Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The American Old Wild West in Music
Recorded in a day in 1959 this album combines traditional songs (Billy the Kid, The Strawberry Man, Utah Carol) with a number of Robbins penned classics. Look at the cover - put it to music the result is what you insert and play on your CD. Fantastic.

Highlights are definitely 'Big Iron' which was penned by Robbins based on the recollections of his...
Published on 19 April 2007 by Rupert H. W. Barnes

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yippee-Kai-Ai! Thank buggery I don't live anywhere near Laredo
What can I say? Not really a C & W fan, but my Dad is. Bought this for his birthday and thought at one point he was going to play it to me. Thankfully he didn't. He loves it though.
Published 8 months ago by Edward Nobes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The American Old Wild West in Music, 19 April 2007
This review is from: Gunfighter Ballads And Trail Songs (Audio CD)
Recorded in a day in 1959 this album combines traditional songs (Billy the Kid, The Strawberry Man, Utah Carol) with a number of Robbins penned classics. Look at the cover - put it to music the result is what you insert and play on your CD. Fantastic.

Highlights are definitely 'Big Iron' which was penned by Robbins based on the recollections of his grandfather a Texas Ranger. It tells the story of a Ranger''s gunfight with an outlaw named Texas Red (based on Billy the Kid). The town predicts the death of the ranger, but he kills his bounty with the quickness of the "big iron" on his hip. Instead of the showdown happening at high noon, the gunfight begins at 11:20.

"El Paso" which like Big Iron stretches for four minutes a problem at the time as US radio stations ever depedent on advertising revenue were reluctant to play tracks over three minutes. When released as a single a short radio friendly version three minutes long was also released but it was the full length version that hit the top of the US charts and a consequent million seller winning a Grammy in 1961 and remains Robbins best known song. It was also covered and endlessly done to death by the Grateful dead at their live concerts.

Quite frankly this is a country landmark. Please though if the word country suddenly makes you think Kenny and Dolly then stop take a deep breath and remember country is a broad genre and the word classic here is used sincerely - this album is the mould from which everything to follow was cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is Marty Robbins, 25 Oct 2002
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Gunfighter Ballads And Trail Songs (Audio CD)
This is not to say that Marty Robbins did not perform many more and just as great songs. However when you think of ether Marty Robbins or the songs on this album [Gunfighter Ballads & Trail Songs]. As with many I grew up with this album and as one reviewer protests, it is a little unnerving to have the order changed. However I used to skip around anyway. And this is the album to buy for Marty Robbins. You can supplement with his others when you feel the need to expand his collection

It is hard to imagine that you have not heard these songs at some point. So it feels funny describing them to you. These songs are truly ballads. They are not crying in your beer twanging songs. And aside from the country pacing and theme, are close to folk songs. Each song has a story and you are made to feel that you could be singing them your self. In the end you will be singing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars western themes, 13 Mar 2010
By 
L. Ker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gunfighter Ballads And Trail Songs (Audio CD)
I'm delighted with the Gunfighter Ballads CD which sounds as good as when I first heard it many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only heard him for the first time recently, playing fallout new vegas actually, and I listened to the album on youtube and just knew I'd end up buying it! It's easy listening, but it's also quite an emotional look at the realities of living in the times that the songs are about, and the films are pretty accurate from what I can see! Escalation=someone getting shot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars evocotive album, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunfighter Ballads And Trail Songs (Audio CD)
I had the LP of this album when i was about 14 (51years ago), so I was amazed that I could now have the same album on CD!,Gunfighter Ballads And Trail Songs It is wonderful to hear these classic Marty Robbins songs again, brings back lots of happy memories.A 'must buy' for all country fans! see also another Marty Robbins albumThe Best Of Marty Robbins,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killer album!, 16 Jan 2012
By 
B. Crossland "Bazza" (Warrington UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunfighter Ballads And Trail Songs (Audio CD)
A mate of mine who lived down the road, (well,25 miles away in Liverpool) shared the same musical tastes as me, Buddy Holly, Duane Eddy, The Everly's. (This was just pre Beatles), and rode down the East Lancs' road one evening on his Triumph Tiger Cub, to show me his latest musical acquisition, which was this wondeful album by Marty Robbins!
Now what I knew about C&W , as we used to label it, could be written on a a very small postcard. Erm, Frankie Laine? Wally Whyton? but this was the real thang!
El Paso, with it's florid, epic gunfighter meets his eventual demise tale, had been a huge US hit in early 1960. (well it only reached number 19 on the UK top twenty!)
Paul my biker pal, laid this on my Dansette, and I was captured. The songs were SO good, and one or two, like 'Cool Water', I'd known for yonks!
The first track, 'Big Iron' is typical of the albums' music, an engaging ditty of the gunning down of 'The Outlaw Texas Red' by the stranger who was a ranger?
The stuff on here was well recorded at the time, but here on digital CD, it jumps out at you!
My favourites? 'A hundred and sixty acres'. ACRES do you hear? not bloomin' hectares! and of course El Paso, (the long version!)with it's amazing harmonies, and breathtaking accoustic guitar!
Oh, and I love the picture on the cover! He looks sooooo cool!
Buy this, or he'll send the sherrif round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunfighter Ballads And Trail Songs (Audio CD)
Brought as a present for my father in law and he loves it much cheaper than any where else online
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Download, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was my first attempt at downloading music. Very easy to manage, pleased with the quality and replay. Easy peasy for an old guy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an old album found on cd great to find it, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunfighter Ballads And Trail Songs (Audio CD)
excellent service as always and good to find this cd as was an album played to me 35years ago didnt know could still get it and on cd and at great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunfighter Ballads And Trail Songs (Audio CD)
Takes me back about 40 years. Listened to it all the time and know all the words. A brilliant album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gunfighter Ballads And Trail Songs
Gunfighter Ballads And Trail Songs by Marty Robbins (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews