Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST MUSICALS OF ALL TIME...
Bernstein wrote himself into the annals of musical history with the score that he composed for West Side Story, a nineteen fifties version of Romeo and Juliet, and Stephen Sondheim did it justice with the terrific lyrics he wrote, which made the music soar even higher. This a musical that has entered the popular consciousness with good reason. Who hasn't heard the beauty...
Published on 10 Nov. 2002 by Lawyeraau

versus
57 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of energy, but sadly lacking in precision.
This soundtrack recording taken from the oscar winning film contains all the excitement, energy and flair that you would expect from a recording of a Bernstein score. However, it also contains some noticeably poor performances from those involved in it's production. Some members of the Jets and Sharks were clearly chosen for their ability to dance rather than for their...
Published on 21 Oct. 2002 by MR O P ELTON


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST MUSICALS OF ALL TIME..., 10 Nov. 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: West Side Story Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
Bernstein wrote himself into the annals of musical history with the score that he composed for West Side Story, a nineteen fifties version of Romeo and Juliet, and Stephen Sondheim did it justice with the terrific lyrics he wrote, which made the music soar even higher. This a musical that has entered the popular consciousness with good reason. Who hasn't heard the beauty and poetry of "Maria", the expectant poignancy of "Tonight", or the eternally hopeful "Somewhere" and not been touched, especially when sung, as they are here, by Jim Bryant and Marnie Nixon? There is also the upbeat "America" and "I Feel Pretty", which are ensemble songs geared to showcase Jerome Robbins' choreography to perfection. This is a magnificent CD that should be a part of any collection, as it contains music which would make angels weep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding 'classic' recording, 16 May 2005
This review is from: West Side Story Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
So much has been said about West Side Story, which is universally regarded as one of the best recordings ever made, that it needs little in the way criticism. Suffice to say that there are a number of releases of the original soundtrack - of which this is clearly (pun intended) the best. The 2004 20-bit remastered and extended version is a failure and best avoided, with the energy, presence and detail of the original transfer sucked out of it.
An all-time classic, still technically outstanding after more than 40 years, and a reference point in the history of recording technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of energy, but sadly lacking in precision., 21 Oct. 2002
By 
MR O P ELTON (Oxford, Oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: West Side Story Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
This soundtrack recording taken from the oscar winning film contains all the excitement, energy and flair that you would expect from a recording of a Bernstein score. However, it also contains some noticeably poor performances from those involved in it's production. Some members of the Jets and Sharks were clearly chosen for their ability to dance rather than for their polished singing. At the beginning of the 'Quintet', for example, the Sharks are hideously out of tune and not necessarily singing the correct words. Also, there is some shoddy playing from the woodwind in the 'Prologue'. Having said that, the percussion are very good, and the trumpets, absolutely outstanding with some gravity defying acrobatics in the 'Dance at the Gym'. Natalie Wood does, of course, shine as Maria and is competently supported throughout by Tony. It is worth buying this recording just for its moment in cinema history and the sheer enthusiasm of the artists involved. But, if you're looking for a tight and precise account of Bernstein's incredible score, then I would suggest a more recent recording would be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great film......, 1 April 2013
By 
Bagpuss "psychic thriller enthusiast" (Milford,North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West Side Story Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
and a wonderful soundtrack which stands the test of time. In my view this is the best recording of this music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West Side Story Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
I have always been a big fan of West Side Story did have a r ecord ing on tape but not good sound so when I saw this I had to have it
the music is so vibrant and also poignant and as it is the original soundtrack but much better quality, I would recommend this to
anyone who is a fan!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West Side Story Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
Not sure what to write in this review that won't be stating the obvious. This original soundtrack of the film is wonderful and brings the film back as you listen. Even my kids who haven't seen the film appreciate the passion behind the songs. A 'tour de force' to use a jaded phrase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love west side story, 2 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West Side Story Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
I loved west side story and the film is a classic,but bought for a Xmas present for person who saw the film when it came out first and hopefully will love this cd. Being the original soundtrack will be able to relive the film song by song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Soundtrack, 25 Mar. 2010
By 
Mrs. B. J. Harrison (Hamilton, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: West Side Story Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
Although the recording on this CD is now several years old, it has lost none of its charm. The music is by Leaonard Bernstein, with lyrics by Stephen Sondheim. The drama of the music combines superbly with the brilliance of the lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's WSS!, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: West Side Story Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
This was a replacement CD as I leant mine out for it never to be returned!
What can I say! It's Sondheim and, in my opinion, the best musical ever composed!
This is the definitive recording if you've grown up with the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Jun. 2008
This review is from: West Side Story Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
I have known this album since i was 4 years old. Had In on vinyl for a long time. Got all the pretend versions (kiritikanawa or what ever you call her, and all the others) This is the best. So to all the knockers. YOU HAV'NT GOT A CLUE. Or get a decent Hi Fi system. I thank you. Good delivery service from Amazon as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

West Side Story Original Soundtrack Recording
West Side Story Original Soundtrack Recording by Leonard Bernstein (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews