Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!
I won't waffle on....but, I will say that Love In The Time Of Science is a moving collection of happy, laid back, dark and disturbing songs from an Icelandic girl who will go far. From the sunny sounds of 'Unemployed In The Summertime', 'Summerbreeze' and 'Easy' to the dubby, menacing beats of 'Dead Things' and 'Fingertips', the lyrics are almost schizophrenic, dicing...
Published on 25 Dec 1999 by Mr. Stuart Martin

versus
14 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars M.O.R
in my reckoning this is quite an average album, in that it doesnt get played, or remembered much, but i have copied a few tracks from it and those do. its probably a bit unfair to compare her with bjork as she seems to have little in common apart from the sound of her voice, which is (kind of) bjork-esque (but she doesnt push her voice as far, and nor does she need to...
Published on 19 Feb 2005 by rarfty_barnfather


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 25 Dec 1999
This review is from: Love in the Time of Science (Audio CD)
I won't waffle on....but, I will say that Love In The Time Of Science is a moving collection of happy, laid back, dark and disturbing songs from an Icelandic girl who will go far. From the sunny sounds of 'Unemployed In The Summertime', 'Summerbreeze' and 'Easy' to the dubby, menacing beats of 'Dead Things' and 'Fingertips', the lyrics are almost schizophrenic, dicing with demons and dancing with angels in the same line. WOW. The track 'Telepathy' could be the next Bond theme with its soft and then dramatic crescendos. I really can't bare to be not listening to this album. It's my medicine. A definite recommendation to those who like the sound of Massive Attack, Portishead with a small helping of Bjork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in a word beautiful, 5 Jun 2004
By 
claire roberts (victoria, australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love in the Time of Science (Audio CD)
i first fell in love with emiliana in the movie Crazy/Beautiful with 'to be free', to such an extent that i got this album imported to australia. i was not let down.
a self-described drama-queen and dreamer, emiliana brings a playful vibe to music that would otherwise be quite melancholic.
very much an 'easy listening Bjork' or 'female Magnet', the music can be used as a background for almost any emotion. superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love "Science", 22 Jan 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love in the Time of Science (Audio CD)
Most people have heard her unique vocals, singing the hauntingly, sorrowfully creepy "Gollum's Song" during the closing credits of "Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers." But very few people know Icelandic singer Emiliana Torrini by name. Which is a shame, because her trip-hop/electronica album, "Love in the Time of Science," is a unforgettable one.
While sitting firmly on a seat of trip-hop and gentle pop, Torrini stretches her wings with a variety of musical types. It's made up of light electronica like the cool, sweet "To Be Free," and murky pop ballads with a slightly morbid edge. "Keep my daughter in a jar/she can't get out/she won't go far," Torrini croons in one song.
She keeps the cool, dark edge with the eerie "Wednesday's Child" and "Telepathy," the offbeat jazz of "Dead Things," and even a few songs that are fun and upbeat pop, singing about friends who hang out and goof around in the summertime. There's even alien avant-pop that defies classification, where Torrini sings creepily about how tuna fish float with "bellies to the moon."
Comparisons to Bjork are inevitable, since they hail from the same country and have similar vocal styles. However, Torrini's music is smoother and less distant, less electronic and more organic. It's also graced with more traditional instrumentation and a warmer sound. Her music is a different shade of electronica-pop.
Her voice has a haunted, slightly eerie quality. Furthermore, it has the flexibility to be warm one moment, chilly and creepy the next, allowing her to gracefully slide from one kind of song to another. Her thick Icelandic accent makes her singing even more enchanting.
The writing of the songs ranges from surreal (the eerily creepy "Tuna Fish") to pleasantly ordinary (the delicate ballad "Summerbreeze"), using simple and evocative words for jumbled feelings. "But if it's so good being free/Would you mind telling me/Why I don't know what to do with myself?" she asks plaintively at the very start.
Far from a Bjork clone, Emiliana Torrini produces a superb solo album. Combining the best of electronica, pop and jazz, "Love in the Time of Science" is startlingly memorable and well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Startlingly good..., 6 May 2001
By 
Luke Owen (Celebration, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love in the Time of Science (Audio CD)
This is one amazing woman. Such a voice! This album is a motley bunch of songs with one common element: that voice. It is an odd mix of Bjork (sorry, it's inevitable) and Nelly Furtado. The music is chill out for the most part...very "meditate". Aside from the two harder songs Dead Things and Telepathy, this is the kind of music you could go to sleep to...kinda like Groove Armada. Telepathy should be candidate for the next 007 theme (sounds like something by Garbage or odd modernised Slade) as it is truly mind-bogglingly good. Summerbreeze reminds me of buttercups and daisies. Unemployed In Summertime and Easy make me smile. To Be Free makes me cry. This album is essential for anyone who likes chill out dance music, meditation, Bjork, or smiling. So buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, what an album., 30 May 2006
By 
NG (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love in the Time of Science (Audio CD)
One of a kind, fantastic CD. Every song sparkles. I must have heard over 2000 albums. This is my favourite, the only one that has ever moved me to write a review so that more people hear it. Read the other reviews for the detail. Believe me you want to treat yourself and buy this ASAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love "Science", 22 Mar 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Most people have heard her unique vocals, singing the hauntingly, sorrowfully creepy "Gollum's Song" during the closing credits of "Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers." But very few people know Icelandic singer Emiliana Torrini by name. Which is a shame, because her trip-hop/electronica album, "Love in the Time of Science," is a unforgettable one.

