Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfair press
...I bought a load of other Charlatans CD's based on this and none were as good. It is perhaps different from the others - derivative maybe - but an album that works as one entity, no song is out of place, good lyrics, excellent instrumentation, good vocals. It's varied yet consistent - and towards the end does anything but drift off - it gets better and better. A...
Published on 23 July 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid album, but not their best
Unlikely to win any new fans with this album. It's fairly typical Charlatans, but their weakest album for some time. No real stand-out tracks, although the Charlatans never fall below a certain standard so this is still a good album, if a little uninspiring.
Published on 12 Dec 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfair press, 23 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Us And Us Only (Audio CD)
...I bought a load of other Charlatans CD's based on this and none were as good. It is perhaps different from the others - derivative maybe - but an album that works as one entity, no song is out of place, good lyrics, excellent instrumentation, good vocals. It's varied yet consistent - and towards the end does anything but drift off - it gets better and better. A heartfelt emotional album full of great tunes.
As far as I'm concerned it's not derivative at all - just a fantastic unique album which I've been coming back to again and again for nearly 2 years now.
Would be in the shortlist for my all time top 10 along with the likes of Astral Weeks and Ziggy Stardust.
Don't let accusations of it being derivative make you miss out on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Charlatans come of age, again..., 2 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Us And Us Only (Audio CD)
If you've only heard of 'The Only One I Know', you're missing a lot. Since the heady days of the late 1980's, The Charlatans have emerged as one of the most soulful British Bands of the last decade. Having seen them at Knebworth blow Oasis and The Manic Street Preachers off the stage with their sheer passion, I've been hooked ever since. While their last 2 albums, 'The Charlatans' and 'Tellin' Stories' demonstrated the Band's committment to emulating the classic sounds of Dylan and the Stones + their special blend of soul, 'Us ans Us Only' is better still. 'Forever' spent 2 weeks in the singles chart, but still managed to be a beacon of true R&R in an ocean of mediocrity; 'Impossible' and 'A House Is Not A Home' are gentle, Dylan-inspired masterpieces, with Tony Rogers proving to be a worthy member of the band on the organ. This is one of those albums you buy once in a while and enjoy all the way through - this is a rare thing, and should be treasured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best 'Album' in the last 15 years, 13 Aug 2011
By 
R. TAPHOUSE "Taphouser" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Us And Us Only (Audio CD)
Still my finest album, but seriously can anyone tell me of a more complete and deserving album in the last 15 years of Alternative/Brit rock & roll - or however you wish to describe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer class, 17 Jun 2001
By 
rmc@nme.com (Carlisle, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Us And Us Only (Audio CD)
Definitely the bands best work. They get better with each album. There isn't a bad song on this CD at all. They are no longer simply a singles band. They are now one of the best bands in the country. It's a slight change from their old sound. The majority of the songs are slow but brilliant. Forever is breathtakingly good. It is a collection of their old sounds. Most of the rest are Dylan influenced ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Pop side of baggy, 2 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Us And Us Only (Audio CD)
After hearing 'A house is not not a home' from this album, I decided to take the plunge and buy this CD. My first for a year. Well worth it. Full of cracking tunes and weird workouts (The Tracks Good Witch / Bad witch parts 1 & 2 stand out, wierd!!) The whole album reminds you of the Stones or the Faces at there most Hammond Organ, poptastic best.
Downside? I paid 13 for it. Its only a tenner with Amazon!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slow crawl, but it got there., 7 Jan 2004
By 
robotfish "robotfish" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Us And Us Only (Audio CD)
A very select few albums can ever grace your own top 5. Well, 5 can, and about 100 keep trying to muscle their way in. Four or so years after its release I can say that this one has finally made it.
This just the best album the Charlatans have made or are likely to make. The songs are soulful & yearning. They have great hooks. The playing is exquisite. It'll remind you of the Stones, perhaps of Dylan, but more than that it'll make you love this band.
So it joins REMs Automatic For The People, The Stone Roses debut, Elvis Costello's King Of America and Radiohead's OK Computer. The top 5 says goodbye to Doolittle by The Pixies. Shame. Damn fine album that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars out of madchester, 31 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Us And Us Only (Audio CD)
oh boy this was the fourth purchase. and madchester boys. are on top form. this is never out of my cd player hi fi or car. driveing her in doors mad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best Charlatans album, 14 July 2011
By 
David (Prestwick, Ayrshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Us And Us Only (MP3 Download)
IMO this is their best album. Although none of the songs would get into my Charlatans top 5, it is consistently very good and has a great overall feel to it, a proper album rather than just a collection of songs. The sound is retro and modern at the same time, with a strong influence of The Stones (at their best).

I would recommend this to anyone as a great first Charlatans album to try out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best album.........EVER!!, 27 Aug 2006
By 
Jamie Heath "Spanish Dog" (Dorsetshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Us And Us Only (Audio CD)
I just cannot get enough of this album and even today, I play it alongside new albums even by other artists and it fits in and still grabs me emotionally. The songs grab my nerve cord in my spinal column and brings me out in goose bumps!! Each and every song is played and sung with such feeling, it is just superb.

I refuse to believe that there is somebody out there who has listened to this album that cant pick at least one song they like even if not a fan.

My favorite song on the album has got to be "Senses". The long harmonica intro, with the strong vocals, I can feel the hairs on my nape standing to attention just thinking about it. Thats a very close win against "The Blind Stagger".

It aught to be an offence to not own this album......Go and buy it......NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The comeback kids deliver us from Britpop, 5 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Us And Us Only (Audio CD)
This 11-track album is a must-listen for anyone with two ears. Stop what you're doing immediately and buy this album.
The superbly structured 'Forever' opens the sonic proceedings marvellously and the Bob Dylan-esque 'Impossible' makes brilliant use of that rare weapon - the mouth organ. The lead singer, Tim Burgess, sings with passion, confidence and great skill - probably best demonstrated in 'Senses' as the instruments build to a crescendo and he screams the opening line: 'you're my sweet black angel, laughing on my shoulder!'
The Charlatans's have shaken off the shackles of Britpop and filled the rock and roll vacuum its extinction created - superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Us And Us Only
Us And Us Only by The Charlatans (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews