Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect introduction to the clash
The clash were a punk band that pushed some boundries, toured to death and then split up, for the rest of the story check Don Letts' Westway to the world. This cd st is a ghreat way to listen to clash, it has all the hits and containssome of the best album tracks lacking from the poorly visioned singles album. For fans it's worth getting for new (in 1987) versions of this...
Published on 23 Feb 2003 by The Chad Who Loved Me

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I never liked the Clash and this cd sealed it
I watched a great documentary on the Clash on BBC3 and decided at the age of 42 that I should have a Clash cd in my collection despite never seeing the appeal in their records in the past. I should have trusted my instincts, as apart from a couple of their well known singles and Police & Thieves, their music is extremely tedious and very 80's sounding. I cannot emphasise...
Published 11 months ago by Mr Anthony Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect introduction to the clash, 23 Feb 2003
This review is from: The Story Of The Clash Volume 1 (Audio CD)
The clash were a punk band that pushed some boundries, toured to death and then split up, for the rest of the story check Don Letts' Westway to the world. This cd st is a ghreat way to listen to clash, it has all the hits and containssome of the best album tracks lacking from the poorly visioned singles album. For fans it's worth getting for new (in 1987) versions of this is radio clash, rock the casbah and magnificent 7 as well as the hard to find 1977 capital radio interview. For people like me i had to get Clash On Broadway, which holds all the cuts featured here and some more, which is why for Real diehards tyhis is now defunct. Still this cd is the best overview of the clash's time together. If you don't have the albums you should defintley have this, for white man, casbah, Armagideon time, straightto hell, stay free, janie jones and best of all Bankrobber, of corse the rest are ace but Bankrobber is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of THE BEST, 12 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Story Of The Clash Volume 1 (Audio CD)
What can i say? Perhaps the greatest rock/punk group bar non, and these two cd's really bring out the best of the clash. All the songs are the best they've done and to have them all on one album what more can you ask for? eg. i fought the law, classic; london calling, classic; should i stay or should i stay, classic, the rest may not be classics but they deserve to be. I wish more bands were like this, hard, strong, and regardless not like todays bands like travis and coldplay. Thank you Joe, Mick, Paul and Topper for making the best music. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent-7, It's just..............BRILL!, 22 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Story Of The Clash Volume 1 (Audio CD)
Well I'm only 12 years of age but I can honestly say that I know every song on this album off by heart! I believe that the Clash are the all time favourite punk/rock bands!......Ever! It is a dissapointment to me that there are not more artists around today like the Clash. I would like for the Clash to release another album but I doubt that this will happen. Any song by the Clash is Superb and I hope that punk/rock music comes into fashion in the near future. Thank-you Clash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of career., 24 Dec 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Story Of The Clash Volume 1 (Audio CD)
This was the first Clash album I owned & a great introduction to a great band. Strangely the first Clash-related songs I'd heard were Clash MarkII's This is England (from the terrible Cut the Crap) & BAD's E=MC2; not long after that I heard Combat Rock classics Rock the Casbah & Should I Stay or Should I Go. When this came out in the late 80's, this became as much a part of my life as albums like Surfer Rosa, 3 Feet High & Rising, Sign 'O' The Times & The Stone Roses. I've gone back to this compilation since hearing the tragic news that Joe Strummer has died- not that I'd really stopped listening to The Clash (though I'm more of a Sandinista-London Calling-Combat Rock person these days).
The Story of The Clash takes in their career from 77's eponymous debut to 82's Combat Rock (their last with Mick Jones- though fans ought to check out the Strummer/Jones BAD album No10 Upping St). Unlike bands like The Sex Pistols, The Clash had a diverse sense of music- taking the influence of Don Letts DJ-ing into their music (see the last years Lett's compilation)- other bands that would follow this avenue, fusing punk with dub would include PIL, The Slits, Gang of Four, The Pop Group, This Heat etc.