While sitting firmly on a seat of trip-hop and gentle pop, Torrini stretches her wings with a variety of musical types. It's made up of light electronica like the cool, sweet "To Be Free," and murky pop ballads with a slightly morbid edge. "Keep my daughter in a jar/she can't get out/she won't go far," Torrini croons in one song.

She keeps the cool, dark edge with the eerie "Wednesday's Child" and "Telepathy," the offbeat jazz of "Dead Things," and even a few songs that are fun and upbeat pop, singing about friends who hang out and goof around in the summertime. There's even alien avant-pop that defies classification, where Torrini sings creepily about how tuna fish float with "bellies to the moon."

Comparisons to Bjork are inevitable, since they hail from the same country and have similar vocal styles. However, Torrini's music is smoother and less distant, less electronic and more organic. It's also graced with more traditional instrumentation and a warmer sound. Her music is a different shade of electronica-pop.

Her voice has a haunted, slightly eerie quality. Furthermore, it has the flexibility to be warm one moment, chilly and creepy the next, allowing her to gracefully slide from one kind of song to another. Her thick Icelandic accent makes her singing even more enchanting.

The writing of the songs ranges from surreal ("Tuna Fish") to pleasantly ordinary ("Summerbreeze"), using simple and evocative words for jumbled feelings. "But if it's so good being free/Would you mind telling me/Why I don't know what to do with myself?" she asks plaintively at the very start.

Far from a Bjork clone, Emiliana Torrini produces a superb solo album. Combining the best of electronica, pop and jazz, "Love in the Time of Science" is startlingly memorable and well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to her fantastic voice, 16 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Love in the Time of Science (Audio CD)
Emiliana Torrini has a beautiful voice and the songs on this album give her the best chance to show it off. The style is melodic and mellow, like chill out dance. There are no bad songs on the CD and I love to listen to this music to relax to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love In The Time Of Science is the soundtrack to life..., 18 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Love in the Time of Science (Audio CD)
Emiliana Torrini is quite simply the most captivating and original artists to appear for a long time. I have been a big fan for about a year now and even went all the way to Reykjavík to buy her first two albums "Croucie d'oú lá" & "Merman". I met her at a recent concert in London and she is not only warm and friendly but also strikingly beautiful. "Love In The Time Of Science" is her first solo album to be given an international release and is truly deserving of success as it's dreamy and often melancholic melodies are better than any. With an amazing voice (captured on the startling track "Telepathy"), Emiliana is destined to go far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars uplifting beats and melancholic meanderings manna madness, 30 May 2001
By 
Pippy (london and sporadically worldwide) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love in the Time of Science (Audio CD)
I must tell you to buy this. Music like this should be appreciated outside of iceland. I do most of my listening to music on the bus to work, (it sets my mood for the day). Miss Torrini has the skill to make the end of the world a fabulous prospect. If you like bjorks icelandic meanerings you'll enjoy love in the time of science. What took bjork several albums via the sublime sugarcubes. One little indian have stuck gold in the glaciers again they managed to package a future world star on the first attempt Lets hope they can keep her and thus ensure her creative independance. When the world catches up with such nilhalistic and groovy tunes like bad things happen we will wonder how we missed her in the first issues. Unemployed in summertime is an amusing tonuge in cheek number there is a childlike niavity to her voice which hooks you in and before you no it you are humming along to ridiculous ditties in the office. As singles go to be free is as unsettling as the rest it almost made it. Pick a tune and each will take you somewhere and just as tou think youve settled into her stlye, she will tap you on the shoulder and scare tou shoes off....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something different but absolutely not one to be ignored!!!, 9 April 2002
This review is from: Love in the Time of Science (Audio CD)
This easily one of the best but underrated albums I have ever heard! Emiliana has an absolutely fantastic voice, from the sweet vocals of Summerbreeze, to the belt out tune Telepathy.
Easy and To Be Free are possibly the best songs on the album. Its sophisticated, easy listening and inspiring. I love it and wish more people would listen to it!!! I can't fault it! Great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love in the Time of Science
Love in the Time of Science by Emiliana Torrini (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews