Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 October 2006
This solo Piano album from Keith Jarrett is another reminder of the mans remarkable talents. As can be seen from the track listing these are all standards and Jarrett plays them as I have never heard him play before or since. These renditions are almost like recitals. I don't know how much improvisation there is on this album, but I suspect it is less than usual. The reason for this is that the recordings were the first he made during his recovery from the debilitating illness he suffered in the mid 1990's. In fact initially they were recorded only for his Wife and not neccessarily for commercial release.

Jarretts beautiful touch, phrasing and occasionally, such as on "I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good" his marvellous improvising skills are demonstrated to great effect. Really writing about this is futile, to appreciate this great album you need to listen to it.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2007
What started life as a christmas present is one of the most honest sincere, heartfelt and musical albums I have ever heard. There is also no grunting and groaning here.
To me another huge Plus.
Enaugh said!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2006
This is a wonderfully atmospheric recording. Few things are more beautiful than an unadorned piano, and Jarrett keeps his lines simple and his focus on the melody. The results are truly lovely: this is a perfect album for dreaming, whether alone or with a lover. Its simplicity is haunting, and those who appreciate it most will understand that simplicity is the hardest thing to achieve.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2007
Knowing the context in which these recordings were produced (see previous review) deepens the poignancy evoked by such beautiful playing, but they stand up alone and on their own merits, from the first track to the last. There's delicacy here that's so fragile it almost hurts, but also a strength of purpose that's invigorating. As the title suggests, this is a wonderful late-night disc; personal, mellow, shimmering and very, very moving. It restores one's faith in the ability of human beings to bring meaning to our troubled world.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2000
Thie CD will grow and grow on you. Yes it lacks the grunts and groans which are more usually associated with Kieth Jarrett, however, open up to it and what you get is a delicate and reflective CD which displays Kieth Jarrett's gentler piano skills full of inflection and sensitivity.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2000
Absolute Stunning interpretations by Keith. Simplicty is the most difficult playing, and this is great! , not one single note out of place. Remarkable indeed! Maybe not suitable for lisiteners who prefer a kind of showy or circus exhibitionist playing, but suitable for the real piano lovers who know how difficult it is to put even one right note in the right place. A monument!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2000
There is no question that The Melody at Night with You is a reverential nod in the direction of Bill Evans, one of Keith Jarrett's major influences. Nevertherless, the way in which he plays 'I'm through with Love' and the stunning opening rendition of 'I loves you Porgy' suggests that he has returned to music refreshed following his enforced lengthy lay-off.
This album goes well with a loved one and a glass of wine, but equally would do well if you were on your own. The solo piano album always has an 'after hours' feel to it and this is no exception: the way in which the listener is offered a warm pair of slippers and a comfortable chair in front of an open fire should not to be passed up. Great music, superbly played and recorded - Jarrett's usual peripheral squeals and humming are conspicuous by their absence, but they are not missed. This recording should go down as one of Jarrett's most accomplished and most contented.
This is the sort of recording you will find yourself returning to over and over again; it will send you to sleep for the all the right reasons.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
This album was recorded by Jarrett as he was recovering from chronic fatigue syndrome in the late 1990s and is in many ways quite uncharacteristic of his usual work. The songs are played as straight-up melodies (as the title would suggest) with little or no improvisation, the pacing is slow and reflective, and his characteristic singing is absent. It was not critically popular, but for me it works admirably as what it is - an offering of romantic and restful melodies played with impeccable style and technique.

If I were to use one word to describe the feeling of these tracks it would be "wistful". Not sad or melancholy, but quiet with a sense of hope and calm. It may be considered as one of his "lesser" outings, but it's still one of my favourite recordings, and one that I listen to frequently, particularly late at night.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2000
A side from John McArthur's, Hidden album, this will be the best solo piano album of the 21st Century. And both are going to be hard to beat. A must for any lover the ivory, wood and keys.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
This album, for me, is quite irresistible; I can very well imagine jazz fans who would never agree about an album fawning over the shear beauty of this CD... Jazz standards often motivate great players to reach their biggest creative peaks and, I believe, this is a fine example of that truth...

On some other CDs I've heard Jarrett playing with more energy, but I'm not sure anyone, including him, can play more subtly than on this particular album.

Since others have admirably described the restrained virtuosity of "The Melody at Night, With You", I'll stop and just recommend it to jazz fans of different persuasions...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.56
£8.76
£13.10

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)