Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still cool after all these years...
I first bought this album in 1973 when it first came out and it is still being played in my house today. Every track is a winner and Ferry has chosen the covers so well from such a wide range of sources that obviously influenced him - The Beatles, Motown/Smokey Robinson, Dylan, The Beach Boys, Rolling Stones etc. - but still manages to bring a fresh interpretation to them...
Published on 20 Jan 2004 by Mr. G. S. Bond

versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Baby I Don't Care
At this time (1973) Roxy Music were making some truly ground-breaking music and I never really understood why Bryan Ferry felt he had do this whole album of covers. I think it's only with Roxy Music that you get to hear the things that Ferry's remarkable voice can do. I'm not sure that tracks like 'Sympathy For The Devil' should ever be touched by anyone else, and it...
Published on 27 Mar 2005 by Tealady2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still cool after all these years..., 20 Jan 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
I first bought this album in 1973 when it first came out and it is still being played in my house today. Every track is a winner and Ferry has chosen the covers so well from such a wide range of sources that obviously influenced him - The Beatles, Motown/Smokey Robinson, Dylan, The Beach Boys, Rolling Stones etc. - but still manages to bring a fresh interpretation to them so they don't sound dated even now. You can take one song and trace it back to it's original version and, assuming you've never heard stuff by them before, you open up whole new panaromas of music. And the front cover pic is cool epitomised - I've been wishing I looked that good ever since
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ferry at his cool chic best!!, 21 April 2003
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
If you love Bryan Ferry then this album is a must!!
This is super cool at his best!! I cannot tell you how many times I play this album!! These Foolish Things, the title track is so atmospheric. River of Salt so full of feeling.
Then there are the more upbeat Dont Ever Change and Its my Party.
Listen to this album...you will love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great record, 16 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
This is perhaps Ferry's greatest album of cover versions of great songs, chosen with great care and excellent taste. All the songs are wonderful classics in their own right, and Ferry adds to them his own interpretation and style without detracting from the originals at all. This is not easy to do, but Ferry succeeds because her clearly respects the original versions, and brings his own unique creativity to bear on the performances. This is one record I have listened to over and over again without tiring of it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... hugely entertaining album with about three or four genuinely great tracks (A Hard Rain's a-Gonna Fall, 29 Oct 2014
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
This is a hugely entertaining album with about three or four genuinely great tracks (A Hard Rain's a-Gonna Fall, River of Salt, The Foolish Things) and the rest are just kind of fun. For example there's no way that Bryan could ever add anything much to Brian (Don't Worry Baby), nor to the legendary recording of the Stones' Sympathy. Yet even so it's fun to hear him try. (I'm really intrigued by the alternate lyric that he sings on Don't Worry Baby.)

"These Foolish Things" has a slightly ineffective start but after that it's a masterpiece of turning something cheesy back into cool. Great lyrics and great tune, made better by Ferry's uncertain pitching on the title phrase and by Paul Thompson's bristling drums, which counter-intuitively are very bouncy for a song you'd be tempted to treat with gorgeous languour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL AS GOOD AS EVER, 18 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
I bought this in 1974 in LP form and played it all summer. It hasn't dated and the music is as unique and original as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album. I had it on vinyl when it ..., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
Awesome album. I had it on vinyl when it was released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillianr Bryan!, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
Love this CD. Have the original on vinyl but no longer have deck to play it on so wanted CD to listen to. These Foolish Things is the Bryan Ferry at his best. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brian Ferry is great, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
Very different from the Roxy Music arrangements most of which I have but no less enjoyable. I play it frequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Those were the days., 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
Took me back to singing along (badly) in my bedroom getting ready to out for a fun night with my friends - yay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS - Creative and Unique, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Foolish Things (Audio CD)
Only listen to this is you like Bryan Ferrys voice and a bit of falsetto. It is his 'creative' project and I happen to love it, but it is for Ferry fans only, I would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

These Foolish Things
These Foolish Things by Bryan Ferry (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews