Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giltrap at his most commercial, 17 Feb. 2008
By 
J. Hutcheson "CD Junkie" (Airdrie,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fear of the Dark (Audio CD)
I bought this album in the late 70's,it came out after the Visionary and Perilous Journey albums,which had the hit single Heartsong.Like that tune,a lot of this album follows that style,Giltraps excellent guitar playing,with a synth style backing,we even get a vocal track,Weary Eyes,which is probably the weakest track on the album.The title track also hovered in the lower edges of the charts for a couple of weeks as well.If you enjoyed the afore mentioned albums,this would be an excellent addition to add to your collection.Recommended in my estimation for the title track and Roots(parts 1 & 2).The last couple of tracks have been added to the original album,as the original only ran to 42 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing To Be Afraid Of, 9 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Fear of the Dark (Audio CD)
I bought the vinyl version in 1979 as a present for a friend's 21st birthday and always promised myself a copy when I could get around to it. More recently, I was pointed in the direction of an interview about the Giltrap and Wakeman album From Brush And Stone, and decided it was about time I got that copy of FOTD. As I remembered, the music has a 'progressive' edge and an ageless quality that befits the class that Giltrap and other musicians involved exude. And those musicians include John G Perry (ex-Caravan) on bass and guest musicians Clive Bunker (Tull) and Richard Harvey (Gryphon). Opening track 'Roots (Parts 1 and 2) possibly has the fullest sound and on its own worth buying the album for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Gordon Giltrap, 15 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Fear of the Dark (Audio CD)
If you're buying this CD, you are probably already pretty familiar with Gordon Giltrap's music. After all, this was originally released on vinyl / cassette many years ago. Nice to get a good crisp version on CD. Giltrap still tours the UK, visiting small, intimate style, venues. Try to catch up with him - it's well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasure to listen - time and again!, 31 July 2010
This review is from: Fear of the Dark (Audio CD)
I have not been familiar with this record before... and I can say that in 2010 this music sounds great - full of energy and fantastic rhythm. I can recommend it to all fans of good guitar music! My favourites on this album are "Fear of the Dark" and "Roots". And one more thing - the more I listen to it, the more I like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh as ever, 11 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
Still can get as euphoric about Fear Of The Dark as when it first came out in the late seventies. A timeless jewel. All tracks but one instrumental and relentlessly energetic with here and there a near sentimental interlude. Giltrap has his completely unique sound that was never in fashion, so never could go out of. There have never been that many bands that front acoustic guitar, anyway. Not just unique in compositional, but also in technical skills. And he has a very tight band here that are given free reign. Every track a winner. On a scale of 10, there are many 10's and the rest still an 8 or 9, the bonus tracks (all new to me) included. For records like these, that so firmly stand the test of time, there should be a six star category. His recent collaboration with Oliver Wakeman on Ravens and Lullabies, though not really his thing because most tracks are vocal and much more keyboard orientated, is also recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
Prompt delivery and item as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JUST AS I HOPED IT WOULD BE, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Of The Dark (Audio CD)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear of the Dark (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fear of the Dark
Fear of the Dark by Gordon Giltrap (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews