Customer Reviews
Alf


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birth of a diva
It's a testament to the strength of Alison Moyet's first solo album that, all these years later, her music is still measured by it (which is a bit unfair, given the quality of her two best and, bizarrely, unavailable albums, "Hoodoo" and "Essex". But I digress...). "Alf" deservedly sold by the shedload and firmly established Alison Moyet as...
Published on 25 Oct. 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Stick with the vinyl
Poor quality recording, stick to the vinyl.
Published 8 days ago by Kev Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birth of a diva, 25 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Alf (Audio CD)
It's a testament to the strength of Alison Moyet's first solo album that, all these years later, her music is still measured by it (which is a bit unfair, given the quality of her two best and, bizarrely, unavailable albums, "Hoodoo" and "Essex". But I digress...). "Alf" deservedly sold by the shedload and firmly established Alison Moyet as a great soul diva. Indeed few singers can come close to her ability to convey emotion without resorting to histrionics.
Following the demise of the influential Yazoo, the public's great expectations were met big time with "Alf", which is accomplished, assured and irresistable. Only three tracks were released as A-sides in the UK ("Love Resurrection", "All Cried Out" and "Invisible") but there were at least two further potential smash hits here in the shape of the groovy "Honey For The Bees" (subsequently covered by American soul star, Patti Austin) and the gorgeous ballad, "For You Only". The closing track, "Where Hides Sleep", raises goosebumps with its ethereal harmonies weaving and waltzing over a swaying rhythm track. The rootsy "Steal Me Blind" is probably closer to what people expected of Alison and the lyric reflects her comments in a contemporary interview where she mentioned that some of her friends treated her like a bank.
Producers Tony Swain and Steve Jolly left their mark on this album and, overall, the synth-based sound is probably closer to the Yazoo sound than Alison might have liked. Certainly this fan was expecting something a bit rawer than "Alf" (Alison finally delivered on this with her masterpiece, "Hoodoo"). Still, with so many great songs, it's impossible to fault this collection. Maybe some day Sony will please us all by re-mastering this album and including the rare B-sides "Baby I Do", "Hitch Hike" and "Don't Burn Down The Bridges". For now, this is a mid-price must-have. Treat yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars alison moyet..the queen!!!, 26 Feb. 2007
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alf (Audio CD)
this cd is amazing! the vocals are 500% and the sound is fresh and clear! it was 1984 but these songs stand the test of time!

"love ressurection" was the first single and its great...i remember skipping school to go and by the single..good old days! its a powerhouse of a song both musically and lyrically! haunting at times..desperate..but beautiful..rumour has has it was about someone not getting an erection...but that may be hearsay!

"honey for the bees" is wonderful in mega proportions..it has it all and should have been a single!

"for you only" is a beautiful slow down...amazing lyrics...beautifully sung!

"invisible" by the people behind diana ross and the supremes..is an amzing song..it was the third single..and didnt do to well but then everybody had bought the album! its great heart stopping vocals!

"steal me blind" is great..it shows what alison moved on to but this is accessable..whereas her blues stuff she did after is a bit yawn!

"all cried out" in its full 12" glory! is an amazing piece of pop history!

simply stunning!

"money mile" with its layered vocals is fantastic...god knows what its about..but ithe performance and production is 10/10

"twisting the knife" is a great track.."where hides sleep" with layered vocals from the offset almost makes you want to cry! its beautiful and amzing and then in the middle miss moyet goes all out and lets rip with all the power she has!

alison says she doesnt like this album..she didnt want to make it..she bowed to record company pressure...but millions of record buyers cannot be wrong!

one of the best albums from the 80s..buy without fear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still A Great Album, 2 Jan. 2015
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Alf (Audio CD)
It was back in 1984 and Alison Moyet went solo, giving us this, her debut album, which is still a treat to listen to these many years later. There is something still enjoyable and meaningful in listening to this, and it has for me at least still remained one of my favourite albums. With a new live album, and on tour this year, for this fantastic singer it is great to look back and listen to this album once again.

Moyet has a Blues type voice, and this really shows on some of the tracks here which is full of great and unforgettable songs. Moyet had the production team of Jolley and Swain, and co-wrote the songs here, except for ‘Invisible’ which was written by the great Lamont Dozier. ‘Invisible’ I must admit is a particular favourite of mine and I am sure it is a song that we can all relate to, most of us experiencing it at some time or another.

Some may argue that this is old stuff, but who cares? There is something quite raw and emotional about this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debut Classic 1984 Album, 22 Dec. 1999
This review is from: Alf (Audio CD)
In 1984 Alison launched her solo career with the outstanding Love Reseurrection and was a taster of what was to come from the excellent album "Alf".
Since then Alison has moved on musically but this serves as a great reminder if one was needed of her great talent as both singer and songwriter.
Alison co-wrote all the songs with Tony Swain and Steve Joley with the exception of "Invisible" a Lamont Dozier Song.
Most of you will already have this record in your collection but standout tracks are:
Love Resurrection For You Only Invisible - any motown singer will kill for this Steal Me Blind All Cried Out Money Mile Where Hides Sleep - stunning song
Alf belongs up there with all the great classic albums it is an excellent record time may have moved on but we all have our memories.
Check out Alison's offical site: [...]
A new album is in the offfing...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SENSATIONAL DEBUT!, 23 Oct. 2007
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Alf (Audio CD)
Alison Moyet's debut album could not have been better or more perfect. When album material, and not just singles get as good as 'Honey For the Bees', 'For You Only' and 'Steal Me Blind', then you're on a one-way-ticket to listening pleasure! 'Honey For The Bees' could have been a massive hit for Imagination just a couple of years earlier during their chart reign - it is so 'them', yet Moyet, as always, makes it her very own. If 'Invisible' had been released as the first single from this album, then I have no doubt whatsoever in believing that it would have reached number one and given Alison her first chart topper. Despite the late issue of this single, (and I understand this was by public demand only) it went on to bubble under the top twenty for so long, it still sold its self-worth, and she received a silver disc for the high sales. (for those that may be interested: the 12" version of this is absolutely sensational and is a 'must have' for any Moyet fan) I am never too happy when 12" mixes are placed on albums - for some reason they always appear out of place some way - however good they may be, but 'All Cried Out' is an exception here. An album has to be good that only has nine tracks, and I guess that this is a perfect example of that statement. Seldom do singers who come from a previously successful group have such tremendous success with their first solo album, but Alison Moyet unmistakably has it here without any problems at all!

Oh my, oh my... whatever happened to pop music when it used to be SO good... Come back yesterday - all is forgiven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alf (Audio CD)
bought it when in retro mood- not as good as I'd remembered but enjoyed singing along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
This review is from: Alf (Audio CD)
brilliant alf is very good had it on cassette before cds thank you ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alf - Alison Moyet, 30 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alf (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as I am trying to recreate my old vinyl library on modern media. In my view ALF has always been the best Alison Moyet album. All the songs capture that wonderful husky quality in her voice and this album has a good selection of her most haunting recordings. I have played this several times in quick succession since buying it and my family have now confined it to my car CD player as they say you can have too much of a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alf (Audio CD)
given as a gift (played regularly i am told)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Stick with the vinyl, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alf (Audio CD)
Poor quality recording, stick to the vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alf
Alf by Alison Moyet (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews