Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT INFLUENCE TO BRIT POP IN THE 50`s & 60`s,
ANTHONY NEWLEY STARTED OUT IN THE MID 50`s AND HAD LOADS OF HITS,WITH HIS UNMISTAKABLE LONDON VOICE GIVING A UNIQUE SOUND TO HIS MUSIC.HAVING A RELAXED AND EASY GOING TYPE OF VOICE HE INFLUENCED MANY SINGERS THROUGH THE 60`s TO THE PRESENT DAY.STARTING OUT IN THE U.K AND THEN MAKING IT BIG IN THE U.S.A. THIS C.D SHOWS HOW GOOD HE WAS. IT`s A GOOD C.D WITH ALL HIS REALLY...
Published on 2 Aug 2007 by ----------------

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
some damage on the cover
Published 4 months ago by per j cappelen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT INFLUENCE TO BRIT POP IN THE 50`s & 60`s,, 2 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Very Best Of Anthony Newley (Audio CD)
ANTHONY NEWLEY STARTED OUT IN THE MID 50`s AND HAD LOADS OF HITS,WITH HIS UNMISTAKABLE LONDON VOICE GIVING A UNIQUE SOUND TO HIS MUSIC.HAVING A RELAXED AND EASY GOING TYPE OF VOICE HE INFLUENCED MANY SINGERS THROUGH THE 60`s TO THE PRESENT DAY.STARTING OUT IN THE U.K AND THEN MAKING IT BIG IN THE U.S.A. THIS C.D SHOWS HOW GOOD HE WAS. IT`s A GOOD C.D WITH ALL HIS REALLY WELL KNOWN SONGS ON. MANY A SINGER HAS RECORDED "WHAT KIND OF FOOL AM I"BUT THERE CAN ONLY BE NEWLEY`s VERSION THAT STANDS OUT ON TOP,AND THEN TAKE LITTLE DITTIES LIKE "BEE BOM" A SIMPLE AND PURE SONG SUNG WELL.A MUSICAL TALENT THAT WILL NOT BE FORGOTTEN WHILE THERE ARE PEOPLE OUT THERE WHO LIKE PURE,SIMPLE AND WELL SUNG SONGS,THAT SOUND AS CRISP AND CLEAR TODAY, AS THE DAY IT WAS RECORDED.THIS C.D IS VERY WELL PRICED,AND WELL WORTH ADDING TO YOUR COLLECTION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Nostalgia, 3 Mar 2010
By 
T. Davies (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Anthony Newley (Audio CD)
I've wanted some Newley for a while now as I can remember me and a mate of mine listening to him in the late fifties on a Dansette! Remember seeing "Idol on Parade" at the cinema as well. This compilation met all my expectations. Good clear original soundtracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop Goes The Weasel!, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Anthony Newley (Audio CD)
This CD contains all those Newley hits I remember from the late 50's, 60's (childhood memories) including "children's favourites" such as Pop Goes The Weasel, That Noise as well as his ballads What Kind Of Fool Am I, Do You Mind. Good sound quality, nice selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Newley - The very best of - CD, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Anthony Newley (Audio CD)
An excellent CD. A great selection of hits by this great Artist. A great slice of nostalgia for those who can remember him live and a superb insight for those who cannot. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Newley at his best, 8 May 2014
By 
H. J. King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Anthony Newley (Audio CD)
How songs used to be presented; fun and clear diction, so different to most of the modern pop rubbish. Can be listened to with pleasure and often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great recordings, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Anthony Newley (Audio CD)
I was very pleased with the recording quality on this cd.what great value for money.I would not hesitate to recommend this C.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Newley, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Anthony Newley (Audio CD)
A goog nostalgic look back and some gret sounds fromm the past. what else do they expect me to say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Newley at his best, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Anthony Newley (Audio CD)
A wonderful mix of love songs and old favourites. I particularly love "Pop goes the weasel" and "Strawberry Fair"
I can introduce my Grandchildren to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely singer, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Anthony Newley (Audio CD)
CD is excellent exactly what I expected from this natural star. Lovely voice and has a little bit of comedy in his voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 6 July 2013
By 
J. Brooman "archerfan" (Gatwick) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Anthony Newley (Audio CD)
I have always loved Anthony Newley - I think it's his cheeky grin, but he was enormously talented which many people didn'r fully realise. He was far better than the bit parts he used to play when he was younger and this came to the fore when he started to write music.

I would not be without this in the car, I play it all the time - I prefer his more serious songs but the comic ones are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Anthony Newley
The Very Best Of Anthony Newley by Anthony Newley (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews