Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifique, 3 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: So...How's Your Girl (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album.Agreat mix of rock, hip hop and easy listening. Sunshine shines with its brilliance and with collaborations with so many great artists it is a pleasure to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE!, 26 Mar 2002
This review is from: So...How's Your Girl (Audio CD)
If you are a hip hop fan like me, you will adore this record. Dan ('my man') the Automator along with Prince Paul exell themselves with this composition including many, many famous and infamous artists - from the MC's themselves, to Dj's such as Shadow putting his input in. I must say, if I could add ore stars to the rating I could - great buy! For mine and your sanity buy this please! (but don't tell too many people!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy Me!, 25 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: So...How's Your Girl (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely excellent - genuinely interesting music with loads of style and attitude. It's worth it just for track number 7, 'The Truth' which features Roisin from Moloko on vocals and MC'ing by J-Live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lush, chilled, innovative hip hop beats., 8 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: So...How's Your Girl (Audio CD)
Amazing stuff, I have only had this for 24 hours and already it is one of my most favorite things, if you liked the Herbalizer, you will love this one, the word needs to be spread. A huge display of different talents come togther to produce one of the most innovative, intelligent examples of modern hip-hop. Just the list of guests bringing their influences to this album is enough to promote it, Mike D, Moloko, DJ Shadow, Money Mark, De La Soul and even Alec Empire. The overall vibe is of sheer class, with underlaying periods of chill (Sunshine) and even occasional periods of maniacal activity (Megaton B-Boy 2000). There really isn't much more to say about this album other than buy it, if you are into MoWax/Ninja Tune style dope beats, you can't go wrong. Say no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Da phatest album aiiight, 14 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: So Hows Your Girl [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Dan the automator has done it once again! Automator's distinct sound of using cuts from every type of music and spoken word available make it worth the price of admission alone. But add onto that, Prince Paul's genious, and scads of guests, like DJ Koala, DJ Shadow, Del the Funky Homosapian, Sadat X, and tons I can't remember right now, and you get an album that will never collect dust. What sets this album apart from other hip hop albums is particularly the music, which is often hastily done or overlooked by other programmers, but not by the Automator. I strongly reccomend this album, and if you like this, try Dr Octogon for som freaky fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE!, 26 Mar 2002
This review is from: So...How's Your Girl (Audio CD)
If you are a hip hop fan like me, you will adore this record. Dan ('my man') the Automator along with Prince Paul exell themselves with this composition including many, many famous and infamous artists - from the MC's themselves, to Dj's such as Shadow putting his input in. I must say, if I could add ore stars to the rating I could - great buy! For mine and your sanity buy this please! (but don't tell too many people!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome..great cd to start your millenium with!, 23 Jan 2000
By 
David Ramsay (Halifax, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So...How's Your Girl (Audio CD)
the album is packed with cool tunes, experimentation, and class. It sounds out as an early pretender to a possible album of the year..it will take some beating.
With the influence of mike d (beastie boys) and from prince paul and put out on tommy boy, you know that you have a classic on your hands.
the album's opener rock n' roll, is straight out at you, a great first track with some heavy beastie boys/cypress hill similarities, the sublime metaphysical, currently being aired on the radio is a good indication of how far hip-hop has come over the years.
i don't normally feel the need to review albums, but this one deserves your attention, go buy it.
dixie(leeds)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic Curriculum!, 6 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: So...How's Your Girl (Audio CD)
This lp has everything that is lacking in contemporary hip hop. Hip hop has it's roots in eclecticism:-see Bambaata's early mixing and matching. Flash's contrasting of heavy funk and rock music. Despite this much modern rap is perpetuating the same dull cliches, being a pimp, playa, slanging rocks etc privelleged over creativity.
It is no accident that Prince Paul, the man who produced the ground breaking "3 ft high and rising" is behind this project. The only draw-back is the rather weak joke that is used as a premise for the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

So...How's Your Girl
So...How's Your Girl by Handsome Boy Modeling School (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews