Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent mix of cool grooves an good funk
Has to be the Heavies best Album: all tracks create a sense that you just can't help but move to. 'Have a good time' is excellent, along with the classics such as 'midnight at the oasis', 'back to love' not to mention 'Brother Sister' the whole album in fact just be beaten, a must to buy!
Published on 22 Jan 2001

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars middle of the road, for me.......
I recently dug this out for a re-listen, and must say I don't think its aged particuarly well.

The good points are, you get 15 tracks, with 3 excellent tracks (Dream on Dreamer, Midnight at the Oasis, and Brother Sister), and a consistent sound across all the tracks.

The bad aspect is that I feel that the sound itself has aged, sounding quite...
Published on 11 Feb 2007 by Dino Amore'


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent mix of cool grooves an good funk, 22 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Brother Sister (Audio CD)
Has to be the Heavies best Album: all tracks create a sense that you just can't help but move to. 'Have a good time' is excellent, along with the classics such as 'midnight at the oasis', 'back to love' not to mention 'Brother Sister' the whole album in fact just be beaten, a must to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST, 4 May 2005
This review is from: Brother Sister (Audio CD)
One of the best acid jazz albums ever made!
enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real Heavy., 8 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brother Sister (Audio CD)
Brand New Heavies, class act top rated band. This album just epitomises the jazz Brit cool with a touch of American soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Jazz, 23 Nov 2009
By 
Colin Sinfield (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brother Sister (Audio CD)
Listened to this as I drove backwards and forwards to visit my Mum in hospital. She recovered and so did my soul. A beautiful album that grows even stronger with repeated plays. It made an old Jazz/Funkerforget his blues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 27 Dec 2005
By 
maximus (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brother Sister (Audio CD)
This will remain in my view one of the classics of its time and probably Brand New Heavies' best album to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brother Sister (Audio CD)
Saw them at Koko and Herne Bay. They can do no wrong. Superb musicians playing timeless songs. This album may have been released some time ago, but the funky grooves still feel fresh and up to the minute. Knocks the likes of Daft Punk into a copped hat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars middle of the road, for me......., 11 Feb 2007
This review is from: Brother Sister (Audio CD)
I recently dug this out for a re-listen, and must say I don't think its aged particuarly well.

The good points are, you get 15 tracks, with 3 excellent tracks (Dream on Dreamer, Midnight at the Oasis, and Brother Sister), and a consistent sound across all the tracks.

The bad aspect is that I feel that the sound itself has aged, sounding quite overproduced to these 2007 ears, and those three tracks aside, the album has a bit of a sameness to it - not enough stands out.

Only for fans of the acid jazz, funk genre I would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brother Sister
Brother Sister by Brand New Heavies (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews