Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, soulful, stylish, superb.
Having achieved massive success a few years ago with 'Brown Sugar', D'Angelo refused to take the easy route with his follow-up, eschewing trad, chart-friendly R'n'B structures and tricks in favour of an innovative and complex musical bouillabaisse. Mixing R'n'B, soul, hip hop, traditional African music, funk and jazz into an effortlessly smooth, luxuriant and soulful...
Published on 3 Feb 2001 by Sick Mouthy

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive Songs And Near-Silent Lyrics Ruin A Previously Good Artist
"Voodoo" takes a step away from D'Angelo's previous work, "Brown Sugar" and, unfortunately, focuses less on what made the album successful. The second album fills itself out with a repeated bassline and drumbeat, while D'Angelo whispers vocals. This blend creates a hazy sound that draws its listener into the music, for a while.

The songs themselves, however,...
Published on 18 May 2011 by Paperback Critic


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, soulful, stylish, superb., 3 Feb 2001
By 
Sick Mouthy (Exeter, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Voodoo (Audio CD)
Having achieved massive success a few years ago with 'Brown Sugar', D'Angelo refused to take the easy route with his follow-up, eschewing trad, chart-friendly R'n'B structures and tricks in favour of an innovative and complex musical bouillabaisse. Mixing R'n'B, soul, hip hop, traditional African music, funk and jazz into an effortlessly smooth, luxuriant and soulful sound, D'Angelo sees himself as being in the lineage of Sly Stone, Stevie Wonder, Al Green, Prince, Marvin Gaye and Jimi Hendrix, dismissing most of his contemporaries in his (awesome) sleeve-notes as being "more interested in an artist's business tactics than in their artistry." You could never accuse D'Angelo of this. Gorgeous, intricate multi-tracked vocal collages intertwine with funky, rich bass, click-sharp percussion, lushly minimal keys and guitars and occasional teases of brass. And as for the songs... 'Spanish Joint' is straight-down-the-line funky, 'Feel Like Makin' Love' is irresistibly sexy and seductive, while 'Untitled (How Does It Feel)' is one of the most gorgeous and wonderful tunes of the year, by any artist in any genre. Forget all the poseurs and impostors, D'Angelo is the man, and 'Voodoo' is the album. Sumptuously magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest albums ever released!, 13 Aug 2009
This review is from: Voodoo (Audio CD)
This is one of my absolute favourite albums. In this age of soulless processed synthetic music (much akin to processed food) this organic masterpiece by D'Angelo is musical nourishment for the soul.

"Voodoo" is an album of real depth both in a literal sense (the bass and low end being incredibly well recorded and present) and in its wide range of influences (Marvin, Prince, Sly, Hip Hop, traditional African music, latin jazz plus much more), which D'Angelo and his incredibly talented caste of collaborators manage to transcend and include perfectly.

If you are reading this review, deliberate no more - just add this to your basket and hit the checkout. If you are used to conventional song structures and catchy melodies, it might take a bit of getting into. But like an impressionist or abstract painting, if you just chill with it and keep an open mind (or open ears!), everything will come into focus and you'll appreciate the genius, sexiness, soulfulness and sheer funkiness of this meisterwerk!

Thanks for reading and enjoy!

RjR

PS. Recommended further listening: Mama's Gun by Erykah Badu. Although slightly patchier than "Voodoo", the best tracks have that same organic aesthetic (some even share the same Soulquarian production team) and if you haven't heard such tracks "Bag Lady" or "Time's A Wasting", well... ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flawless piece of D'Angelo, 14 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Voodoo (Audio CD)
Another stunning piece of work from, undeniably, one of the greatest modern soul artists. The influences from Brown Sugar, the innovative debut album from D’Angelo, are echoed on Voodoo, yet also seem more developed, as this second album comes across with a softer edge.
D’Angelo has, however, lost none of his originality. Voodoo is a unique album, showcasing again D’Angelo’s fusion of funk, retro soul and hip-hop. D’Angelo’s love of blues is clearly apparent in the stunningly smooth One Mo‘gin, as is Prince’s influence in Untitled (How Does It Feel). The soulful cover of Roberta Flack’s Feel Like Makin’ Love is updated flawlessly with an infectious rhythm.
A touch of funk is added on the dark and addictive Devil’s Pie, and also with the aid of Method Man & Redman on the hip-hop track, Left & Right, which is softened to perfection by D’Angelo’s soft vocals.
Africa best displays the undeniable vocal talent, where the rhythmic beat provides the perfect canvas for D’Angelo’s trademark smooth vocals, particularly soft in this song.
Alongside these stunning vocals, D’Angelo’s flawless production and innovative song-writing skills make this a modern soul classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED, 23 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Voodoo (Audio CD)
This is a BUY. Just get this CD. There need be no deliberation. D'Angelo is going on a musical journey and he wants to take you with him. Open your mind and follow. If you are expecting "Brown Sugar2" you will be disappointed. This is not brown sugar but would you or rather should you really want it to be. This man is far too talented and musically daring to be expected to rest on the laurels of Brown Sugar. If that were to be the standard, he could saturate the charts with that samey sound produced by the same old producers - like so many recent artists.
The progenitor of neo-classic soul strikes out on his own in this funk inspired set. The contemporary influences of the Ummah (Q-Tip, Ali Shaheed Muhammed, and Jay Dee), The Roots and Common among others mesh perfectly with those of Sly and the Family Stone, George Clinton and early Kool and the Gang. All thirteen tracks are standout tracks and this fact alone explains the long and painful absence.
This is a meticulous and painstakingly different set from that which went before. Where "Brown Sugar" was soulful and innocent; this is funky, daring and diverse. While "Brown Sugar" was the entrée "Voodoo" is the main course. God only knows what he has planned for dessert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without doubt a complete classic, 19 Feb 2000
By 
mattrogerson@hotmail.com (Selby, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Voodoo (Audio CD)
Brown sugar was superb and this is the same if not better. The tracks 'Send it on' and 'Feel like makin love' are highlights, but the whole album is total class. This is the most original album I have heard for ages, well actually since 'brown sugar'. I can tell already that it is an album that I will never tire of listening to. Oh yeah and 'Africa' is an unbelievably good song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one true soul survivor!, 20 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Voodoo (Audio CD)
5 years, 5 long years I have waited for this album to come out. I've had it for 2 years now but I will never tire of the straight up raw power and dirty funk this album has got. This man is up there with the greats such as Stevie, Marvin and Al. 'Send it on' has got to be the best track on the album, the trumpets and that voice just get me every time. Every song has an irresistible beat that sounds like no other. D'Angelo is a genius pure and simple. I still listen to 'Brown Sugar' and that is over 7 years old! I can't wait for his next offering. BUY IT! BUY IT! BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a follow up which surpasses it's predecessor!!!, 14 Aug 2004
By 
Alex Blair (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Voodoo (Audio CD)
Is this better than the outstanding Brown Sugar? In my opinion yes, it is much better...controversial I know, but as i bought "Voodoo" first i guess it set the standard.
Fans of soul have not got a full cd collection without D'angelo's second album "voodoo". Although i have a small cd collection this is the one that i can play and sing along to all day long. Although it is not very diverse in it's style. The style that the cd has is right.
D'angelo's voice is especially amazing in "send it on" and "africa", while is production work throughout the album is equally brilliant if not better.
I would love for a fan of music to improve their collection with this amazing cd, and experience the same joy of listening as i did. BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music for the soul, 15 Dec 2013
This review is from: Voodoo (Audio CD)
Although I have always been aware of D'Angelo, however, after seeing his performance on the BET Awards 2012 singing 'Sugar Daddy' (which does not seem to be available yet), I felt compelled to listen again; and glad I did. This is for anyone who appreciates proper music, soulful and lots of querks and influences. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voodoo (Audio CD)
cant stop listening to it. packaging was excellent and it arrived on time. i will definitely recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is my favourite album, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voodoo (Audio CD)
love this album even more than brown sugar. has a really nice jazzy/soulful feel, definitely his best album. favourites are send it on and spanish joint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

Voodoo
Voodoo by D'Angelo (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews