Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.50+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2002
It's a brave man who takes on the tracks written and made famous in the 1930's,1940's and one song from the 1950's by the Duke of Jazz,"Duke Ellington".

The good doctor does it with a great deal style, makes them his own by adding his own brand of "fonk" giving each track amazin' bass that whomps out.

These songs may hark back to another time but "Doctor John" makes them sound bang up to date, try listening to "I'm gonna go fishin'" without tappin' your feet, you have no chance it's a fonk out groove of the first order.

Highly recommended for pre-going listening to get in the party mood...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2000
I went to the "Duke Elegant" concert at the Bridgewater Hall, Manchester, an electifying experience. The good Dr was on top form and the tracks that he performed from the album made its purchase essential; I was not disappointed. Fishing is my favourite track but that takes nothing away from the rest.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2008
I discovered Dr John quite by chance about 3 years ago, and can honestly say this man is without doubt one of the most talented musicians ever. Having then purchased lots of his work, I thought he could really not get much better, till I purchased online a copy of Duke Elegant. To take the work Of Duke Ellington is one thing but to actually throw your own funky, jazzy beat to it, in the way Dr John has is pure magic.Every track on this Cd is just pure class. There are some Cds you play where you flick through to your favourites as you decifer which tracks you like and hate etc. However with Duke Elegat, you just put it on and admire every single track. It is so funky you just cannot stop your foot moving. I cannot believe anyone buying Duke Elegant would be disappointed. If you are a serious lover of good pure music, Duke Elegant is a must for your collection. Probably the best CD i have ever purchased.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2009
I echo the views of the preceding reviewers. Dr John stamps his New Orleans brand of jazz and fonk onto Ellington's masterpieces. These tracks are not simply cover versions but take The Duke's songs somewhere else. I have a number of Dr Johns albums and this one is amongst the best of them. You won't be disappointed if you buy this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
Dr.John (whose earlier work I enjoy for its originality) might have derived some therapeutic satisfaction from trying to play Ellington's music, but he should have kept it to his own living room. Ellington first wrote these pieces as instrumental numbers, and the words were added later by other hands. He had a fully developed sense of writing for large numbers of individual musicians (not just any old band) and brought the best out of them by blending their personalities into his harmonic, melodic, rhythmic and timbral language.
Dr.John destroys any sense of subtlety these tunes might have had by the turgid and mechanical rhythm he superimposes, making any real rhythmic momentum impossible. His singing, while not without conviction, is far too mannered and risks becoming a caricature of itself.
For superior vocal versions of some of these songs, you could do worse than Billie Holiday ("Soliude", "Do nothing till you hear from me"), Ivie Anderson ("It don't mean a thing"), Lambert Hendricks and Ross ("Caravan") or Ella Fitzgerald ("Perdido").
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
A departure from the typical Dr John offerings.

Ellington suits his voice brilliantly, a great album by a great artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
Great Album, if you like Dr John you will love his cover Ellington"s music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
starts of well but then goes down hill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)