It's rare to find a log that won't split at all with an axe, but it's much more common to find a log which will only partly split. Further blows will usually split the rest of it, but if it's too stringy to split, then hammer in a wedge. That's an ordinary, long wedge, like this one; the grenade won't go in far enough to tear the log apart.

So what's the point of the grenade?

I have found only one use for it: opening the split when a straight wedge won't fit in, or breaking into a knotted log. Those are rare tasks, because I can usually get some sort of a starter split with the maul, and the wedge does the rest. So my grenades stay in the toolshed until I have built up a pile of tough knotted logs, and then I have a short session with it.

After learning to use the maul, I treated myself to a Fiskars X27. It cost over 60 (despite being only US$40 on Amazon.com), but I was persuaded by the fine reviews it gets all over the net, and it was well worth the money. It's beautifully-balanced, so it's easy to aim, and it's much lighter than the maul, so I can work faster and get less tired. I get so much wood split with the X27 that I now tend to discard the few bits of knotted wood that it can't handle ... and the grenades go unused.

So my log-splitting kit now consists of:

* A 3Kg maul
* An old car tyre to stand the logs up in, and stop the split pieces flying off
* A Fiskars X27 Spaltaxt
* Two straight wedges
* A lump hammer and a sledgehammer
* The wood grenades

The grenades are the only non-essential item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Short life, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roughneck 65504 Wood Grenade Splitting Wedge (DIY & Tools)
Short life, bits breaking off after every strike. Sheared in two after little use would not recommend or buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roughneck 65504 Wood Grenade, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Roughneck 65504 Wood Grenade Splitting Wedge (DIY & Tools)
Delivered within 48 hours. Due to the fact that this product is not symmetrical through 360 degrees it does not and will not split a log of any size into four pieces. I have been using it for two weeks and this has not failed to be the case. It is however very good for splitting logs into two pieces, and because it is pointed it is excellent for getting started into a log; one tap and it's in, then you can swing with a sledgehammer without having a nervous friend holding on to it! I have used it on logs of up to 18" diameter and 48" length (don't start it in the centre, start at halfway from centre to edge on logs this big) and it works a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 9 May 2012
By 
Mrs. Frances Mann (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roughneck 65504 Wood Grenade Splitting Wedge (DIY & Tools)
Does just as it is supposed to do. Even I a 60 year old woman can now split logs with no problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, 8 Sep 2010
By 
Colin Bannon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roughneck 65504 Wood Grenade Splitting Wedge (DIY & Tools)
It looks the business but I still have yet to split a log into four using it. It only splits it in half while i've used it (and I split a lot of wood). I still give this 4 stars as it is so much easier to get started than a normal splitting wedge due to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wood grenade log splitter, 17 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Roughneck 65504 Wood Grenade Splitting Wedge (DIY & Tools)
These seem to get mainly good reviews but a few not so good saying other tools are better (usually a big axe or maul ...........) so will just state my experiences ......... I have used one of these to split logs approx. 12 inches in diameter and at least 1 metre in length ............ logs had dried to develop split in top, point of grenade placed in centre then top hit with a club hammer (not a big sledge hammer) at each bash grenade went in about o.5 cm. Needed a few bashes but these were controlled and accurate, impossible to miss top of grenade which often happens if big hammer or axe used ......... by time grenade was about halfway in, logs split down whole length. I split these 12 inch logs into quarters the used reciprocating saw to cut into fire sized logs ......... brilliant device ........... prior to using grenade struggled with saw to cut through whole logs ................ I do have a chain saw but using grenade and reciprocating saw although slower is much safer,.......... I can easily highly recommend the wood grenade for use with big logs that have been left to dry out for a few months ......... UPDATE 9-1-2014 .......... used on 3 trees cut down by council, 12- 15" diameter trunks + club hammer giving great control, no wrenched shoulder which big felling axe might cause ..........enough wood for 3months fuel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a little gem of a tool - Superb!!, 12 Feb 2012
By 
R. Jackson (Cotswolds Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roughneck 65504 Wood Grenade Splitting Wedge (DIY & Tools)
My daughter gave me a 25 Amazon Voucher for Christmas 2011. Normally would have bought DVD's or Computer Gadgets - however with the inclement weather and the fact I had recently opened up a fireplace I hadn't used for years, I decided on cutting and splitting my own firewood/logs. I saw this item advertised in the S******x catalogue and then found it listed on Amazon. Having ordered it, the Splitting Wedge was with me in 3 days. Having now used it, I have found that using it with a sledgehammer, it is an invaluable little tool. Admitedly when you haven't swung a sledgehammer or axe for a few years, it is initially a bit strenuous on the back muscles - however when I think of how the axe used to stick in the logs, in comparison the Wood Grenade Splitting Wedge is much easier to use and much superior.
Can't understand anyone not giving this item a rave review - mind you like other Reviewers I did find it didn't split the logs in "four" as it is advertised to do - but it just means having to split the two halves again to make manageable for putting in the fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does what it says on the tin, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
moved in to a house with a log burner, last occupants left a supply of logs unable to split with an axe to hard and big (please note i am the size of a small house). Bought a log grenade and it worked like magic 10 minutes 3 huge logs split and almost a weeks worth of fire wood, absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews