Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look Ma! No Synthesizers
When The Plan was first released in 1984, Gary Numan was still making great records, but by then his music had wandered far from the original guitar-driven punk/metal sound of Tubeway Army, so this collection of early demos, singles and outtakes was an absolute treasure trove for fans of his oldest material.

The current studio album at the time was `Warriors',...
Published on 24 Feb. 2012 by Pink

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not my thing
i am a fan of Gary Numan early work and of the period 1995 till now
but this album does not appeal to me at all. I bought it out of curiosity to find out these early works but the punky
tracks are just not my thing. I don't think i will play it again.
Published 11 months ago by R. A. Van Meer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look Ma! No Synthesizers, 24 Feb. 2012
By 
Pink (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Plan + 12 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
When The Plan was first released in 1984, Gary Numan was still making great records, but by then his music had wandered far from the original guitar-driven punk/metal sound of Tubeway Army, so this collection of early demos, singles and outtakes was an absolute treasure trove for fans of his oldest material.

The current studio album at the time was `Warriors', a slick jazz-funk affair that had alienated some of the faithful, so at that point `The Plan' was a very exciting prospect. Not only were there early versions of well-known and loved tracks like `Friends', `Steel And You', `My Shadow In Vain', `Bombers' and `Something's In The House', there was also a number of songs I was aware of but had never actually heard, such as `Critics' and `Ice'.

But by far the most exciting thing was that there were several songs that I never even knew existed; `Basic J', `This Is My Life', `Check It', `Thoughts No.2' and the fantastic `Mean Street' were all brand-new to me and I loved them beyond measure.

There's barely any synths on `The Plan' and the bulk of the material is delivered with a fat Les- Paul-through-a-Marshall chug that to my ears makes the rockier songs feel closer to metal than punk.

I think the original release had about 12 tracks on it, but this CD reissue is expanded to include all sorts of extras, including singles and b-sides from the era. It even has `Don't be A Dummy' from the Lee Cooper jeans advert that Gary sang on tacked on to the end for utter completeness. Bloody marvellous, I say.

So if you like the first Tubeway Army album, you're going to love `the Plan' and it is an essential purchase. If you've never heard the early stuff, you're going to love `the Plan' and it is an essential purchase. And if you're just trying Numan out, then you're going to love `the Plan' and it is an essential purchase.

Over to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Plan, 26 Jun. 2009
This review is from: The Plan + 12 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
I first had this set of songs when they were first released on records in coloured vinyl. The songs have a rougher edge to them than Tubeway Army's self titled first album, and have stood the test of time better as the quirky synthesisers are kept out of the picture more. They are in keeping with Gary Numan's current songs, though in a punkier style, if you imagine stripping down his current songs you can see a structural similarity to what is on this CD. I highly recommend this CD to fans who are curious to hear how it all began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning demos and outtakes from Tubeway Army, 10 Dec. 2001
By 
Kevin Parrish Claussen (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Plan + 12 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
When I finally got my hands on a copy of this it did exactly what I had hoped. It blew my socks right off. This is a collection of early demos for the first Tubeway Army album, as well as some other early bonus material.
I think Numan has realized that his earliest efforts are being adored by a slew of young hipsters. At least in the states this is true. This album rocks as good as any album could. It is very undervalued and ignored by the rock and punk canon, which is a shame.
"Basic J" has the crunchiest guitar around and will bust your rear into next week. The slower version of "Steel and you" on here rivals the one on the debut Tubeway Army album.
Check out the samples and then get this album. Tubeway Army really do rule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not my thing, 15 May 2014
By 
R. A. Van Meer (Leek, NL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plan + 12 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
i am a fan of Gary Numan early work and of the period 1995 till now
but this album does not appeal to me at all. I bought it out of curiosity to find out these early works but the punky
tracks are just not my thing. I don't think i will play it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORDS ARE NOT ENOUGH !!!!, 6 Feb. 2004
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Plan + 12 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
Let's get some fact straight.An experienced punk rocker won't find this ¨punkier stuff¨ as other reviewers have.This is,nonetheless,rawer and excrutiatingly HEAVIER,pre
synths,early Numan material.These aren't songs s.body
dug out and took out of a secret vault,proof to it is I have the same album on vinyl ,dated 1984.The additional value here
are the bonus tracks-which almost duplicate the original number-and the remastering,which is almost welcome,the
original sound being Ok anyway.These songs retain the robotic vocals,staccatto guitars and dry rythmic section which are so tipically Numan,with the addition of such strong,fierce playing no metalhead will be dissapointed.The accompaning booklet has much more one could ask for,and certainly makes for a heavier box indeed.I really appreciate this kind of generosity from a record label.
SIMPLY GORGEOUS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Debut Album at last realized1, 16 Jan. 2011
By 
Strawb "Strawb" (West country. UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Plan + 12 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
This is a Brilliant album. It may be Garys "Punk Demos", all together on one disc, but it's put together with thought, and comes across as a Proper Album on it's own merits. And now one of my essentials for the car
The track listing is spot on. The songs are Strong. and The Production... Gary should have had a side line in Production because his Bass is so full and tight. The Drums are So Crisp and Punchy and again, tight. Guitars range from AC/DC to Hunky Dory and are powerfull and emotive throughout. Plus we get some lovely old Analogue Synth here and there.
Best New NUMAN album in years and a Top Favourite of mine. You even get the Lee Cooper original advert at the end.
Problem with Gary at the time was he was Too Good. Too in control and Too ahead of all his competitors. and Too Successful!
That's why all the press hated him. Jealous coz he did it Without them.
His first 5 or 6 albums are all Superb testiments to Quality intelligent 80's Pop.
And the first 3 Big ones are ESSENTIAL.
Then he died his hair blue, got the funk, added Girls on backing vocals and we all went out Raving!
Now he's back in vogue and getting the recognition he deserves.
Let's hope he drops trying to outdo Marylin Manson (Who??) and stops being all moody and remembers THIS Album and gives us some Classic New Numan for 2011, like the Old Numan!
And can we have ANALOGUE Synths again please. I'm Sure you were using New Trendy Digital keyboards on the recent Retro tour.
And tell that young drummer he Doesn't have to show off how many drums he's got by putting clever little fills in where they are Not Appreciated! I'm sure he's a very good drummer but we came to hear Cedrics fills!
Bless
So, The PLAN by Gary Numan. A Great Lost album brought to Full Life on CD.
Gary does Punk! and does it rather well.
plus he looks Much prettier than Sting on the cover. Or Copey! and definately more than Mr Foxx!
BUY NOW, as they say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wrong track listing, 8 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plan + 12 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
The track listing for this TUBEWAY ARMY CD The Plan are wrong there are only 24 tracks.Track numbers 4 Friends and track 6 Steel and you, are not on this album also the track listing on the sale page are all in the wrong order.I haven't listened to the album yet thought i would let people know about track listings first,but i am pretty sure if your a fan you will probably like this anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Little Embarrassing, 20 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. M. D. Smart "filthwizard" (wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Plan + 12 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
Lots of songs that sound very much alike. Great guitar tone don't get me wrong, but it doesn't disguise the fact that the songs have little to no substance. Fast or mid-paced 4/4 time 3 chord punk that gets very old, very fast. A couple of good songs: Bombers, Check It, Shadow In Vain and Mean Street. But personally, out of 26 tracks, that is a damn poor effort. No wonder Gary Numan didn't want it released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Plan by tubeway army, 22 Jan. 2004
This review is from: The Plan + 12 Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
a early experimental album i feel this was in rock form not synthersizers as hes really known for but everyone has to start somewhere.i liked this album coz it has simular tracks on it from the tubeway army album and being a dedicated numan fan for 25years. this album may not be liked for people who know him for is unique electrifying synthersizers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Plan + 12 Bonus Tracks
The Plan + 12 Bonus Tracks by Gary Numan (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews