Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars < A New Order Snapshot >
This 16-track 1994 compilation is probably the best single-disc overview/introduction to New Order. Included here are the radio formats of "Shellshock", "Touched By The Hand Of God", 1990's "World In Motion", and "Blue Monday '88", all making it for the first time onto an official full-length release. However, the collection in my opinion is not a definitive Best Of,...
Published on 11 Jan 2004 by Mark Arjomandi

versus
62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best of? Fiddled and flawed more like.
I got this album when my curiosity for New Order's music restarted sometime around 1996, and was after a brief resume of a career which due to my age (then about 14, now 18) I had largely missed. The Best of served a purpose, and was an enjoyable listen. More than that in fact, a superb album. I loved the emotions of 'Thieves Like Us', the orgasmatronic 'Perfect Kiss'...
Published on 28 Dec 2000 by mikeserieys


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars < A New Order Snapshot >, 11 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: The Best Of New Order (Audio CD)
This 16-track 1994 compilation is probably the best single-disc overview/introduction to New Order. Included here are the radio formats of "Shellshock", "Touched By The Hand Of God", 1990's "World In Motion", and "Blue Monday '88", all making it for the first time onto an official full-length release. However, the collection in my opinion is not a definitive Best Of, since some of the New Order's stand-out tracks (True Faith, Bizarre Love Triangle, and Round & Round) are featured in their alternative 1994 remixed versions, which are not by any means better than the splendid originals. The present collection was also released in America in 1995, but with a slightly different tracklisting; in particular the non-album track "Let's Go (Nothing For Me)" was included on the U.S. version. What I would really have liked to see here was a 2xCD set, with the first disc representing the original versions of the best tracks, and then a companion disc featuring the new mixes as well as some rarities. For example, they could have included the rare dub version of "Touched By The Hand Of God", hard-to-find club mixes of "Round and Round", or the instrumental version of "Vanishing Point".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best of? Fiddled and flawed more like., 28 Dec 2000
This review is from: The Best Of New Order (Audio CD)
I got this album when my curiosity for New Order's music restarted sometime around 1996, and was after a brief resume of a career which due to my age (then about 14, now 18) I had largely missed. The Best of served a purpose, and was an enjoyable listen. More than that in fact, a superb album. I loved the emotions of 'Thieves Like Us', the orgasmatronic 'Perfect Kiss' and the frankly awesome '1963' and 'Vanishing Point.'
So far, so good. Why only 3 stars, you may ask. The answer is this - the versions of these songs differ to many of the album versions. The 94 rehashes of 1963 and True Faith I consider to be sacrilege to the wonderful 12" versions found on Substance 1987. The version of 'Fine Time' is put to shame by the one off 'Technique' and quite why 'Blue Monday 88' is on the album and not the masterful and legendary original is beyond me.
The album has some nice non album additions on it, like 'World in Motion' and to some, I concede, 'Blue Monday 88.' 'Touched by the Hand of God' is probably the overall outstanding track on the album. However, on an album with versions of songs the quality of 'Thieves Like Us,' 'The Perfect Kiss,' 'Blue Monday,' and 'True Faith,' this properly demonstrates the true position of this album.
After the demise of Factory, this album smacks of London Records on a mony making exercise. Who in their right mind would put 'Ruined in a Day' on the Best of New Order? Other than a record company out for a quick buck, I can think of nobody.
Anyway, back to the point. For an introduction to the band, this is a reasonable start, and if you see this cheap in a bargain bucket somewhere, get it. For a real introduction though, get Substance 1987. 150 minutes of audial ecstasy (except 'State of the Nation' and 'Shellshock') and the best compilation album ever made. Get that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what pop should be..........., 21 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: (The Best Of) NewOrder (Audio CD)
A truly amazing compilation of pop songs that will never age. From the electro-rock of 'blue monday', to the magical bassline of 'regret', to the best football anthem ever 'world inmotion'. New Order had a knack of writing beautiful, emotional pop songs that you could dance to. Thank you Hooky, Barney, Gillian and Stephen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good as expected, 26 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of New Order (Audio CD)
As good as expected and features all of New Order's major hits and some less well known but equally enjoyable tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT doesn't do it justice..., 3 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: (The Best Of) NewOrder (Audio CD)
The surviving members of Joy Division stepped out of the darkness to embrace the sunlight as New Order. They dominated the 80's and took their foot off the pedal in the 90's, but this perfect album of electro-pop-rock songs is testament to the creative songwriting talents of the four members. You will undoubtedly have heard their songs before but perhaps you haven't been able to name the band. This fanatstic Best Of.. contains so many memorable moments such as the infamous 'Blue Monday', the compelling 'True Faith' and the best pop song of the 90's 'Regret'. New Order put their tragic past behind them to come up with touching, shimmering and goddam danceable songs that will never date. Glorius music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping the true faith, 29 Dec 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of New Order (Audio CD)
New Order is a rather mysterious band in many ways. It has pre-history and continuing influence by groups such as Kraftwerk, Eno and the Velvet Underground, and various other experimental electronic-based European groups. It also has a strong shadow cast over it from Joy Division, an ironic name for a group whose leader (also the founder of New Order) Ian Curtis committed suicide. Enigmatic to the last, New Order members (who drift in and out of other band arrangements; the latest perhaps being Bernard Sumner's work with Electronic) tend to be less than specific when talking with the press, and their albums are conspicuously devoid of liner notes.
This CD, entitled (the best of) New Order for once contains some liner notes, which alas are disjointed, following the same fuzzy logic of information as in the past. The introduction states: 'This carefully selected commercial compilation of 16 such single-minded grouped and seductive songs of love, longing, life and belongings surely sums up the heartpounding pop life of this devious, uncomplicated pop group, uncertainly the most secretive of English groups, certainly the most surprising.'
Alas, not all that enlightening. Perhaps, given my mystical bent of mind, this is one of the reason why I enjoy New Order so much. Their music in came to life for me in London in the 1980s, and I have followed them ever since. Songs such as Bizarre Love Triangle and True Faith have been international club hits, and continue to be regulars on the playlists. Other songs, such as Blue Monday and Round and Round, have had new life breathed into them as remakes (the trend of groups to remake their own work is more prominent in certain Euro-pop groups than in other musical varieties).
These songs have enigmatic but meaningful lyrics; these are intelligent lyrics -- poetry set to music, not simple statements set to a beat. The longing and regret expressed in songs such as Ruined in a Day and Regret, the hope and energy contained in songs like True Faith and World in Motion; these have real emotion with real substance, for those who listen behind the electronic overlay. Videos that were made in support of the songs are innovative creatively and visually, often displaying the same kinds of enigmatic symbolism as do their lyrics.
The music is intricate and detailed, full and expressive. This type of music was coming to an adolescent maturity in the 1980s, and more adult maturity in the 1990s, and this compilation shows the progression of style and complexity for New Order over that time. This is, however, very much a dance/pop oriented sound, and those who are not looking for such will most likely not enjoy this sound. New Order is a relatively obscure group in American terms; much better known in Europe and Britain, but still not a 'powerhouse' group (of course, they can't all be the Spice Girls, now, can they?). But, for the particular audience niche they crafted for themselves, they remain an integral part, and remain for me an important influence in my pop musical tastes.
Friends who peruse my CD collection often comment on the seeming contradiction between the choral/liturgical collection, the classical collection, and the pop collection, wondering how they fit together. Perhaps it is that each of these touches an emotion inside; each striking a different chord that sounds with a different tone, yet, just as the strings on a violin or guitar all must be different for music to be made, these differing tastes coexist so to add fullness to my life. New Order inspires such thinking in me. Odd for a song likely to be blaring over a disco floor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of New Order (Audio CD)
Everything perfect! The album is a must, the seller as always perfect and in general all my experience with Zoverstocks is very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Listen, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of New Order (Audio CD)
Great CD, i really like it n recommend it to anyone else, especially New Order lovers out there . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of New Order (Audio CD)
this cd is the one i have wanted to take on holiday with me ------ it was a good choice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some great, some bland!, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. A. N. Green "Nick" (Newtown, Powys) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of New Order (Audio CD)
There are 3 or 4 fantastic tracks, rest are a bit bland and dating badly if I was really honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of New Order
The Best Of New Order by New Order (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews