Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark in rock history
This is the big one, the album that turned FNM into the pop stars that they never wanted to be, through hit singles such as 'Epic', 'Falling To Pieces' and 'Form Out Of Nowhere'. However, despite the enormous commercial success, this is still one absolute corker of an album, for me one of the best albums of the 1980s. As Mike Patton's first release with the band, it seems...
Published on 13 Jun 2002 by brasshande

versus
2 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE SKETCH BEFORE THE MASTERPIECE.
I recently bought this album again and i have to say that aside from SUPRISE YOUR DEAD, and EPIC this album has not stood the test of time. it is a album of its time the 80,s.
forget faith no mores first three albums as they have nothing much in common with the sonic masterpieces of the schitzophrenic angel dust or king for a day fool for a lifetime.
a great...
Published on 27 Jan 2005 by markloughton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faith No More - the real thing, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
Excellent CD/sound quality - not a scratch in sight. CD arrived quite quickly as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good memories, a fine album., 1 July 2010
I've recently had a hunger for the "funk rock" I used to listen to as a teenager in the early 90's. You know - Living Colour, Mind Funk and of course Faith No More. Sounds as good as it used to, unlike some of the other bands I've revisited down memory lane. It's aged very well, just makes me wish I was listening to it for the first time again. Boo hoo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic rock album, 20 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
The Real Thing was like a new beginning for FNM. The decision to replace singer Chuck Mosley with the young Mike Patton, whose good looks and amazing vocal range would here help to propel FNM to classic rock band status was a wise one. But The Real Thing also marked a change in their musical direction. The pop metal element was still present with Billy Gould's funky, slappy bass still giving them great style, but here the music became a little more complex, mature, even artistic in places - you could tell that more time and effort was afforded to each individual track and the overall album sound.
The album begins with 3 decent pop metal tracks, Epic being the most famous. Surprise! You're Dead! is a little metal gem with Patton having fun with the vocals. Zombie Eaters is a terrific metal piece with humourous lyrics, beginning with an almost spanish classical guitar intro before bursting into life with Jim Martin' unmistakable electric guitar colourings, distorted bass and some great rhythmic percussion from Mike Bordin. The title track is real highlight and illustrated FNM's new maturity, it is by turns rocking and poignant and along with tracks like Zombie Eaters, The Morning After and Woodpecker From Mars, gives the album it's arid, desolate feel (these tracks always remind me for some reason of the apocolyptic landscapes from the Mad Max movies). Woodpecker From Mars is another highlight, a terrific instrumental metal piece, played over a stripped down, classical sounding string (played on keyboards) melody. For me, this track is pure artistry, the rhythm section is truly awesome - Bordin's furious percussion and Gould's frantic bass slaps combine perfectly, but for me, the real artistry lies in Martin's guitar work throughout the track, especially at the 4 minute mark. The album ends with Edge of the World, a great, sleazy lounge lizard style track with dubious lyrics and gives a rare example of Roddy Bottum's piano skills.
Bizarrely, Patton's vocals, although perfect for many of the tracks, sounds a little flat when you consider what he is capable of. I assume he wanted to keep the album's style and sound consistent - he would later thankfully develop them for Angel Dust.
The Real Thing will always be a classic and is a showcase for all the elements that placed FNM in a completely seperate league to other rock acts - great versatility, style, tunefullness, a terrific sense of rhythm and each bandmember having true talent - it's quite rare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life-changing!, 11 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. Paul I. Harrod "Rhino" (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
This album (not singlehandedly I must say) changed the face of heavy music forever, remember when this came out metal was defined by the poodle bands like Poison, Motley Crue and Ratt and the thrash bands like Anthrax and Metallica - this opened the gates and they've not closed in the fifteen or so years since. Killer heavy guitar riffs, funky-dancable rhythm,spine-cracking drums, quirky keyboards (a definite no-no in metal up to that point and in Mike Patton they had the Platinum record topping on this particular aural trifle. Previous singer Chuck Moseley was a competent enough vocalist but wonderkid Patton could really sing - and grunt, rap, scream and talk in a creepy deep voice. Chart hits "Epic" and "From Out of Nowhere" set the template but the quirky instrumental "Woodpecker From Mars", cover of Sabbath's "War Pigs", the lounge lizard crooner "Edge of the World" and the ten-minute title track were the ones that made the album sound just as fresh and groundbreaking now as they did then. Five of the most talented (and criminally underrated) musicians of their generation putting all that skill and virtuosity onto 11 tracks that sparkle like diamonds and put almost everybody else's efforts (including most of their own subsequent work) in the shade. Proof that you dont have to actually like your fellow bandmates to produce awe-inspiring and seminal pieces of work. Utterly essential!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one good album, 16 May 2001
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
If u haven't heard Faith no more before and are thinking of trying them out, get this album. If u already like them but don't have this album, what are uplaying at??? This is one of my favourite albums of the moment, the singing is amazing throughout. The best thing in my opinion is that this is a heavy metal album but with a funky edge to it provided by the crunching bass lines. This adds a lot to the album and combines well with the gutiar expertise. Just buy it O.K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic piece of music culture., 18 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album, anyone that likes Pearl Jam, Radiohead etc will enjoy the sheer creativity and different styles of music that this album offers. Edge of the world is a deep moving song while out of nowhere is an instantly recognisable anthem.
What more can I say -Buy it and see for yourself. You won't be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guess who they have influenced?, 13 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
This is a good album.
'War Pigs' is a classic Black Sabbath song and the cover version here is almost as good as the original. I am a massive Sabbath fan, so I am never going to say that this version is better.
'Epic' is as the title says. A rock classic that will be played for years to come, the album is worth buying for this track alone. All the other songs fall short of this masterpiece, but there are definately no bad songs!
Buy this album if you want to see where the rock bands of the 21st century got thier inspiration.
P.S. The drums on this album are very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 5 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
Not a bad album, starts off amazingly, with the first five tracks, which are amazing. Apart from War Pigs and Edge of the World though, the remaining tracks are pretty average. Other than that, I think the price you pay is worth it just for From out of Nowhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE SKETCH BEFORE THE MASTERPIECE., 27 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Real Thing (Audio CD)
I recently bought this album again and i have to say that aside from SUPRISE YOUR DEAD, and EPIC this album has not stood the test of time. it is a album of its time the 80,s.
forget faith no mores first three albums as they have nothing much in common with the sonic masterpieces of the schitzophrenic angel dust or king for a day fool for a lifetime.
a great introduction to the mainstream for mike patton but ultimatly his influence and his potential were not used for this album. so my advice is check out angel dust first then king for a day fool for a lifetime then album of the year and finally this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Real Thing
The Real Thing by Faith No More (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews