Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enjoyed It!
Being a Bond fan for more than 15 years and having seen all the titles (on screen and on tape), I've found in each Bond film the top three attractions: the gadgety weapons, the sexy Boad girls, and the theme songs (which all accompany the teases). As we live in such a different country from 007's home place, until recently it has been very hard for us in this end of...
Published on 21 Aug 2000

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from the finished article
Bond aficionados will be only too familiar with the tracks that are missing from this compilation. The main title from 'From Russia With Love' is omitted (the instrumental), as well as The Pretenders 'If there was a man', from the end titles of 'The Living Daylights'. Sadly the list of absentees includes KD Lang's wonderful 'Surrender' from 'Tomorrow Never Dies' - a far...
Published on 14 Sep 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enjoyed It!, 21 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Bond... James Bond 007 (Audio CD)
Being a Bond fan for more than 15 years and having seen all the titles (on screen and on tape), I've found in each Bond film the top three attractions: the gadgety weapons, the sexy Boad girls, and the theme songs (which all accompany the teases). As we live in such a different country from 007's home place, until recently it has been very hard for us in this end of the world to realise what an institution James Bond has been. And I didn't realise that these songs had boasted writers in the biggest names of modern pop music (seldom do I notice the credits) until I bought (now Sir) Paul McCartney's All The Best album more than 3 years ago when I was a student in London, in which I rediscovered Live And Let Die--and this song remains my favorite Bond number.
I bought this album (Best of Bond) from the Helsinki airport, and couldn't wait to play it on my laptop while waiting for my flight. What else can I say? THOROUGHLY ENJOYED IT! One song is distintively different from another, and yet fondly similar in the feelings it recalls--the Britishness the greatest ever spy has created. Looking forward to the album's remake where The World Is Not Enough will be included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really is The Best of Bond, 5 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Bond... James Bond 007 (Audio CD)
The first time I heard this CD I thought it was brilliant. The Songs are fantastic along with the movies. (My personal favourites are A view to a Kill and Octopussy!) It is well worth the money because all the songs are from original recordings. The only problem I have with the CD is that they could have put the songs in the order the movies come in yet thank god it doesn't contain Mr Kiss kiss Bang bang. However the title of the CD gives it credit,This truly is the best of Bond
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A super CD and excellent gift!, 4 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Bond... James Bond 007 (Audio CD)
This CD certainly is appropriately titled, 'Nobody Does it Better', because these songs are simply outstanding. Each song has a catchy tune which is instantly recognisable. Particulary impressive are A-ha's performance of the Living Daylights, John Barry's Goldfinger, You Only Live Twice and Live and Let Die. Of course, thrown in for good measure is the James Bond theme tune. The only dissappointment is the order - the most impressive songs are all first on the CD. It would have been better if The World Is Not Enough single by Garbage was included too. But still, a brilliant CD which has hours of listening potential to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What About The End Tracks?, 28 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Bond... James Bond 007 (Audio CD)
This recording of title songs from all but the newest James Bond films makes a wonderful collection - but what about the tracks from the ends of the movies? Such as "If You Asked Me To" - Licence To Kill - and "The Experience Of Love" - Goldeneye. It's a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody Does it Better!, 18 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Bond... James Bond 007 (Audio CD)
And indeed nobody does. Someone once said that the worst thing John Barry did in his career was to create the most famous theme tune in the world, basically because all the rest of his work just couldnt compare. Well this collection of tunes includes those examples and it's probabily half right. The 007 collection has some amazing feel good tunes including my fav "Nobody Does It Better" sung by Carly Simon, then one or two utter pants tunes.. Ah Ha's The Living Daylights springs to mind. But on the whole, speaking as the biggest Bond fan in the world, this is one hell of an aulbm and worth buying just to remind yourself of how one man, 007, has effected our visual and audio lives on one way or another for the past 40 years!
BUY IT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from the finished article, 14 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Bond... James Bond 007 (Audio CD)
Bond aficionados will be only too familiar with the tracks that are missing from this compilation. The main title from 'From Russia With Love' is omitted (the instrumental), as well as The Pretenders 'If there was a man', from the end titles of 'The Living Daylights'. Sadly the list of absentees includes KD Lang's wonderful 'Surrender' from 'Tomorrow Never Dies' - a far superior contribution than that of Sheryl Crow's TND title song. Aside from Goldeneye and Tomorrow Never Dies, the CD isn't significantly better than the 30th anniversary album released back in '92. Disappointing as well is the notable absence of the last 007 flick, 'The World is Not Enough' - especially given that the CD was released at the same time as that particular film. Don't get me wrong, it's an outstanding compact disc, but there is much more room for improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great tracks obviously, but could be better, 28 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Bond... James Bond 007 (Audio CD)
Anything that has all the theme tunes on right though from Dr. No to Tomorrow Never Dies. However, I think the compilation is badly ordered and cannot compare to the 30th Anniversay collectio which included other classic tracks such as Mr Kiss Kiss Bang Bang. All in all though, no Bond fan would not enjoy sitting through 19 tracks of pure Bond whether the extra tracks are included or not. and when it comes to theme tunes Nobody Does It Better.
By the way, I happen to think Goldeneye is a grat song, far better than the two most recent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best soundtrack compilation album ever?, 5 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Bond... James Bond 007 (Audio CD)
I was apprehensive about buyng this cd but i now wish i had bought it sooner. Every song is simply a classic, my favourites being 'The man with the Golden Gun' by Lulu and 'A view to a Kill' by Duran Duran. Despite the consistent excellence throughout the album each song is different in its arrangement, vocals and overall sound crating an album of incredible eclecticism. Listening to this compilation makes you realise just how influential the Bond songs have been - long may they reign supreme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How dare you say that about "GoldenEye"?!!, 22 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Bond... James Bond 007 (Audio CD)
Obviously I'm going to say it's great, and the only thing I don't like about it is the fact that the awesome 'The World is Not Enough' isn't on it, but to cancel that out I'm glad they dropped 'Mr. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang' - the song with the longest intro I EVER heard (I'm showing too much information on the subject aren't I). By the way, I think 'GoldenEye' is a perfect Bond song... slinky, evil-sounding and written by Bono and The Edge... what more could anyone legally want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Your Ears Only!, 29 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Bond... James Bond 007 (Audio CD)
This CD is pure class! It has a great mixture of songs, from Louis Armstrong's slow and romantic "We have all the time in the World" to Lulu's quick and jazzy "The Man with the Golden Gun". There isn't a single track on the disc that I don't like, and my personal favourites include "The Living Daylights" performed by A-Ha and "Goldeneye" by Tina Turner. You don't live twice so buy this fantastic CD at once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best of Bond... James Bond 007
Best of Bond... James Bond 007 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews