Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars30
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2000
This wasn't the first James Taylor album I bought, not by any means, but it is by far the best! Every song is sung with such meaning, each song brings something different to the table. There is not one bum track on this record, everything is covered, from the recent passing of James' brother, to a song about a dirty old "hangnail", it's all here. At times sad and reflective, at others, happy and playful. There are some definate all-time favorites here. "Line 'em Up" and "Enough To Be On Your Way" are just two of my all time greats. One excellent ballad on Hourglass is "Boatman", written by Livingston Taylor, (James' brother), but performed by James in a way only he can. His voice is so much nicer and warmer than it used to be and there is no doubt that he is at the peak of his carrer, despite all his years in the buisness. That teamed with the dedication to Don Grolnick, (James' long time piano player and 'musical director') and that it was one of the last albums that the great Carlos Vega played on, makes this one of the best CD's you are ever likely to own.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2001
What an amazing record. James Taylors ouput has always been good but with this CD he certainly reaches new heights. He seems to be totally at peace with himself and the album flows from start to finish with beautiful arrangements, great lyrics and that truly marvellous, mellow, emotive voice.
Get this CD and then after a hard days work pour yourself a glass of wine, turn the lights down and immerse yourself in the warm glow of JT at his very best.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2000
Instantly an album that you`ll grow to love - not that you`ll need to however. For the first moment the cd spins, you`ll be hooked. Every bit five stars whether a Jt fan or not. Recommended as first buy, even though i`ve only had it a couple of months.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
James Taylor has a distinctive style, a kind of laid-back, contemplative country-folk-rock. No stranger to the kind of sorrow and regret that's fuelled a lot of music in all three genres, he nevertheless maintains a kind of Stoic optimism in many of his songs that makes them quietly uplifting to listen to. He's ploughed this furrow for the whole of a career that began in the late '60s. It's what puts his early album, 'Sweet Baby James', into a very rare category, i.e. an album I can listen to in any mood or state of mind and still enjoy a lot.
This 1997 album is very much in same vein. It's full of catchy tunes, thoughtful lyrics and those much underrated qualities, sweetness, warmth and generosity of spirit. The resulting album stands easily and well alongside the very best in his career, including the two greats referred to in my title. I shan't name any stand-out tracks because all of them are pretty much equally good.
So, if you're a fan of Taylor's early work, I can highly recommend this one to add to your collection. It's up there with the best of 'em.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2009
As a fan of James Taylor this was one album missing from my collection.I had not previewed the song collection prior to purchase but was not disappointed.
A very smooth production of tracks, some personal and introspective(typical of JT)but with the odd quirky or old standard song thrown in.It all works though,and definitely grows on you from the first play.
Don't miss it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
This album is just awesome...there are no other words. Very few albums have made me go "yeah that's just brilliant" right from the first listen...but this one did. It was the first album of James Taylor's that I bought and I have been a fan ever since.

My blog even has a review of it where I give my views on a track by track kind of deal....go read it of you want :) Or not...up to you but nothing changes the fact that this is an awesome album
[...]
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
love all J.Ts songs, takes me back to 70s
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Another great album by James Taylor. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
The best James Taylor album I've heard. Great harmonies, instrumental solos, everything.

The only fly in the ointment is the very obvious explicitive, which prevents me playing it for kids!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
Nothing revelatory a reminder that music can soothe the savage breast,Dig out your cheese-cloth shirt and faded denims a glass of chilled wine,relax and repeat,
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)