The early tracks are classic punk thrashes- White Riot, Janie Jones (used in Bringing Out the Dead), London's Burning & Career Opportunities. Their next songs would advance on this- witness the classic (White Man)In Hammersmith Palais, the Lee Perry-produced Complete Control & songs like Tommy Gun & Safe European Home from the derided Give 'Em Enough Rope.
Several songs are from the classic double album London Calling: the title track ("phoney Beatlemania has bitten the dust"), Spanish Bombs, Clampdown, Train in Vain, Lost in the Supermarket & Paul Simonon's classic Guns of Brixton (as sampled by Norman Cook on Dub Be Good to Me). This album has to be owned- as space dictates no room for greats like Rudie Can't Fail, I'm Not Down & Brand New Cadillac.
There are a few out-takes here- generally found on the Super Black Market Clash & Broadway compilations- Armagideon Time (the original is used in the great Ghost Dog: Way of the Samurai), Capitol Radio & This is Radio Clash (moving towards the BAD/hip-hop sound). Even better are a few tracks from the brilliant-triple album Sandinista!: The Magnificent Seven (early 80's NY club sound, pre-New Order)& Somebody Got Murdered (pre-dating the urban themes of NWA, Wu-Tang etc). Just two tracks from this 30plus set? This is The Clash album waiting to be rediscovered, the one that grows on repeated listens- great songs like Charlie Don't Surf, Lightning Strikes, Call Up, Broadway, One More Time etc. Feted bands like Radio 4 owe this album a lot- and it shows a lot more musical experimentation/imagination than Lydon who had stalled with Flowers of Romance. The Pistols sound like Eddie Cochran compared...
The final official Clash album, Combat Rock, was huge in the States- paving the way for bands like U2- Should I Stay...has become a bit overfamiliar, Rock the Casbah is one of the greatest pop songs ever (sampled by Will Smith!)- nice to see that albums best track, Straight to Hell on this (this would give the title to Alex Cox's Spaghetti Western with Strummer, Shane MacGowan & Courtney Love of 1986- has to be seen!).
The Story of The Clash is a great compilation, though I think EVERYTHING has to be owned (especially Don Lett's Westway to the World). They stood by their word and didn't reform, which took balls. No sloppy 2nd reunion for them. A reminder of a great, great band- who right now appear to have been the greatest British band of all time. Strummer may be gone, but he leaves behind a rich legacy and one of the finest back catalogues available these days- it is here that he will never die. When will we have a band as great as this again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story Of The Clash (Audio CD)
Fantastic compilation, lots of hits that everyone can enjoy and done songs you may not know, brilliant CD for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story Of The Clash Volume 1 (Audio CD)
The definitive Clash collection? A great collection of most of the Clash's greatest tracks in one little package but I am sure some Clash fans would disagree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story Of The Clash (Audio CD)
all there best on one cd , one of the great punk artists that ever was, recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Story of the Clash I (Audio CD)
just a fantastic album. this is just enough words to complete the required minimum number of words before posting enabled
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 2 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Story Of The Clash Volume 1 (Audio CD)
Whether you are a CLash fanatic or just have a passing interest in one of the best English rock bands ever, you are sure to love this CD. It has never been out of my CD player! Everyone who is interested in rock music should own this album! Thankyou Clash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what The Clash were all about., 12 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen Reid (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story Of The Clash Volume 1 (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this album, I own everything they ever released. This is a fine overview of their output, but you shouldn't buy it from Amazon. Why? Because if The Clash were about one thing, they were about social justice. If you understand this you understand The Clash. Amazon has shamelessly abrogated its tax responsibilities to this country, an attitude which I would bet my soul would apall Joe, Mick, Paul and Topper. Remember The Clash were the band who cared about their fans, even to the point of losing money in order to keep album prices low. Please don't buy this (or indeed anything) from Amazon UK until they face up to their fiscal responsibility. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story Of The Clash Volume 1
The Story Of The Clash Volume 1 by The Clash (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews