Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somerville Still Smashing!
I bought this album on Marketplace because it was going cheap and I loved Smalltown Boy by Bronski Beat... little did I know that it was one of the best albums I've ever had.
Jam packed with dance floor anthems and political chansons, Jimmy's single collection is a must have. Reading the back of the box and the song list, I must admit that many of the titles weren't...
Published on 12 April 2005 by A. Lamb

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh really not nice
While I knew it was second hand, I could have done without the food crumbs inside the sleeve.....yuk ................ ............
Published 16 months ago by tracy bennett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somerville Still Smashing!, 12 April 2005
By 
A. Lamb "media_boy_alex" (Streatham, South London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this album on Marketplace because it was going cheap and I loved Smalltown Boy by Bronski Beat... little did I know that it was one of the best albums I've ever had.
Jam packed with dance floor anthems and political chansons, Jimmy's single collection is a must have. Reading the back of the box and the song list, I must admit that many of the titles weren't immediately familiar but after one session with the CD I realised that I knew every tune. Each one of them is fantastic, whether it be the uplifing YOU ARE MY WORLD, the thought provoking AIN'T NECESSARILY SO or camp classic COMMENT TE DIRE A'DIEU. This album won't disappoint.
I just want to know where Jimmy is now and why he's not still charting - he could just re-release some of the singles on this CD and whop the asses off most chart bands now. My advice is BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant selection of Bronski Beat, Communards & Somerville, 7 Sep 2000
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1984/1990 (Audio CD)
Really enjoyable, well produced cd, featuring Marc Almond duetting with Jimmy in "I Feel Love" and the amazing combination of Jimmy & Sara Jane Morris in "Don't Leave Me This Way". Also June Miles Kingston in "Comment Te Dire Adieu". Brings back the wonderful, happy, fun-feeling of the 80's, was it really that long ago? Added bonus - the lyrics are all in the sleeve, so there is no excuse, we can all dance and sing along, warn the neighbours, it will be loud, if only I could reach those notes! Long live the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Singles Collection, 3 Mar 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
There's no doubting the impact that Jimmy Somerville and his various bands had on the sounds and perhaps even the attitudes of the 80's.
In his un-imitative voice the pint-sized Scottish singer charmed and wowed the music buying public from the moment he burst onto the scene with Bronski Beat. He was later to form the Communards then went onto a solo career before slipping from mainstream public view although he is still making records.
This album features 17 of Jimmy's hits from all stages of his vocation and is an excellent reminder of the sounds and feelings of those times and the album is a great way to take a trip down memory lane.
NOTE: There is also another Jimmy Somerville greatest hits package available, called "The Very best of Jimmy Somerville" and contains exactly the same playlist as this album apart from one song, where "Run from Love" is replaced by "Hurt so Good".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy is unique, 14 April 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1984/1990 (Audio CD)
I'm probably biased because these songs accompanied my early twenties, but to listen to them now at high volume is still to feel that same power, the elation of love and desire, and the political commitment to greater fairness and a better society. Jimmy's voice is thrilling, and the sounds that have been created around him offset him perfectly, whether in the dance numbers like Never Can Say Goodbye, or the sadness of For A Friend. At other times - So Cold The Night or Comment Te Dire Adieu - there is wonderful sense of camp, but the overriding feeling is one of love, and of gay love in particular getting a voice in pop at last ... My only quibble is that C Minor is not on here, but as a compilation it's about as good as you can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never can say goodbye, 9 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All his best tracks on one cheap album.No Matter what you think of Jimmy Somerville.His voice was original and fitted in with the 80's.Even in 2009 I will have to keep this great album from friends,as people still get the wronge idea.It's one to own but don't tell anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and she loved it., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Birthday Present for my wife, and she loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this if you only like the single in the ad!, 18 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection 1984/1990 (Audio CD)
You have to really like Jimmy Somerville's voice to enjoy this! Seems obvious, but he's not everyone's taste. I'm lucky - I love his falsetto. Good variety of tracks, including 'Run away, turn away' which recently enjoyed a revival because of a TV ad...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this c d compilation is really great ,not one bad song on it ,well worth buying , a real bargain .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love Jimmy Somerville, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this has got all of his greatest hits on it, good all round album with just a couple of duffers on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD is great, service from Amazon is appaling, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love the CD but the service from Amazon is terrible. when i was placing the order on line it said that delivery was 3 to 5 days and the item was in stock but as soon as i confirmed the order it changed to delivery being about the 10th August which was some 3 weeks later. This is not the first time this has happened when i have ordered something from Amazon, it is missleading and you are making customers buy things under false pretences. Maybe this is what you feel you have to do to get sales but it is wrong and unfair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singles Collection 1984/1990
The Singles Collection 1984/1990 by Jimmy Somerville (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews