Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Unique., 10 Aug. 2008
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
Those who know me as the guitar-crazed rocker whose faves include The Who, Cream, Jimi Hendrix and Motorhead will be truly shocked at this review. However, as the very first band I ever witnessed in the Live arena, this makes Mantovani the exception, and his performance at Bournemouth's Winter Gardens sometime in 1959 was something of a family treat, and an unforgettable one, too.
Of course, most of the tracks on this CD sound familiar even now, as the memories flood back of, (it was considered some form of purgatory at the time, but age mellows), listening to an evening of Mantovani LP's. Yet with the benefit of hindsight, it must be regarded as a large part of my musical foundation and education, and to feel the need to buy this CD, cheap-as-chips as it was and is; and for 'the shiver' to travel the length of my spine more than a few times whilst playing these tracks 50 (yes, FIFTY!) years after they were recorded, must say something for the fabulous longevity of this man's music.
And whilst he was not travelling the world's concert halls taking everyone's elses breath away, he lived not a stone's-throw away from here in the Canford Cliffs / Sandbanks 'millionaires' part of Poole in Dorset; and with the amount of LP's he sold in his day, he deserved it, too.
Yes, 20 fabulous tracks here which have captured the magic of this Man and his Orchestra, topped off by his signature tune and anthem, 'Charmaine,' demonstrating, as does every other track; the full and spine-tingling effect of the Mantovani 'cascading strings' for which he was so famous.
With tribute band's on the circuit playing Glenn Miller's great music, I wonder if a Mantovani tribute band might be treading the boards these days? It would be quite something if such a band existed, because the Mantovani magic needs resurrecting, and this knockout CD will help, so give yourself a treat and click to get a copy right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MANTOVANI SINGLES COLLECTION, 13 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
ALL THE ORIGINAL DECCA SINGLES CHARMAINE, SOME ENCHANTED EVENING, SWEDISH RHAPSODY,LOVELY CASCADING STRINGS LOVELY ME.LODIES ALL ORIGINAL. THERE IS ONE POINT TO MENTION SOME OF THE TRACKS ARE MONO SO IF YOU WANT ALL STEREO PROBABLY ANOTHER COLLECTION WOULD BE ADVISABLE. I LOVE THIS COLLECTION AND FOR THE PRICE HOW CAN YOU COMPLAIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mantovani magic!, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
Fantstic re-mastered sound quality, and so polished. Put on a good hi-fi and lay back and let the music carry you away. This guy neds to be rediscovered, a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mantovani. The Singles Collection, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Mantovani for many years and this CD is very good. As with all CDs I would have liked to have been provided with a list of what selection was recorded before purchasing. This would reduce doubling up on various tunes. The postal service was second to none and received the CD within a couple of days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars class, 12 May 2012
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
I reckon at some time or other, all of us must have heard the strings of Mantovani, he really had a way with the tunes of many a competent writer, it is a pure pleasure to listen to, and i would recomend this to anyone..have a crack, why not?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow music by Mantovani, 20 Feb. 2011
By 
S. Shields (Harrogate UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
Beautiful music to relax to, the music of Mantovani is for all ages and all moods.
For me it brings back memories of summer days in the 70s, drinks with friends and
Mantovani playing in the background, sheer magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Easy Listerning, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
A pleasant selection of old favourites in the wonderful style of Mantovani. I have several similar CDs and they are timeless. A good choice for just listening too (probably good for dancing also).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
Bought for a friend who would recommend it as a very enjoyable listening experience. For anyone who just enjoys listening to pleasant music with no lyrics, it's a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mantovani cd, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
great cd it brings back lots of memories of my youth in the sixties.when some of the tracks were played in my local cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Singles Collection (Audio CD)
My parents' favourite and brings back very happy memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singles Collection
The Singles Collection by Mantovani Orchestra (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews