Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...Not actually as bad as people say.
Although MANY would disagree, I actually think this e.p IS pretty cool, The title track 'From The Cradle To Enslave' is admittedly a work of total genius by Dani & the boys, then you have 'Of Dark Blood And F**king' another song which is a strong contender for one of my fave COF songs from any record. Thier cover of Anathema's 'Sleepless'....well, I do like it a lot and...
Published on 5 Nov 2004 by snailistsicksixsix

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars let down by bad dance remix
from cradle to enslave is an ep that in some ways could be deemed as a single as it contains two new tracks,album opener from the cradle to enslave and of dark blood and fxxking which are why this ep gets three stars,as they are blinding and pretty much essential cradle classics,filled with melody,spite,rage and classic stylish sounds.The cover version of the misfits...
Published on 26 July 2006 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...Not actually as bad as people say., 5 Nov 2004
Although MANY would disagree, I actually think this e.p IS pretty cool, The title track 'From The Cradle To Enslave' is admittedly a work of total genius by Dani & the boys, then you have 'Of Dark Blood And F**king' another song which is a strong contender for one of my fave COF songs from any record. Thier cover of Anathema's 'Sleepless'....well, I do like it a lot and the guitar sections, in places are really cool, although its a song that I'd take or leave, pretty much.
The cover of the Misfits 'Death Comes Ripping' is just very funny, especially when the rest of the band join in for the 'woah ohhh...'s makes them sound like their singing karaoke down their local pub... that song makes this e.p memorable! .....then there's '....... Church' every review Ive read has slated this song so much...saying why is there a crappy techno song on a supposed black metal release?! I do like this song....its something different and experimental, although I am glad this is Cradle's only foray into making dance remixes!
The last track, the be quick or be dead version of 'Funeral In Carpathia' I must admit after a first few listens I was still thinking they had truly murdered a classic Cradle song, but after listening to this version and the version on 'Dusk...' I am of the decision that this alt version is acceptable, I cant entirely forgive them for changing the '..never leave me..' bit to a baritone male voice, or changing the bit I liked the most, Dani's ear splitting screech of the word '..CARPATHIAAAAAAAHHHH!!!..' but still, I can listen to this, and in fact this whole e.p and not really get bored with it.
So to sum up, if you like your Cradle blacker than black...you wont find it here, however if you feel the need for something a little 'unique' and different, then try this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The killer song I knew they always had in them., 15 Dec 1999
This E.P. isn't just a stop-gap release until Cradle's next full-lengther. This is a representation of how far they've come in their five-year recording career. The title track is absolutely brilliant! This is the sort of song that they've been promising to deliver for years. Despite Black Metal purists crying "SELL OUT!", this is hardly the sort of thing you'd see on Richard & Judy. The guitars still screech and grind as before, the bass still rumbles like Satan with the two-bob-bits, the drums are still battered at speed and Dani still screeches like a banshee but it all somehow seems to sound a lot better than before. Second track "Of Dark Blood And Fucking" see's the band thrashing like madmen, echoing prime-time Slayer and Morbid Angel. The two cover version's (Misfits "Death Comes Ripping" and Anathema's "Sleepless") are good as is the "Be Quick or be Dead" version of "Funeral in Carpathia" but the only thing stopping the E.P. from getting the full five stars is the "Pervert's Church" dance remix of the title track. I just don't understand remixes that cut out the lyrics, thus taking away the theme of what the song is about. Remix aside, let's see if Cradle can capitalise on this new snappier sound and follow it up with an album that follows suit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great EP (not sure about remix though), 3 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: From the Cradle to Enslave Ep: Parental Advisory (Audio CD)
This EP is probably worth the money just for the title track "From The Cradle To Enslave" which is pure genious and probably one of my favourite CoF tracks. The cover tracks are also very good especialy the cover of Athema`s "Sleepless" which i like a lot. There are also two other great tracks on their but im not quite sure about the remix, i mean if your going to spoil a record why the hell cant you put the track at the end of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars let down by bad dance remix, 26 July 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: From the Cradle to Enslave Ep: Parental Advisory (Audio CD)
from cradle to enslave is an ep that in some ways could be deemed as a single as it contains two new tracks,album opener from the cradle to enslave and of dark blood and fxxking which are why this ep gets three stars,as they are blinding and pretty much essential cradle classics,filled with melody,spite,rage and classic stylish sounds.The cover version of the misfits death comes ripping is great but cant better the original so its inclusion is somewhat in vain in that respect.

sleepless is an anathema cover and again doesnt quite deliver the goods if im honest,then we get a remix of from the cradle to enslave which is hideous,shocking and makes me ill,whats the point of this dance nonsense,i wish i knew.then we get a remix of funeral in carpathia which is pretty poor yet again so if you are a cradle completist then get this but it wont change your life,if you are a casual fan then this wont make you want more of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pop goes the Cradle..., 14 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: From the Cradle to Enslave Ep: Parental Advisory (Audio CD)
Being in two minds about this particular band, I thought this EP was absolutely STUNNING! The title track shows some maturity in the band, letting go the 2000mph thrash in favour of an almost danceable groove. Top notch stuff :)
I don't know why everyone grumbles about the remix on this release - it's possibly the best track on the CD! Darkwave melodies and cold 4/4 beats hold the track together, rendering it not entirely out of place at a Goth nightclub.
The other tracks however, I felt to be rather derivative of the black metal style...endless double-bass drum action, barking vocals and a wall of guitar noise. Sure, it's almost enough to summon Lucifer himself, but a tad too extreme for this mere mortal...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well I suppose it could be worse...., 27 Aug 2001
By 
crazyevildude@ironmaiden.com (The centre of the universe - Wales, the land of sheep, poets and the heaviest metal you've ever heard!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From the Cradle to Enslave Ep: Parental Advisory (Audio CD)
I have the version with Funeral In Carpathia and it's worth it just for that 1 track... I LOVE IT. The others are listenable with the exception of the remix which in my opinion is complete and utter rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A story of two halves, 23 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: From the Cradle to Enslave Ep: Parental Advisory (Audio CD)
Strange CD this. The first 3 tracks are what you expect from CoF and are f***ing brilliant, but then come 2 other, less brutal "album fillers" which are absolute s***, especially the remix. The last track can be called OK but the EP is really ruined by the sound of those earlier 2 tracks. Shame as the start of the EP suggests that there is mind blowing excellence on the way. Worth 3 and 1/2 stars and should only be bought after Midian, which is the best album on the planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Ep, shame about the need for a remix., 16 Dec 1999
By A Customer
I was a little dubious about this EP at first, the songs don't seem to go together all that well, but after a few listens, I really started to appreciate Danis vocals and the album in general. This ones well worth a listen, although the remix lets it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What the..?, 30 Jun 2004
Three good songs at the beginning THEN theres an anti-war song and then aload of techno-crap. What are they playin' at? The rest of their other albums are great though.If you have a taste for dog poop on a stick then buy this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cradle of Filth cash in on their mini horor vid., 5 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: From the Cradle to Enslave Ep: Parental Advisory (Audio CD)
As EP's go, Cradles' offering has fallen below par. Each track, whilst good in their own right, don't seem to fit together here. It has the feel of a single, with five B sides, rather than a mini album.
The title track is pretty much as you would have expected, although not as orchestral as previous works, whilst the rest of the EP is totally the opposite. There is one more original track, 'Of Dark Blood and F**king', which could only be described as 'Experimental' and we'll leave it at that. There are two cover songs, Sleepless, and Death comes ripping, of which only Anathema's is worth repeated re-listens. Finally, the remixes, Pervert's church (from the cradle to deprave) is mostly instrumental, leaving us without the 'aquired taste' which is Dani Filth's vocals. This leave us with a more subtle, and surprisingly relaxing composition.
On the whole, it is one for the fans, who will be pleased with the new Cradle material, whilst dubiously putting up with the remixes, (Which are growers). Dani's lyrics are do not come close to those on Cruelty, but then it is doubtful that this EP will ever be thought of as entirely serious, and technically speaking, the music is also less powerful than previous offerings.
However, it is quite cheap, and is the only place to get hold of the title track, so it is probable that this review will not win over new fans, or turn current fans away. Which is how Cradle of Filth have always been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From the Cradle to Enslave Ep: Parental Advisory
From the Cradle to Enslave Ep: Parental Advisory by Cradle Of Filth (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews