Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The One !
This is the one. The album where Martin Taylor has finally found his niche.Now signed to Sony /Columbia he has assembled a classy collection of tracks recorded in Nashville and New York backed by top musicians such as Randy Brecker, Eddie Gomez and Matt Rollings.The album is pure cool from the title track through covers of TV themes The Odd Couple and Hawaii Five O...
Published on 31 July 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Martin Taylor is a technically brilliant guitarist, but "too nice" for my taste.
This Martin Taylor recording dates from c1999, recorded in America with American musicians unknown to me. The tracks have varying combinations of musicians. One track is solo, some duets, some with a string quartet, and yet other combinations. The choice of music seems to film scores, popular songs but no "jazz standards" (the title track is composed by pianist...
Published 1 month ago by R. Bawden jazz fan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The One !, 31 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kiss And Tell (Audio CD)
This is the one. The album where Martin Taylor has finally found his niche.Now signed to Sony /Columbia he has assembled a classy collection of tracks recorded in Nashville and New York backed by top musicians such as Randy Brecker, Eddie Gomez and Matt Rollings.The album is pure cool from the title track through covers of TV themes The Odd Couple and Hawaii Five O. Best track though is the Joey Calderazzo- composed Midnight Voyage which drifts and swings in equal measure. Martin Taylor has long been admired and respected in the UK. This is the album that should launch him as an international star.Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sit back, relax and enjoy pure genius, 31 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kiss And Tell (Audio CD)
Martin Taylor is one of guitar's greats and this album is relaxed, atmospheric and very classy. A very accessible jazz album full of melody, expression and fluid movement. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Martin Taylor is a technically brilliant guitarist, but "too nice" for my taste., 10 April 2015
This review is from: Kiss And Tell (Audio CD)
This Martin Taylor recording dates from c1999, recorded in America with American musicians unknown to me. The tracks have varying combinations of musicians. One track is solo, some duets, some with a string quartet, and yet other combinations. The choice of music seems to film scores, popular songs but no "jazz standards" (the title track is composed by pianist David Newton).
I have seen Martin Taylor a few times in concert playing this type of music (he also does "Django recreation"). Undoubtedly a fine and competent guitarist who has a firm fan base, but I find his playing "too nice" and lacking in a jazz / blues feeling. Give me Kenny Burrell or Grant Green anytime.
Not my cup of tea, but Taylor fans may well disagree with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, relaxing album, 21 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss And Tell (Audio CD)
I often listen to this album as calming background music. When my mum, who is not into jazz, heard it she loved it, so I have now bought her a copy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C.D for jazz and guitar, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiss And Tell (Audio CD)
My father got me to order this as he heard the artist on the radio. He is very happy with it and plays it all the time,especially when he is washing up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oops, 21 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Kiss And Tell (Audio CD)
Martin Taylor is an excellent player. This disc however is weak and lacklustre, it just does not work, though a couple of tracks are better than others it just never gets going until the very end when you have almost given up on it there is a long delay before an extended version of the last track which confirms that yes, he could branch out from Gypsy jazz. Sorry. (There is also a dedication track which is excellent) Oops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiss And Tell
Kiss And Tell by Martin Taylor (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews